Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Not good

Posted Jul 12, 2015
How can you have a hotel with no phone access? Not even to reach the front desk and if the room had a phone the call would go to voicemail at 9 pm. What happens if there is an emergency? Room set up had sink and toilet in 2 separate corners downstairs and shower right next to bed upstairs which is very inconvenient. One section of pool was not cleaned and murky. We did not stay and drove 2 hours to get home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by Sean, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to respond. The first item I'd like to clarify, is that we are not a Hotel; we are a Bed and Breakfast. There are many distinct differences between these two types of lodging. I'm sorry you did not like the design on the room you chose. We don't hide the fact that we are different, and in even a little off-the-wall. The vast majority of our guests are looking for a unique stay, and not a run-of-the-mill cookie cutter room, one like you would find in any "hotel" While it is true the rooms do not have phones in them, there are phones for guest use in the common areas. With new technologies, such as cell phones, wireless internet, etc, the wired telephone is quickly becoming extinct, and when renovating the building, we opted not to replace this dying technology, and instead installed wireless internet at speeds of 1 gigabit per second. In there had been an actual emergency, please know that you would have been well taken care of. We have an advanced fire alarm system, and we live on the property as well. We are always reachable, and in fact, all guests, yourself included, were provided with my personal cell phone number should any incidents have arisen. The "pool" you are referring to, is in fact, not a pool. The water element you are referring to, is our reflecting fountain. At a depth of 6 inches, it would not be very useful as a pool. This water element is part of the gardens, and is not treated chemically with chlorine, and is not intended for swimming. Again, I'm sorry you chose to leave, and did not like our inn. We take great pride in welcoming guests to our Bed and Breakfast, and go to great lengths to provide accurate information to our guests, so they know we are not your typical chain hotel.
3 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Justine from NYC

More like Stonewalled Inn

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
stone·wall (stōn′wôl′) a. To engage in delaying tactics; stall: "stonewalling for time in order to close the missile gap" (James Reston). b. To refuse to answer or cooperate. ------------- Love the architecture and design of this place. No detail is left behind. This place lives and dies by the aesthetic. However, if you want warm and welcoming service, you'll need to adjust your expectations. The place is run by a seemingly OCD couple that will make you feel like they were forced to go into the hospitality business. They will tell you that they like to go to bed early, therefore there is a $50 fee for checking in after 10 pm ($25 for after 9 pm). If you call them to get more info and leave messages, don't expect a call back - but definitely expect a snide remark that you didn't properly read the website instructions. And about instructions, there are signs everywhere. You are treated like either a criminal or a child, or both. There are Dos and Dont's everywhere! And heaven forbid you miss a sign and ask in person for help. Well, good luck with that, and enjoy your stay :)
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Lindsey from Dorchester, MA

pondview room

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
It was my first time staying in an eco friendly hotel so I wasn't sure what to expect but it was awesome! The bathroom was smaller than I anticipated but again, I had nothing to base it off of so once I got used to the close quarters it was great. The loft bed was very comfortable as were the sheets and I loved having my breakfast on the balcony attached to the loft. I would definitely stay again but next time I may spring for one of the rooms with a Jacuzzi tub!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Desi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by James from Olathe, KS

I Would Definitely Recommend This Place!!

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
It is a really cool place. I definitely enjoyed my stay. The hospitality was great.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Trendy, without being uptight

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Architecture, breakfast was mostly local organic food, room was cozy and clean, use of natural light and outdoor nooks was refreshing.
Cons: Was hoping for a more substantial breakfast (like eggs?), sauna/hot tub should be available past 9pm, give guests a simple map to get to/from town.
Location: Hard to find, got lost going back to town for provisions, but gorgeous location. Worth the extra few miles out of town to get to this cool B&B.
I've been to other B&Bs in Vermont (and beyond) and always thought they just "weren't my thing". Turns out, I've been going to the wrong places. No lace doilies, uncomfortable and musty antique sofas, or moth ball scented linens here! The architecture is unique, interesting, and keeps you looking at every angle (don't worry, there are convenient railings to hold onto so you don't fall while your eyes wander- which they will!) They truly are "green"- our room was heated with all passive solar and it was HOT. I appreciated the composting, local organic products, and fragrance free environment. And even though it felt NYC trendy, it was also cozy and comfortable like my hometown of Ithaca. There were books on shelves all over the house, board games, cards, throw blankets/pillows in common areas, and snacks in the kitchen. We came for a sister weekend and hung out in the lounge drinking wine and playing cards, and felt very comfortable doing so. Other guests joined in at times. It was casual and relaxing. Met some nice people! I don't think this would be great for kids or people with difficulty navigating stairs. Don't come if you plan to fight with your partner because YES all the guests can hear you!!!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut


Posted Oct 27, 2014
Location: Beautiful mountain views to enjoy, delicious restaurants and lots of relaxing
We were amazed by everything about this bed and breakfast. The peaceful energy, the cleanliness and the unique style made this not only a weekend we will never forget, but we plan to return a few times every year.
5 out of 5
by Michele & Gary from CT

Love it

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
We were there for the paek foliage, 2nd week in Oct. We just loved everything about it. It was very clean, the owners were so accomidating and nice.The gounds are just beautiful, the view from our room was spectacular, the hommeade bead pudding for breakfast was to die for. If you like being away from it all and just relax, this is the palce to go. Cannot wait to go back.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Michelangelo Conoscenti from Fossano

Discreto, ma...

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
L'Inn è situtato in una zona isolata, ma bellissima del Vermont. L'accoglienza è adeguata, la colazione ottima. Ci sono moltissime barriere architettoniche, correttamente segnalate dai gestori. Il fatto che lascia perplessi, sebbene sia una struttura "verde" è la mancanza di termostati interni alle camere per gestire la temperatura e il fastidiosissimo rumore della ventilazione forzata che non può essere controllata. E' un paradosso, l'hotel vanta, giustamente, la sua posizione silenziosa, ma il silenzio non può essere apprezzato in camera a causa dei ventilatori.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels