Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Don't get deceived by the photos.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We just stayed at the Latchis Hotel. We were excited for our stay for our 5 year anniversary in Brattleboro, the tiny little town we were married in 5 years prior. The Latchis looked different and unique, something we look for in any vacation accommodations. The pictures FOOLED us. The hotel was old and not funky or charming again the pictures. The bed was ROCK HARD and the shower had NO PRESSURE. Lobby closes at midnight. The whole town shuts down then except for a few bars. We love this about sleepy Brattleboro. The hallways look like a dormitory. Again we thought this would be different and unique and we were not expecting luxury but we were less than impressed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Charming hotel in center of resort town

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Old hotel located in center of town and over a movie theater, has been nicely renovated. Our room, which was on the quiet back side with a view of a blank wall, was clean, attractively appointed, and comfortable. Hotel has more charm than budget motels but also costs more. Good breakfast in lobby overlooking the Main Street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cool.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
My husband, daughter, and I recently stayed for one night while we were in the Brattleboro area. The hotel is funky-charming and our room was very comfortable with all the little extras one needs (coffee, fridge, TV), but we had no time to enjoy all that. The hotel is well located in the town center and there was plenty to see and do. My one small issue was that the AC is not controllable and set to 73° at night and it was a little warm. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Great stay. Great place. Great location. Would recommend for sure. Not sure what more to write.
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ROBERT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard from Williston

Funky historic hotel and movie theater

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Funky historic hotel (and 4-screen movie theater), in the heart of Brattleboro. Everything you need is a short walk from the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures are historic too, though there's a modern shower head to go with the tub. Amenities included a small fridge and a flat-screen TV, plus coffee pot. Continental breakfast is included.
4 out of 5
by Stanley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joan from NH

Tucked Away

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Make sure to check out the Brattleboro Retreat for some peaceful and scenic hiking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Massachusetts

Art deco hotel being restored

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Fairly quiet; central location
Cons: Night desk clerk was a bit unfriendly; always good when employees stand up & ask, "May I help you?" when customer arrives, instead of acting annoyed.
Location: Great downtown location -- near Amtrak, cafes, galleries, shopping, food co-op, youth theater; movie theater downstairs; mountain hiking across river.
I'm glad I stayed once, as I've wanted to do so for years. But I'm not sure I'd do it again, as there's a nearby B & B I like much more. It would be a great place to stay if you were taking an Amtrak trip through Vermont.