Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No one at the hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Cons: Please have the hotel staffed.
I arrived at the guesthouse at about 4:30pm only to find that the hotel was completely empty. Thinking there must be either customers at the guest house or someone at reception, I walked inside the guest house hoping I'd find someone to assist me. No one. There was a number left at the front door which I called and it went straight to voicemail. I waited around for another 2 hours hoping someone would arrive - no one came. I eventually gave up and found another hotel. I got a call back around 10pm that night asking if I had trouble checking in but by then I was already at the Golf Motel Inn. Overall, experience was terrible. After the incident, the process of getting the refund for the room was also very difficult and staff did not follow up with the matter at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Lovely heritage building / hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Accommodation. Cottage was well appointed.
Cons: Bathrooms, noisy old fans detract from otherwise exceptionally quiet location.
Location: Wingham is a heritage town - with good country drives and close to major town in Taree, one hour to the beach at Old Bar. Better than Taree to stay.
Fantastic cottage adjacent to heritage listed building in Wingham. Good facilities, excellent access and location in Wingham. Recommend to families for the separate cottage, cannot wait until restaurant is ready for business. Hoping that the hotel continues to do business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not recommended

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Wotif
We booked a room for two nights with breakfast. When we arrived, there was no information about our booking. We prepaid at the host's request. The breakfast on the first morning was pretty underwhelming. On the second morning the host was nowhere to be seen at breakfast time, and there was no food. We had to go to a cafe to pay for a second breakfast, which was lovely. There was still no one there when we left.
1 out of 5
by John

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Ended up not staying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Classical and historical

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Wotif
Unfortunately the restaurant was not open, and all alternatives had closed by the time we got there (8pm). Managed to get a good simple together from the supermarket down the road though I note it closed at 9pm as well. That said, Wingham is a small country town... The Bank itself is nicely done and comfortable with a good mix of period and modern in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Wotif
Staff were excellent and very attentive to our needs
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by DEBORAH from Sydney, Australia

Experiencing olde worlde Wingham

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
We booked and stayed for threee nights in the Maitland Cottege, but were offered the choice of the other rooms, which all looked well presented. We went into the old bank building for breakfast, so had the best of both worlds. The building has been very well adapted for guest house use. The current owners, Leonie and John, are very friendly and accommodating, and have lots of new ideas. it is definitely worth a visit if you need to be in Wingham or environs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Relaxing

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Wotif
Needed to get out of Sydney to a quiet place. This place was perfect. Great court yard and really nice place. Breakfast was amazing. So coming back with a group of friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dee Why

Nice

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Wotif
Get one of the cottages out the back for the best stay. It was quiet and we could park the car close to the cottage so great if you got heaps of baby stuff. Breakfast was nice with the music and the care takers where really nice also.