Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by DEBORAH from Sydney, Australia

Experiencing olde worlde Wingham

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
We booked and stayed for threee nights in the Maitland Cottege, but were offered the choice of the other rooms, which all looked well presented. We went into the old bank building for breakfast, so had the best of both worlds. The building has been very well adapted for guest house use. The current owners, Leonie and John, are very friendly and accommodating, and have lots of new ideas. it is definitely worth a visit if you need to be in Wingham or environs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Relaxing

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Wotif
Needed to get out of Sydney to a quiet place. This place was perfect. Great court yard and really nice place. Breakfast was amazing. So coming back with a group of friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dee Why

Nice

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Wotif
Get one of the cottages out the back for the best stay. It was quiet and we could park the car close to the cottage so great if you got heaps of baby stuff. Breakfast was nice with the music and the care takers where really nice also.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Centrally located in historic bank building.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Situated right in the centre of town. Walk to shops, bakeries, RSL Club and supermarket, as well as the river and Wingham Brush (original rainforest).
I chose to stay in the Garden Room, which is a self contained unit built onto the back the main building. It provided everything I needed for a two night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room with character.

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very large and the decor complemented the period features of the building's history. Breakfast and dinner in the Tellers Restaurant was well cooked and ample serving size. Service was good too with the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The neighbourhood is pretty quiet but has all the amenities required. It is a good base for going to sights of the region. Beaches are less than 30 mins drive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for a restful stop.

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Very good food in town pub. Plenty to see.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Yes i understand that there was an emergency but the place should not fall apart while the manager is away. Hire new cleaning staff.
Location: Quiet little country town. Close to bakery cafe. There is a pub 50m up on the corner but caused no issues. Very quiet location, minimal noise.
Visited for a wedding. Checked in, cook waiting outside to get in, a family emergency so no manager present. Waitress arrived after a while, showed us to our room. Dumped bags and headed straight out. Returned 11pm, lights not working in room, desk lamp and bathroom lights got us by. Discovered bathroom not clean. Dirty sticky floor, dead earbud, dirty basin and toilet. No soap, but shampoo provided. Found soap, half used one from previous guest in shower. Complained next day, expected room to be serviced, was not. Promised lights to be fixed. Returned from wedding reception late that night, no lights, no cleaning. Packed our stuff and checked out a night early. Waitress left holding the fort couldnt offer any discount, wasn't authorised but was apologetic. Pretty poor for a supposedly 4 star rated property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW Australia

Very nice country town accommodation

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Its an old refurbished bank so it has a lot of old world charm and the manageress and her staff were great.
Cons: Nothing in our view, we had a very nice stay.
Location: Little country town so we enjoyed the local pubs and the towns history
Accommodation was very nice. The manageress couldnt do more for us and was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast staff were very good and the breakfast that came with the accommodation was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice cottage at the back of a restaurant

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Lastminute
Stayed in the cottage out the back of the restaurant/hotel. It was private and cosy. Breakfast was delicious the next morning and the bed was quite comfortable too
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montville, Qld

Great place to stop to explore local area

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: This place has character and history. A bit like turning the clock back 100 years but with modern day comforts.
Cons: Don't change a thing!
Location: The town has some interesting shops, restaurants and historic buildings. It is close to Forster, the beautiful Myall Lakes and Barrington Tops.
The Bank House had been recommended by a friend and we were impressed. It has an old world feel about it with lots of quality furnishing and décor. Scrupulously clean and extremely comfortable we would happily have stayed longer. Staff were very friendly and chatty. Breakfast was beautifully presented and comprised of lovely fresh local produce. Definitely a place to try for good old fashioned comfort and hospitality.