Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Quaint lodge, close to the mountain.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The lodge staff were extremely friendly and eager to accommodate. I will be returning just because I've never met nicer peope!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient to ski mountain. Comfortable & clean.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Convenience, friendly and knowledgeable staff, easy shuttle to mountain, continental breakfast.
Enjoyed our 2nd stay here. Discovered the hot tub after skiing. Nice staff and fellow guests
4 out of 5
by Jane

Good

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room is nothing spectacular, but it was large, it was clean and the wifi worked. The beds were comfortable and everything looked clean. Perfect for a week of skiing. The one draw back is the coffee. The coffee was very weak.
4 out of 5
by Teodora

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel for ski trip with family. We could fit extra bed and all the belongings for 5 people without blocking the walking areas. The staff was friendly and helpful with any requests we had. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the spacious restaurant area with beautiful view.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Not what I was expecting.

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and son stayed here two years ago on a Non-Holiday weekend and they said it was much better than this weekend. We disappointed that our room had no, refrigerator, microwave or even a coffee pot. We asked the front desk for at least a Fridge and they said they would bring it down but it never came. The bathroom looked as if they forgot to clean the shower (lots of hair) and toilet (again, more hair). The plus's were: 1. The shuttle service to Stratton Mtn. - Great, 2. The restaurant at the hotel was good. The Poutine was delicious. Everything else at the hotel was - fair. The town of Stratton was smaller than I thought. Going to Whiteface and the Town of Lake Placid is a 100 percent more fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The hotel is perfect for a weekend stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel could be updated as it is a little tired looking...
3 out of 5
by Dyan

Shabby Hotel is good location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great, but the rooms are depressing, old and shabby. The rooms are very claustrophobic for a family of 4. The beds were comfortable though and the room is clean. The staff is nice, but when there was almost no hot water one evening, their excuse was, "everyone is showering at the same time." Surprise...you run a ski hotel...people ski until 4pm and shower afterwards. For over $325/night I took lukewarm showers. Wifi very sporadic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Ok

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Bathrooms were the best feature in the room; nicely updated. Bedding was not great and the carpets did not look updated. The walls/ceiling did not block much noise from surrounding rooms.
3 out of 5
by Alan

It's the Black Bear, what do you expect

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
If you know Stratton, then you know this is the cheapest close by lodging. No elevator, not the cleanest. Comfy bed, clean hot tub, good bar and restaurant. Lots of kids running around. no coffee lids, but very helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luenburg, Ma

Average ski Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and I woke up several times during the night. The breakfast needs an overhaul. Cold cereal and cold danish don't cut it for a day of skiing.