Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Windsor

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The beds were good and the staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: Renovate hotel and parking. Improve gym.
Location: The hotel is on a busy street with bars, restaurants, and shops. The Riverwalk along the Detroit River is very nice.
The hotel is rundown and in need of renovations. The room was clean but wear was clear. The bathroom tile was cracking in parts. Halls and common areas were old and worn looking. Parking if cramped and hard to negotiate. The gym was pitiful. They had three machines: a bike that you could not adjust the leg length, a treadmill that was not running, and one other working treadmill. There were no free weights, and there was nothing to disinfect the equipment. Also, the hotel was extremely noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your concerns from your stay with us. I'm so sorry to hear of these issues you have addressed. They definitely be looked into right away. Our hotel is well kept for the age of our property, but we do have renovations scheduled for the future. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, MI

Downtown convenience

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Downtown location
Location: The hotel is in easy walking distance to several restaurants and eateries of all price points. It is within 2 blocks of the Detroit-Windsor tunnel.
This is an older hotel that has been fairly well maintained. The bathrooms are small (the door wouldn't open all the way because it hit the towel bar) but entirely functional with newer fixtures. The in-room amenities are very nice including a fast and free WiFi, high definition TV, a refrigerator, microwave, and (most importantly) a Keurig coffeemaker. On site, secured parking is available for a fee, which is a plus in the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for giving us your candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I appreciate your honest comments and your acknowledgement of our efforts to keep our hotel maintained until we go through our renovation process, which will be in the not too distant future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Decent

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The guy at check in didn't greet me nor explain the deposit or that there was a charge for parking. The room was nice and clean. Bathrooms very small. If you are a tall person on the toilet your knees might be to the door. It's a mediocre hotel. It was convenient because of the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Nikki, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not made aware of our security deposit at arrival. It is stated on the expedia website that there is a 200 deposit and we charge 12.95 for parking. I will be sure to bring your comments and concerns to our managements attention. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

holiday inn downtown windsor

Posted Jan 17, 2017
room was clean and spacious, BUT - and this is a biggie - we were given a room, in January, WITHOUT HEAT. because we booked thru expedia, no discount or rate adjustment was done, and hotel suggested we fight it out with expedia. check in staff was great, but interactions with on-call mgr and having a security guard come right into our room, staring at us, was disconcerting. check-out desk staff frazzled and of no help. plus, her desk was without power, so she was 'unable' to do ANYthing until her computer came back online, leaving customers standing around waiting to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you felt this way. We did experience some issues back in January (when you stayed) with a power surge that cause our heating units to stop working. So our guests could still stay with us without inconvenience, we purchased space heaters so our guests would have heat. You had a space heater, which I checked every room that day and every room was at a comfortable temperature or warmer. The power outage on the day you checked out had nothing to do with the hotel, the whole block went out and not much she could have done differently. Our security staff normally do not enter rooms without cause, so I will definitely investigate why this happened and ensure it does not happen again. I do apologize that you felt disconcerting as this is not our intention. We care about our guests safety at all times. Sincerely, Nick G. Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your 5 stars and hope we will see you again next time you are visiting Windsor. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
A hotel that has seen better day. While room was clean, bathroom is cramped, shower wasn't a shower, more like fine mist. Light in bathroom work intermittenly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your comments and we are also please to say we will be going through an extensive renovation sometime next year. I will keep note of your comments to bring to our managements attention. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Location is really good. but hard to sleep due to all the noise outside. firetrucks, police, garbage trucks all night non stop...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and giving us your valuable feedback. I'm so sorry to hear you had a hard time sleeping. Being a downtown hotel, it's hard to get away from the noise of the downtown nightlife including sirens and folks on the street. We recommend to our guests that if you are a light sleeper to request a room on the "tunnel side". This seems to help with any outside noises. Again, I'm sorry your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. I do hope we can welcome you back again on your next visit to Windsor for a more restful night sleep. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great but...

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is showing its age - strong smell of cigarette smoke in elevator and hallways (room was fine) We had continued difficulty with our room key card. At first the concierge passed it up as "it got de-magnetized" but after several rides up and down the elevator and waiting in line they came to the conclusion that the battery on our lock needed to be replaced (This was on night one and nothing was done to resolve the issue during our stay...ie: offer us a different room at that point if they had no way to fix it) More worrisome was that the lock latch caused the door not to shut easily (I can definitely see some hotel patrons inadvertently leaving their room unlocked) After mentioning all this to the concierge we were comped for parking...I guess there's not much they can do at the end of your stay so they did their best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to ensure guest satisfaction and that they are well taken care of. We are a 100% smoke free hotel and we are strict to this rule. Unfortunately we cannot pinpoint where it is coming from every time, but I'm sure they received a $200 fine for smoking in a non-smoking room. I will speak with our staff to ensure the key situation does not happen again. I hope we see you again on your next visit to Windsor! Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

great location to night life and food

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
good location, price, and comfortable beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and for giving us a 5 star review. Wow! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Windsor and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Travelller, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate your rating and hope we see you again on your next visit to Windsor. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager