Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy, Alabama

Nice place to stay

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I have stayed here numerous times, the hotel has improved tremendously over the past few years. Comfortable rooms, very clean and inviting. A welcoming and helpful staff is present and the hotel is pet friendly as well. I enjoy the fact that it is close to my son's university and great restaurants and shopping. I will definitely be returning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stolen Northface

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I had forgotten my Northface jacket in the closet and called a few days later to see if the front desk or house keeping had found it. The lady at front desk had told us that there had been no other customers yet to occompany that room and that they would ask housekeeping and give me a call back. (Never heard from them) I give a call a few days later and find out that my jacket wasn't found - house keeping had taken it. I am very upset and irritated by this and will never be staton at Wimdgate hotels again. Out of respect they could have at least called and said they couldn't find it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York State

Rude check in

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Clean and spacious
Cons: Front desk personnel
Location: Good location, close to Rte 81. Restaurants close by
The rudeness of the man at the front desk outweighed what could have been a very pleasant stay. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious, but the man who worked the desk that night was extremely rude, abrupt and not at all welcoming. It seemed like we were interrupting him from something better. He was definitely not a "people person", and the way he made us feel left us feeling that we would never return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oversized rooms

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Very comfortable and spacious room. Great fitness center.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly and clean hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The free breakfast and friendliness of all the staff
Cons: lack of outlets in the room
Location: I only stayed one night but there are plenty of places within walking distance to eat and the mall is just 5-10mins away.
I thought the room was clean and the front desk staff were very friendly. I enjoyed talking with the housekeeping staff as well. The only conplaint I had was there were not enough outlets in the room. It was difficult to plug up more than 2 devices at the same time without unplugging other electronics in the room. Also, when I call after 10p for items no one was available at the front desk to address my concerns. Otherwise I found the continental breakfast amazing, the room up to date and modern, the facility quiet, and it even had a nice workout room for guest. I even loved the fact that the hotel would provide items like toothbrushes and toothpaste for free if you needed it. I would definitely stay again in this facility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
My wife and I stayed here last year and enjoyed our stay, we came back again this year and stayed here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short excursion for local area battlefields

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Sightseeing the beautiful Shenandoah valley and if interested in Civil War history, virtually the perfect location for most battles in the valley.
Hotel was clean with little wear. Very close to interstate (less than 5 minutes) but some difficulty turning left from hotel access street to thoroughfare. Traffic heavy during weekdays. Complimentary breakfast was the usual fare, but well served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sparta NC

A frequent hotel for our travels.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
We began staying here because it is a pet friendly hotel in Winchester, but even now without our pets, it is our regular stopping point between NC and PA. We enjoy the room size and clean condition, the helpful staff, and the breakfast. Just bring your own coffee mug, their cups are too small. We will book again in 2 weeks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Appreciate that they accept pets.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Quick checkin and one of the few hotels in the area that accepts pets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of room

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Very large rooms with fridge and microwave.
Cons: See above.
Location: Love Olde Towne. Violins is a fantastic Italian restaurant there complete with live music. Romantic.
Spacious clean room convenient to all there is in Winchester. I have one pet peeve about this and many other hotels- the comforter instead of blankets. Yes it makes it easy and quick to change the bedding. BUT if you are too hot with this on, there is no way to gradually change the temperature. You are either too hot with it on or too cold with just the sheet.