Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso Tx

Electric vermont bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The gentlemen were amazing hosts at this bed and breakfast. The facilities was an extremely interesting hotel full of amazing artwork. The hosts were knowledgeable of the area and knew great restaurants as well as shopping spots. The acreage at the stone wall was also beautiful experience and the host was also knowledgeable about the different plants on his property. I would love to go back when the pools are running because they will definitely be something special. The building is wonderful to explore because they have many different levels with lots of different stair cases. It was a truly wonderful relaxing and beautiful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

secluded getaway

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: the fact that it was remote
Cons: nothing. well if summer time maybe make sure the outdoor pools are working...
Location: it was summer - so facility has a jacuzi and small pools to relax in. it also has 2 saunas. bigger towns 15-30 min drive...
awesome. secluded yet if you want to socialize, you can mingle with other guests. 15 min or 30 min to bigger towns to eat or shop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Not good

Posted Jul 12, 2015
How can you have a hotel with no phone access? Not even to reach the front desk and if the room had a phone the call would go to voicemail at 9 pm. What happens if there is an emergency? Room set up had sink and toilet in 2 separate corners downstairs and shower right next to bed upstairs which is very inconvenient. One section of pool was not cleaned and murky. We did not stay and drove 2 hours to get home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by Sean, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to respond. The first item I'd like to clarify, is that we are not a Hotel; we are a Bed and Breakfast. There are many distinct differences between these two types of lodging. I'm sorry you did not like the design on the room you chose. We don't hide the fact that we are different, and in even a little off-the-wall. The vast majority of our guests are looking for a unique stay, and not a run-of-the-mill cookie cutter room, one like you would find in any "hotel" While it is true the rooms do not have phones in them, there are phones for guest use in the common areas. With new technologies, such as cell phones, wireless internet, etc, the wired telephone is quickly becoming extinct, and when renovating the building, we opted not to replace this dying technology, and instead installed wireless internet at speeds of 1 gigabit per second. In there had been an actual emergency, please know that you would have been well taken care of. We have an advanced fire alarm system, and we live on the property as well. We are always reachable, and in fact, all guests, yourself included, were provided with my personal cell phone number should any incidents have arisen. The "pool" you are referring to, is in fact, not a pool. The water element you are referring to, is our reflecting fountain. At a depth of 6 inches, it would not be very useful as a pool. This water element is part of the gardens, and is not treated chemically with chlorine, and is not intended for swimming. Again, I'm sorry you chose to leave, and did not like our inn. We take great pride in welcoming guests to our Bed and Breakfast, and go to great lengths to provide accurate information to our guests, so they know we are not your typical chain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Trendy, without being uptight

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Architecture, breakfast was mostly local organic food, room was cozy and clean, use of natural light and outdoor nooks was refreshing.
Cons: Was hoping for a more substantial breakfast (like eggs?), sauna/hot tub should be available past 9pm, give guests a simple map to get to/from town.
Location: Hard to find, got lost going back to town for provisions, but gorgeous location. Worth the extra few miles out of town to get to this cool B&B.
I've been to other B&Bs in Vermont (and beyond) and always thought they just "weren't my thing". Turns out, I've been going to the wrong places. No lace doilies, uncomfortable and musty antique sofas, or moth ball scented linens here! The architecture is unique, interesting, and keeps you looking at every angle (don't worry, there are convenient railings to hold onto so you don't fall while your eyes wander- which they will!) They truly are "green"- our room was heated with all passive solar and it was HOT. I appreciated the composting, local organic products, and fragrance free environment. And even though it felt NYC trendy, it was also cozy and comfortable like my hometown of Ithaca. There were books on shelves all over the house, board games, cards, throw blankets/pillows in common areas, and snacks in the kitchen. We came for a sister weekend and hung out in the lounge drinking wine and playing cards, and felt very comfortable doing so. Other guests joined in at times. It was casual and relaxing. Met some nice people! I don't think this would be great for kids or people with difficulty navigating stairs. Don't come if you plan to fight with your partner because YES all the guests can hear you!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Amazing

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Beautiful mountain views to enjoy, delicious restaurants and lots of relaxing
We were amazed by everything about this bed and breakfast. The peaceful energy, the cleanliness and the unique style made this not only a weekend we will never forget, but we plan to return a few times every year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unusual design

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The atypical design & arrangement of rooms, good hospitality.
Location: On a dirt road, although firmly-packed. Vermont countryside to explore, nice restaurants nearby.
Fun to explore the nooks & crannies of the 2 buildings & nice gardens. We did lose power overnight due to storms, but lanterns were provided & power back about 5 AM. Breakfast offerings were great and very good coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Place to Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Uniqueness.
Cons: Daytime ventilation
Location: Went up to VT to see the VSO in concert. Got moved indoors because of the rain but, they were still awesome!
Hospitable, friendly, accommodating. A very different kind of place. Every aspect built around being one with nature and the earth or at a minimum to lessen the impact on our environment. Beautifully landscaped. Neat architecture. Clean. Can get a bit warm inside during the high temps of the day. No air conditioning. Fans are provided which keeps the air moving however, it's still pretty warm. Nights cool are cool and great for sleeping. Definitely would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hope from Berlin, CT

Fantastic, peaceful, unique B&B!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: A Stone Wall Inn is a Unique B&B unlike any other I have seen. Every detail is thoughtful and immersed in the humor of the owners.
Cons: Nothing :)
Location: Nestled in the Woods of VT, it is quiet and peaceful, yet close by to Stratton Mountain (where we were skiing for the weekend)
Staying at the Stone Wall Inn was fantastic! The staff was kind and thoughtful, the building unique with surprising details around every corner. Since we were up for a skiing weekend, we did not get to explore the grounds, but we are looking forward to returning when the weather warms up! Nestled in the Woods of VT, it is quiet and peaceful, yet close by to Stratton Mountain (where we were skiing for the weekend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from N. Vermont

Architectural delight

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: The gardens, the location.
We needed a place to stay that would accommodate our dog. The Inn was perfect for this, although the pet fee is not easy to find on their web site, and we were surprised by the price, which was quite a bit more than we have paid in the past. The views are lovely, the gardens delightful. The breakfast included fresh fruits and home made jams. The only drawback to our stay was the incoming light in our room. The room had two high windows that opened to the inner common room. The lights from the common room flooded through in to our room. We draped towels over pipes transversing the ceiling in order to block the bright light so we could sleep.