Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ok but some glitches

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location and good value
Cons: communication about planned maintenance
Location: Loads! Cathedral, museum, nice walks, great restaurants and good shops-terrific venue overall.
I stayed for a weekend, the room is a good size and the bed was good. The decor is modern and the facilities are good. Glitches: There was a blob of something on my bed which I removed myself when I arrived. The staff were helpful however they did not tell us the pool was closed for routine maintenance the next day, which I had planned for a swim, and would have gone the previous night had I known.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malvern

nice hotel easy walking to centre of winchester

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: clean modern refurbished hotel
Location: within walking distance of all winchester attractions
3 day break,plenty to do within walking distance weather good ,hotel comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Good food, Good service, Good Hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Stayed 2 Nights in August and was pleased by the overall experience, Stayed in a Club Double room which was bigger than most hotel doubles I've stayed in and also a bit more luxurious. The pool was a decent size and we found it was usually empty around midday, also had a steam room ,sauna and Jacuzzi which were all good and towels were provided. The Restaurant was the star attraction though and all the meals we ate there were of a very high standard and the house wine at £15 a bottle was decent, The service was also excellent as were all the staff throughout the hotel. The only negative was the parking situation, the hotel car park which is gated off was more expensive than the public car park which is right outside the hotel, the reason for this didn't make any sense so its more logical to pay the £7 a day for the public one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The hotel is about 10 min into the city centre. Staff were friendly but might want to double check re parking fess as the charges outside the front are different from the hotel car park and we seemed to be given conflicting info e.g. Sunday is free parking outside the car park and another staff member told us that Sunday they still charge but at a cheaper rate. The room was a decent size, but the mattress was way too soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend break

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Stayed for a night as we were visiting Marwell on the Saturday. Great hotel, good location and nice facilities. Staff were very helpful as well. The only criticism is the reception system. The staff there are expected to greet guests AND take ridiculously long booking calls, and while the queue of guests builds up. A number of times we saw guests walk away as call after call came in, and they couldn't get a simple query answered. Management really need to sort it out as it's a poor first image. Otherwise, top stuff and would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandhurst

Near the train station

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nice hotel, decor a bit dated. Fabulous staff, great breakfast. I have never managed to book a spa treatment; it might be worth booking this prior to your arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel near the station

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very pretty Hotel & spa. Only stayed for one night as everywhere was booked for the Hatfair, but will return to take in the spa. Nice staff & excellent breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Comfortable hotel

Posted May 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice stay, comfy bed. Bit of a long walk to the room and had to use two lifts to get there! Good location as quiet but only 10 min walk to town. Pool a bit small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel was amazing! We were greeted perfectly and because it was my girlfriends birthday they gave us a complimentary room upgrade. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Thinking of staying at the Winchester

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: selection of breakfast menu the cleanliness of the room and surround
Cons: staff can say goodbye, just as important arriving as it is leaving more staff at breakfast time cater for families better particularly young children
Location: We visited the cathedral.
we went with our son who is 18 months. its not child friendly as we couldn't use the pool with him and we were not allowed in the restaurant for dinner but allowed there for breakfast. We walked into town saw the cathedral and had dinner and this was nice and within walking distance. In the room we could hear the people above us walking in the middle of the night. Most of the staff were friendly and welcoming. When we left the hotel staff struggled to say goodbye despite me saying goodbye. they seem preoccupied in their own conversation. Breakfast was good and had wide selection and we got a table easily and a high chair, but then we were early as it was busy come about 9.30. Overall I'll give the hotel 3.5/5.