Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serves its purpose

Posted Jan 25, 2016
The hotel is old, but the room was clean. The staff was friendly, check in and check out were easy. It serves its purpose of a cheap place to stay for the night. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Natalie from Gold Coast Australia

USA Brattlebro

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable bed, good shower, plenty of selection for continental breakfast, friendly staff. Only problem was we had trouble finding the property as Black Mountain Inn, after some time found it as advertise as Americas Best Inn,but they had changed the name, and this was not advertised on the internet, There was small signage at the base of the main signage at the roadside, but as you were concentrating on the traffic and looking for the Black Mountain Inn sign this was hard to see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of our inn! We are happy to hear that you found us to be a great value and the guest room and breakfast were well appointed. Our apologies that the sign was confusing-we were in the process of permitting for our new name and sign change which can be a lengthy process here in Vermont! It is part of what keeps our state so beautiful! Please do come again and check out our new sign up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price.

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: The service
Cons: I like newer carpeting. It seemed like it was ready to be replaced.
Location: We had to be in Keene. Brattleboro is only 15-20 min away, and an easy drive.
We had an event in Keene and decided to stay here because the price was less than half of the hotels offered in the Keene area. It was easy to get to, the rooms were clean, the owner was very gracious. It is an older hotel, but has been kept up. Nothing fancy but had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW PA

Close to family. Easy to get to.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Price
After one night in another hotel with poor service and a dirty non-air conditioned room, it was a pleasure to stay in a place with friendly, courteous people. (And air-conditioning)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
The room was dirty smelled very bad, carpets were very dirty too. We were charged double the price of the actual hotel price when we booked online. That was worst experience we ever had for so many years/.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation, inside and outside

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and spacious.
Cons: almost everything could be improved. the outside green rug was super dirty and landing to the stairs very 'springy' which could mean rotten wood.
Location: It's close to I91 and Brattleboro center.
Personnel was very nice, room was spacious with a sofa for sitting in the evening. Everything was very clean in the room which I appreciate! The outside could really use some sprucing up, there was rotten wood hanging down from the roof outside my window, not something you want to see as it makes you wonder what else is rotting. The bed was very soft and lumpy, my back did not appreciate that, after a bad night I had hoped for a hot shower but the water temperature was either steamy hot or ice cold. I was unable to stand underneath it, instead i used my hands to throw water at me. There is a microwave and fridge in the room and a coffeemaker with no coffee, tea or else instead there is note saying to call front desk to get them. If you put a coffeemaker in the room, add the ingredients to actually make coffee! Nobody is calling the front desk early in the morning to get it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Cons: Beter breakfast
The hotel was simply where I needed to have one. Staff recommended a very good restaurant and was helpful for a person traveling through the town.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Glenn R. from Baton Rouge

no place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
This place probably should be shut down and certainly should not be listed by Hotels.com. The front desk help was courteous and helpful but when I entered my room I found a microwave oven sitting in front of the TV. the light fixture was broken, carpets tattered, bed covers stained and electrical outlets which did not work. To make things worse, this "smoke free" room smelled strongly of tobacco. If it was not midnight, I would have left to find a more satisfactory place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Not happy

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Place is a dump, but the room wasn't as dirty as you might think. The website claimed they had a hot tub and did not. The place needs a lot of TLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hostess is the Best

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: I liked the low cost and the proximity to downtown Brattleboro.
Location: There is canoeing, hiking, and bicycling nearby. Many great restaurants are in nearby downtown Brattleboro.
My friend and I stayed at the inn for two nights. The hostess was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was great for the price. The pool, picnic tables and grill were a nice touch. The hotel was very convenient to downtown Brattleboro and nearby stores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2015 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Customer service is paramount at our inn and we are pleased to hear that you found our breakfast hostess warm and welcoming. She enjoyed chatting with you both in the morning at breakfast. Our continental breakfast boasts a nice variety including but not limited to: hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit and assorted bagels, donuts and granola. Our housekeeping staff is well trained and work very hard to maintain our guest rooms' cleanliness. it was our pleasure to host you here in Brattleboro and we look forward to seeing you again as your travels bring you back to Vermont!