Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Grand Old Inn

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: We have passed this Grand Inn many times and indicated that one day we would treat ourselves to a stay when in the area. The Inn is a Lovely Lady...
Cons: Restaurant!! Prep of food!!
Location: The small private shops in town and the local ambience is are fun year around.
Very disappointed in restaurant. For what we expected to be a class restaurant, we were very dissatisfied. Menu was very limited, mostly burgers and sushi. Not what we were hoping for. We waited a good while for our meals and when they did arrive, mine was cold. Waitstaff did offer to replace meal, but we had already waited long enough and husband would have been done with meal. Did bring out more of the sides and they were cold as well when they arrived! Meals were mediocre at best. We overlooked going away from the hotel to dine and looked forward to a nice eat-in experience on a drizzly evening. This was not it! There are many tried and true fine restaurants in the area and we would not dine at the Inn's restaurant again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent stay!!

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Everything well done Great room, helpful staff Would definitely recommend this place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very romantic inn!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Excellent place to stay, especially for a romantic weekend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming but would not stay again.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Location was beautiful, can't complain. The hotel itself was very charming. The staff was very pleasant. However, understaffed, the room above us had hardwood, not carpeting and I could hear every step - extremely annoying but since we were staying for 1 night and already unpacked, I put my earplugs on to sleep, othewise would have requested to change my room. Lit a log in the fireplace and the room immediately got smokey, even though we were told the flue was ready to use. Called for maintenance and one hour later, they showed up. In the meantime, my husband put out the fire with bottles of water. Had dinner at their restaurant - awful menu - I hardly liked anything on the menu, very eclectic and not cohesive, strange is a better word. We did not have breakfast there the next day. No one at the front desk when checking out, had to just leave my key on the desk.
4 out of 5
by Rose from UK

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed for 1 night with my mum whilst on a trip around New England for a week. The hotel staff were very welcoming, the food was excellent, the beds were extremely comfortable! Would definitely recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend away

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels
the inn was okay but the room needed some tlc-water pressure was not great Breakfast was awsome The people were very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Jamestown, RI

Highs & Lows

Posted Aug 12, 2013
The location of this B&B was beautiful in that it sits atop a ridge with a great view of the surrounding mountains. Our room was comfortable (especially the bed), but the place is in need of a freshening-up. The wallpaper and rugs seem quite dated, but perhaps that is the charm of this historic inn. The only lows that I will mention is that we arrived on a Friday and they were hosting two parties that evening. The next morning out on one of the patios (right next to the bar area), there was garbage and used plates and silverware on one of the outdoor tables. The trash stayed in this exact same spot for Friday evening, all of Saturday, and at least Sunday morning(we left at 9am). There is no way a staff member did not notice this for two days as it was clearly visible, and I'm amazed that it was not cleaned up. Second thing I will comment on is the staff did not project a friendly attitude towards the guests. For the entire first day we were there, I can count on three fingers the number of times we were even acknowledged by a staff member, let alone in a friendly way. The exception to this was our wonderful breakfast server Aubrey who was fantastic. She really made us feel special every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from NJ

A Wilmington Gem

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, quick and tasty breakfast, a truly unique property.
The young woman who checked us in was friendly and helpful. She assisted us with our bags, escorted us to our room, and answered all our questions. We slept well in our king sized bed. The linens were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a fun part of the day. With only a few other couples staying at the same time us, the dining room was relatively quiet with soft conversations about the coming day, last night's weather, etc. Our server Roger shared the menu which was not expansive but offered enough fare to satisfy most tastes or dietary requirements. No complaints from me about my omelettes, the toast or coffee. Roger was quick to engage us in pleasant chat and to offer helpful advice about what to do or where to go in the area. One morning he showed the us secret staircase hidden behind the shelves in the dining room wall. Cool! In my opinion, the property has retained the overall spirit and character of the original design and construction. Some might say that updates are overdue, but I would guess that those who do are accustomed to staying in the modern properties of mainstream hotel chains. This hotel has all the basic creature comforts that most travelers expect (wi-fi, TV, ice machine, strong hot water, and even a spa), but don't walk around the hotel expecting to find that it has been fully renovated to conform to design principles of our modern era. Open your mind and take time to appreciate the character of a well maintained, classic property.
5 out of 5
by Jan from Milford, CT

Exquisite

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels
The staff was most gracious, fully informed and extremely cordial. The food was scrumptious. We are looking forward to our next stay in the large suite, which was the original owners rooms. This is not to be missed.