Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Try somewhere else

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Value breakfast
Cons: Lots
Location: Heathrow, Windsor, Hampton court palace
Needs good clean. Tables in bar extremely sticky. Stair and hall carpets filthy.bedding clean and fresh, but don't look at pillows! Rooms in need of good dust. Toilet seat was cracked all the way through Pleasant staff especially lady who greated us Good value breakfast, but atmosphere made very unpleasant and unprofessional due to rudeness of landlord
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan USA

Excellent English Breakfast - Friendly People!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: We liked the convenient location of the Union Inn to Windsor, the delicious English breakfast and coffee provided and the friendliness of the people.
Cons: Although not that important, the carpet in the hallways could be updated. This did not impact our stay however.
Location: Great location in proximity to Windsor Castle, nearby town and to Heathrow airport.
The hotel Proprietor went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable. The English breakfast and the excellent coffee were delicious and prepared as we requested. We met locals in the breakfast room which was very enjoyable and interesting. We would recommend the Union Inn highly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Great value

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice quite location, superb breakfast, excellent value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Stayover

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Get the heating and window furnishings sorted out.
Location: Near Windsor Castle.
We were disappointed to find we couldn't have a meal when we arrived around 5.30pm on a Sunday evening. Apparently they stop serving at 4.30pm on a Sunday. The weather was very wet, windy and cold so we decided not to bother going out to investigate other hostelries nearby. Room was cold - no heating. We asked if heating could be put on and were told it was on. Not in our room it wasn't and we couldn't switch the radiator on - been painted over!! Bed and towels were clean. However the wooden blind at the window didn't really close properly and we felt some curtains would have been better. Breakfast offerings were the usual fare Glad we were only stopping one night en-route. Couldn't recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Pay a little bit more and stay in a proper hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good
Cons: Mannerisms of the staff. Serve food until late. Cleaner rooms. Better Showers....and location ;)
Location: The location is terrible - nothing is in walking distance and taxis in Windsor are expensive!
Rude staff (if you don't believe me, try calling them and hear their telephone mannerisms). Location is in the middle of nowhere. Rooms are not the 'luxurious' quality that their website speaks of. My advice is to pay a little bit more and stay somewhere a little more catering to its guests e.g. we could not get food at 9pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Carpets in hall and landing areas stained and filthy. Bathroom tired . Rubbish outside room window and weeds galore plus lots of beer glasses left untidly . Blinds worn out . Bar area scruffy. They seem to have little idea about running a place of any quality. Should not be classed as quality place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the bed

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff were really friendly
Cons: Read previous comments
Bed was really uncomfortable & mattress was knackered & had holes in it, staff at hotel were lovely & the food was great, The room was in need of a lot of TLC, blinds were broke, floor tiles loose on bathroom floor , bedding was immaculate but the mattress on the bed was awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Classic Inn charm

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Traditional charm, service and good quality and quantity of food. Generous feel to the place.
Cons: Temperature control of shower.
Great location on the fringe of Windsor yet in rolling pasture land. Lovely vintage pub atmosphere with excellent quality food, beer and service. Rooms are very high standard with my only grump being the shower stuck on too hot for me. Hosts were lovely and accommodating with even a mini informal pub quiz over breakfast! Would definitely return and handy for Heathrow too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gateshead

Lovely hotel with character in a rural setting

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great all round hotel. Reasonable price in lovely setting. Good homely food at the bar at a good price. The owner and staff were very friendly offering good advice on the local area. A very good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jul 2, 2017
A fairly basic level of accomodation for those wanting a low cost option, which is worth it. A number of things could be better, eg operational blinds but the room was comfortable enough