Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Decent

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The guy at check in didn't greet me nor explain the deposit or that there was a charge for parking. The room was nice and clean. Bathrooms very small. If you are a tall person on the toilet your knees might be to the door. It's a mediocre hotel. It was convenient because of the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Nikki, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not made aware of our security deposit at arrival. It is stated on the expedia website that there is a 200 deposit and we charge 12.95 for parking. I will be sure to bring your comments and concerns to our managements attention. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

holiday inn downtown windsor

Posted Jan 17, 2017
room was clean and spacious, BUT - and this is a biggie - we were given a room, in January, WITHOUT HEAT. because we booked thru expedia, no discount or rate adjustment was done, and hotel suggested we fight it out with expedia. check in staff was great, but interactions with on-call mgr and having a security guard come right into our room, staring at us, was disconcerting. check-out desk staff frazzled and of no help. plus, her desk was without power, so she was 'unable' to do ANYthing until her computer came back online, leaving customers standing around waiting to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you felt this way. We did experience some issues back in January (when you stayed) with a power surge that cause our heating units to stop working. So our guests could still stay with us without inconvenience, we purchased space heaters so our guests would have heat. You had a space heater, which I checked every room that day and every room was at a comfortable temperature or warmer. The power outage on the day you checked out had nothing to do with the hotel, the whole block went out and not much she could have done differently. Our security staff normally do not enter rooms without cause, so I will definitely investigate why this happened and ensure it does not happen again. I do apologize that you felt disconcerting as this is not our intention. We care about our guests safety at all times. Sincerely, Nick G. Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aug 3-4

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: modernize interior
Location: near entertainment(Caesars)
First room had a broken door. New room assigned has noisy a/c and Bathroom Vent not working. Hot water was sometimes not there. Front desk helpful and fast to make changes. They were very accommodating. Stayed here multiple time last three years for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and I will definitely let our maintenance engineer know of the issues you had with your rooms. I do apologize for the inconveniences that were caused during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next stay with us in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad but needs new upgrades and more resources.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
I am surprised by what you pay in fees that it is just an average hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. I will be sure to let our management team know of your concerns and hopefully we can implement something in the near future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Disappointing for a Holiday Inn

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly. Convenient to downtown.
Cons: Separate vanity area could be provided as there is not enough space in the bathroom. Beds need to be replaced.
Location: Casino, lots of restaurants, close to border crossing.
This hotel was a disappointment. The bathroom was so cramped and had virtually no counter space, and no additional vanity area. Very inconvenient. The beds in this hotel were well past their prime. The beds and pillows normally found at the HI properties are the number 1 reason I choose HI properties. I drive a full size pickup truck and navigating the parking area was a challenge with this hotel as well. This property is not up to normal HI standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Norine, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We always want to ensure our guests stay is to the highest level possible when it comes to comfort and being able to relax. I will definitely bring your concerns to managements attention and see what we can do on our next renovation project. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more pleasant stay. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simcoe, ON

close to casino

Posted Mar 26, 2016
The parking was horrible but everything else was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Becca, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear your parking experience was horrible. On very busy nights, our parking is a bit more difficult. I'm glad everything else was good. I hope we will see you again on your next trip to Windsor! Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario

Major disappointment. Pool closed.

Posted Mar 14, 2016
The main reason we decided to book was because if the pool. Our 3 kids were looking forward to swimming for months. Pool was closed for maintenance with no advanced warning. We were forced to book 2 rooms because we have 3 kids. Maximum 4 for some rooms. Just a cash grab really. Rooms were clean. Some plumbing issues. Water in sink wouldn't shut off. No working exhaust fan in bathrooms. Also no continental breakfast. There is a restaurant downstairs. Good service although the furnace was broken. We were the only ones eating in the entire place. Overall negative experience. We absolutely should have been told that the pool would be closed. Would have booked somewhere else for sure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Terrible customer service from the hotel clerk and Expedia did not send my reservation to the hotel. Took forever to get my room
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I sincerely apologize that your experience was a poor one. Our staff strive for excellence and this is not our standard. I hope we will have the chance to make it up to you on your next visit to Windsor. Sincerely, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure you watch what they are charging for

Posted Jan 25, 2016
This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The staff did not tell me there was extra parking under the building, only to follow the ramp upstairs where they have a total of 20 tiny spots. They also over charged my room deposit and are claiming I didn't pay for things. Terrible system and even worse customer service when I called to figure out the situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
"Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I apologize for any confusion there may have been for our underground parking. I will definitely make sure our staff are telling our guests about the underground parking as well. If you spoke to someone on property, I do apologize, we strive for the highest level of customer service for all of our guests. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future for a more pleasant stay. Sincerely, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice but ridiculous rules

Posted Jan 1, 2016
The hotel itself was beautiful and comfortable to stay in however it needs a hot tub and they never informed us of the rules that would be set once we drove five hours away to get here and then didn't help us much when we got in a jam overall nice hotel but communication with the guests needs to be increased or changed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I will speak with our management team to suggest a hot tub on our next renovation. I apologize, these rules are in place for a reason and we ask our guests to abide by these simple rules to help our staff if problems should arise. I would very much like to speak with you regarding your stay and any concerns you may have that I can address right away. I appreciate your time and hope we will have the opportunity to see you back on our next trip to Windsor. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager