Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Old Place

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed the stay, the old building has a lot of charm, and the added bonus of a movie theater was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Second time we stayed, and it was just as enjoyable as the first.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is quirky...not perfect but our stay was enjoyable. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. Can walk to whetstone brewery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location but in a busy part of town

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: the location, the linens, the fact that they are trying to save an Art Deco building, local apples provided through out the day
Cons: the noise from street recognizing that this is an old structure we did hproblems with the bathroom layout the unfriendly and unhelpful staff members
Location: great place to explore downtown and find lots of restaurants and art galleries truly need a car to see the beautiful countryside
We wanted to be in the middle of town and the hotel is a good location. If you are booking a room and want a more quiet room do not book a room with view and ask for a room not facing Main Street. Unfortunately were staying at the hotel on a busy First Friday. There was live music outside right across from the hotel that went on to 1:00 AM. The staff leaves the hotel at 11 and there is a number to call for emergencies after this time. The breakfast is truly continental (supposed to be provided from 7-11 AM) and the second morning when we went down at 8:15 AM there were lots of goodies and coffee. The first morning we went down at 9:30 AM and there were few choices, no hot water, no place to sit, and the coffee needed to be filled. The staff member on site was not so happy that morning and seemed to begrudge the need to get for more drink and food. The drinks did come but no restocking of any thing else. We know the hotel was full for this weekend but maybe they need to have more staff on the schedule for these busy times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Unique hotel in the heart of Brattleboro

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We had a great experience. Our room was spacious, clean, and the hotel had a unique personality because of its history. It is right in town and walking to all the cute shops is easy. Parking is convenient and free. The only down side was that the. Real fast was very sparse and there want a lot of space to sit. But it wasn't a problem because we skipped it and ate a little cafe up the street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotia, NY

Interesting building

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: It was clean. The staff people were really nice. it was easy to find as we drove into the city. Parking was easy and free.
Cons: Being an old building some things like some windows need replacing, but the owners are doing a lot and I am sure those things are on their to-do list.
The building includes four small 40 seat movie theaters (we saw the new Magnificent Seven the night we were there), a 600 seat, or so, theater ( the Vermont Symphony Orchestra was playing that night), and the hotel. When in the hotel area, we heard absolutely no noise from the theaters. Within a few blocks are several very good places to eat. Plus, I found a men's clothing store (Millers) with great Harris tweed sports jackets -- something that I've been looking for for months. It's an older city and building, not glitzy plastic, which I liked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Bad noise level.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Walls and doors are very thin. I could easily hear the voices in both rooms next to me and doors slamming in hallway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Don't get deceived by the photos.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We just stayed at the Latchis Hotel. We were excited for our stay for our 5 year anniversary in Brattleboro, the tiny little town we were married in 5 years prior. The Latchis looked different and unique, something we look for in any vacation accommodations. The pictures FOOLED us. The hotel was old and not funky or charming again the pictures. The bed was ROCK HARD and the shower had NO PRESSURE. Lobby closes at midnight. The whole town shuts down then except for a few bars. We love this about sleepy Brattleboro. The hallways look like a dormitory. Again we thought this would be different and unique and we were not expecting luxury but we were less than impressed.