Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never go there.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I don't think it can be improved. The area, the building, the staf. all is bad
Location: Sketchy. Dirty. Nothing to do
Everything is bad about that place. The staff totally useless and inefficient. The location sketchy and no places to go to eat (just 3 horrible chicken fast food outlets). The hotel looks like a 1970s run down place. The rugs and the paint are horrible. I waited 30 minutes in the front desk requesting for a taxi information to the airport. They offered one price and the hiked the price in the last minute. The room was not nice and dark. Lights were poor. I summary, horrible. Worst experience in many years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I was in Windhoek for a work visit. The staff were welcoming from the first day I arrived until I left. I was at the Protea Hotel for 5 days and not a single day did I experience problems with the hotel staff, room quality and service. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, my room was always clean when I came back. The hotel is centrally located meaning it was easy to get around town and get taxi. The day before I left I informed them of my early morning flight and they booked a cab for me which was ready at 4am in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel with only basic amenities only

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Was an OK experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convienent hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Not very impressed. Stayed there due to the brand recognition. The hotel has had some paint applied, but it is still old and in not very good condition. The bathroom is a tub with a shower curtain. The toilet leaked slowly, so we laid a towel on the floor. The tile is chipped and the general condition is that of an old second rate hotel that someone spent a couple of bucks on trying to make it look a little better.. Would not stay here again as there are much cheaper and nicer places to stay in Windhoek. the only plus is its location if you wanted to explore the town on foot. We didn't. I should have ran when the porter told me he didn't have any kind of dolly to get our bags up to the room. The staff though did provide friendly assistance in getting all our bags to the room. Overall very overpriced for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RSA

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant people and very enjoyable stay and good value for the price .
1 out of 5
by Ghalied from Cape Town

Hotel due for upgrade

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel needs a serious upgrade. Lift not working properly. Rate is way to much for that condition of hotel
5 out of 5
by Simbarashe from Harare

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Was quite pleasant to feel Namibia hospitality
3 out of 5
by Brian from East London

Satisfied

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was a bit chaotic on odd occasions when large parties ate together and crowded the venue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by David

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Next time in Windhoek I will certainly pick different hotel (preferably with a more helpful staff)