Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Excellent two day stay here.

Posted Mar 5, 2018 on Hotels
This is a very high quality hotel and in my opinion the best hotel in Durban. It's in a beautiful building located on the best street in Durban. I had a very nice two day stay here. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The staff who work here are top-notch. They were extremely helpful and very warm and welcoming. The only thing that needs improvement however is the cleanliness. The carpets in my room were in desperate need of a good vacuuming, and the windows needed to be cleaned as well. I would actually go as far as to replace the carpets completely in the hotel. Other than that though, this is a very high quality hotel that has very friendly staff, excellent food, and in a PERFECT location. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2018 by Farhana (GM), Hotel Management
Dear Mr Munro Thank you for your valued feedback. I would like to let you know I have changed the window cleaning from every 2 months back to once a month. I had decided to do a trial for 6 months to see if it made a difference, given the unusual weather we are experiencing and the water issues. However it seems a must for once a month - I agree! I have arranged deep cleaning for the carpets and we have completed 10 rooms already. I couldn't agree with you more - the carpet is not ideal, it is on my wish list for next year. However, I am definitely taking more care in keeping it in a better condition until then. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quarters again soon! Kind Regards Farhana GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Great short trip for a break away

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Pros: Fitout/furnishings, service of the staff, restaurant and the food were amazing.
Cons: n/a
Location: bars, restaurants, cafes
Quarters Hotel is a true hotel experience where everyone loves what they do and completely focused on making sure you have an amazing stay. Pictures don't do the rooms justice and the location is great being on the trendy florida road 2km from downtown + easy drive to other popular venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2018 by ., Hotel Management
Dear Mr Pearson, Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopeful that you will return soon. Take care and Regards Farhana, General Manager
4 out of 5
by William

Attractive development of old houses

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
Attractive development of old houses to make a high end B&B + Evening meal (not quite boutique hotel - but no worse for that) close to central Durban
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Home away from Home

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Neat, clean, good food breakfast, safe parking
Location: Good eating places, music, beach, for horse racing enthusiasts the Greyville Race Course is near by, the Tourist Agency, Art Gallery
A comfortable hotel well situated and within walking distance from restaurants, nor far from the beach with the tourist agency across the road. Neat, clean, good breakfast and helpful staff. Safe enclosed parking
5 out of 5
by Ron

Great hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay - staff were absolutely superb - they were attentive, polite and catered for our every need - from a warm welcome to great restaurant and bar service to even the cleaning staff making allowances for our time schedule. Truly a gem....!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gugulethu

Great service

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
The initial room was not what I booked. But on second night it was rectified and I got the right room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Okay hotel in a good part of the city.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Cons: You have a lot of people coming to run a Comrades. Change the restaurant hours over this special weekend to feed the runners Sunday after the run.
Was in Durban for Comrades. 3rd time staying here. Hotel was fine, staff were great. But they did not do enough to support Comrades runners for food. Restaurant should be opened early Comrades morning (not just a box breakfast the night before) and the restaurant should be opened Sunday after the run so we can eat.
5 out of 5
by Badiri

A hidden gem in the heart of Durban

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
What a wonderful stay. This is a hidden gem. I recommend this boutique hotel with absolutely no reservations whatsoever. Welcome by Security guard and the Reception Manager excellent and friendly. Request to check the rooms before allocation allowed with no reservation. Room cleanliness and scent - excellent! Service when we needed help with TV channels prompt and friendly. Breakfast magic! Staff in general excellent attitude. Highly recommended for couples and individuals on business or if you are able to book more rooms for your family.
5 out of 5
by Caterina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels