Ratings based on 913 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water to take a shower.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
No water when we woke up in the morning. Hotel owner did not seem to care when we complained. Suggested we contract Expedia since he couldn't do anything for us. Expedia offered $100 voucher for next stay which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Holiday Inn Express , Hotel Management
Dear Guest We really appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We just open the hotel a few days early prior to your last stay and a few mechanical areas need further attention. We now are full speed ahead and all have been resolved. I am pleased that expedia credit your account. We are looking forward your next visit for a more pleasant experience. Sincerely Felipe Gomes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: It's all brand new...what is there to dislike.
Location: 2 blocks from the casino
Just finishing last touches in renovations. Holiday Inn Express has taken over Travelodge. Pretty sure everything is brand new...gorgeous rooms. All staff are friendly and greet you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Holiday Inn Express, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We really appreciate your five star rating. Your impression represents our fantastic value when comes to the million dollar view in the rooms facing the river and city of skyline of Detroit, the friendly service, the comfortable beds, the spotless rooms and the great value in our full American breakfast. We are very proud of our hotel and we love to share our hospitality passion with our guests. Looking forward your next visit Sincerely Felipe Gomes General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under MAJOR Construction

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The view, the room.
Cons: Everything else. This hotel should not have been rented out in it's current condition.
There was so much construction happening here here that there was no entry from the street, no parking because the construction workers took up almost all of the very limited number of spaces, gaining entry to the main entrance, we had to walk through stone that was being cut by a stone power saw, and under a scissor lift. In the lobby, we couldn't even hear the reception speak because the drills were drilling into cement. The promised hotel amenities of pool, fitness room and continental breakfast were not available. We were told by the front desk to park on the street, that it was safe there until 8 am. On the street, the signs say no parking past 4am. We ended up parking in a city lot over night. At $1.50/ hour, that tacked on an additional $15. It's very confusing because although we booked "TravelLodge", the sign said "Holiday Inn". Our receipt was from Holiday Inn. We're assuming that this hotel was purchased by Holiday Inn. The room was nicely renovated and the bedding and colors were pleasing. The view was outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stayner, Ontario

Under construction, limited parking during stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: good location on river, excellent view of river and Detroit on west side rooms, rooms clean and satisfactory
Cons: Parking arrangements
Location: great breakfast place at Suzies Grill, Windsor. Check out River Road north and south. University of Windsor.
Good location. Limited parking during construction but still charged $10 for parking and staff were unapologetic, had no empathy for guests!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brantford Ontario

Travelodge Windsor

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Seems to me a lot of the more "gangster" crowd likes to stay at this location. Everything should be great when construction is done. There's not much parking which led me driving around the city most city parking is only good till 6am. Woke up 5am to put money in the machine so I didn't get ticketed. Turned out you can't put money in until after 6am. Pretty annoying waiting in my truck until 6am. Overall some annoying aspects
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

very good hotel, close to Downtown and Caesars

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: freshly renovated.
Cons: Parking $10.00 fee
Location: downtown bars are very close by and the Casino is 2 blocks away
With the renovations going on, the hotel rooms looked very newly done. Pool and fitness area were being renovated, but interested when all is done. Will stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville, ky

Amazing with a glitch.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
This place is perfect, with a glitch. Location is exactly where you want. River front, just steps from the main drag, etc... The rooms are five star all the way. I was shocked at how nice it was. Views are great from the room of the boats and river. Lastly about the good. The staff could not have treated us better from beginning to end. They deserve all the praise in the world. The glitch... We knew there was construction going on and we had no issues. Couldn't hear it at all. It did however cause two issues. Parking is non existent. We were on bikes so we squeezed in. There is a private owned parking lot next door that is cheaper than the hotels and a parking garage a street down. So it is something you can live with. Two, the morning of check out there was no hot water. Staff frantically tried to fix it. In the end we were offered a discount but since we booked on a travel site it didn't take. The manager offered a discounted room on our next stay plus wrote off the parking. I would absolutely stay here again. Even with the glitches this is one of the nicest rooms and staff I have even dealt with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Much nicer than ceasors. Great price and staff sup

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The lobby was under construction but we got to stay in the new room and let me tell you I am VERY pleased. I'll be coming back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking - not much they could do about the construction.
Great location and very nice room, however, we were unaware of construction ongoing. The pool was closed as was the breakfast area. They did arrange for our family to use another pool, which was great. The room was lovely but quite small considering our daughter is in a wheelchair. Parking was also difficult as the construction took up quite a bit of room and the Accessible parking was not clearly marked. However, a great location and the staff really went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Markham, On Canada

Nice hotel closed river and closed Windsor Casino

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Closed Casino and Detroit USA
Cons: Lobby
Location: Go to Detroit USA very closed by.
Will go back some time next summer and also can go to Detroit USA. so closed.