Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Horrible experience in this hotel. The parking lot on the second floor is very narrow. Elevator does not have the security card access so everyone can use it. The door connects the elevator with parking lot is not lock at all, and it is very dangerous. The washroom does not have fan. No secure safe box in the room. Avoid room facing Oullet street. Avoid this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by HWINDSOR, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that the concerns you have brought up are being addressed. We do understand that the Ouellette side of the building can be noisier, so we do try to use those rooms secondary to our Tunnel rooms. Unfortunately we cannot have every room on the back of the building. I do hope that we can welcome you back to show you a wonderful stay. Kind Regards, Sheila Morton Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Windsor

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The beds were good and the staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: Renovate hotel and parking. Improve gym.
Location: The hotel is on a busy street with bars, restaurants, and shops. The Riverwalk along the Detroit River is very nice.
The hotel is rundown and in need of renovations. The room was clean but wear was clear. The bathroom tile was cracking in parts. Halls and common areas were old and worn looking. Parking if cramped and hard to negotiate. The gym was pitiful. They had three machines: a bike that you could not adjust the leg length, a treadmill that was not running, and one other working treadmill. There were no free weights, and there was nothing to disinfect the equipment. Also, the hotel was extremely noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your concerns from your stay with us. I'm so sorry to hear of these issues you have addressed. They definitely be looked into right away. Our hotel is well kept for the age of our property, but we do have renovations scheduled for the future. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by Rodin

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Rodin, Thank you for taking the time to give us a rating and for choosing to stay with us. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by Terry

bad but cheap

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was awkward (no place to park), clerk was condescending, tv remote didn't work; water did not shut off; most power plugs did not work but didn't realize until too late; our floor was full of 19 & 20 year olds (probably) yelling and screaming all night; parking was not convenient nor spaces big enough
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear of these inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I appreciate you letting us know of your concerns and issues as I will be looking into them further. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed. We have security on every weekend so in case there are problems with noise, we can keep it to a minimum. I would advise you to let our guest services know of the issues as well during your stay so we can help take care the problems at hand right away. Thank you for staying with us and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future for a more pleasant stay. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Muskegon, MI

Downtown convenience

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Downtown location
Location: The hotel is in easy walking distance to several restaurants and eateries of all price points. It is within 2 blocks of the Detroit-Windsor tunnel.
This is an older hotel that has been fairly well maintained. The bathrooms are small (the door wouldn't open all the way because it hit the towel bar) but entirely functional with newer fixtures. The in-room amenities are very nice including a fast and free WiFi, high definition TV, a refrigerator, microwave, and (most importantly) a Keurig coffeemaker. On site, secured parking is available for a fee, which is a plus in the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for giving us your candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I appreciate your honest comments and your acknowledgement of our efforts to keep our hotel maintained until we go through our renovation process, which will be in the not too distant future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy face

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good location and helpful and friendly staff. A fair value for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location too. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff to let them know how helpful and friendly they were to you. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the next time you are in the area. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to give us a rating from your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing us as your hotel of choice and hope we see you again on your next visit to Windsor. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Decent

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The guy at check in didn't greet me nor explain the deposit or that there was a charge for parking. The room was nice and clean. Bathrooms very small. If you are a tall person on the toilet your knees might be to the door. It's a mediocre hotel. It was convenient because of the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Nikki, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not made aware of our security deposit at arrival. It is stated on the expedia website that there is a 200 deposit and we charge 12.95 for parking. I will be sure to bring your comments and concerns to our managements attention. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
by Rick

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Clean room, great restaurant inside the Holiday Inn. running bathroom faucet in room 405 was a little annoying and we were a little disappointed on Wednesday morning when their was very little hot water when showering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear you had a clean room and enjoyed the food in our onsite restaurant. I'm so sorry that you experienced issues with your hot water, I will be sure to let our maintenance know to ensure this is fixed if it is not already. We appreciate you staying with us and I hope we see you again in the future. Best Regards, Nick Grimmell Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

holiday inn downtown windsor

Posted Jan 17, 2017
room was clean and spacious, BUT - and this is a biggie - we were given a room, in January, WITHOUT HEAT. because we booked thru expedia, no discount or rate adjustment was done, and hotel suggested we fight it out with expedia. check in staff was great, but interactions with on-call mgr and having a security guard come right into our room, staring at us, was disconcerting. check-out desk staff frazzled and of no help. plus, her desk was without power, so she was 'unable' to do ANYthing until her computer came back online, leaving customers standing around waiting to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you felt this way. We did experience some issues back in January (when you stayed) with a power surge that cause our heating units to stop working. So our guests could still stay with us without inconvenience, we purchased space heaters so our guests would have heat. You had a space heater, which I checked every room that day and every room was at a comfortable temperature or warmer. The power outage on the day you checked out had nothing to do with the hotel, the whole block went out and not much she could have done differently. Our security staff normally do not enter rooms without cause, so I will definitely investigate why this happened and ensure it does not happen again. I do apologize that you felt disconcerting as this is not our intention. We care about our guests safety at all times. Sincerely, Nick G. Guest Service Manager