Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chilled

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Everything was great except for the freezing cold shower the 2 nights we stayed there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I had a 3 night stay at this hotel. Im happy that there was 2 places to eat as I didnt have a vehicle and didnt see alot around for shopping or going out. My check in and check out was nice, staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean modern hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel was very up to date and very clean. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. However I would recommend leaving the hotel to eat at different restaurants as we didn't get the best service at the ones attached to the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Carpet stained and dirty in room. Linens and pillows were not up to standard. My room was a freezing 16 degrees and I mentioned this to the front desk and housekeeping staff who would just say sorry. My meal at chop was disappointing. They do not deliver room service so I had to walk to the lounge in my pj's to pick up my food after a long day of travel and take it back to my cold room. Not impressed. Would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
front desk employee was overheard making rude comments about one of the hotel guests as they walked by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
I had a wonderful stay at the Sandman! It was clean, comfortable and very welcoming. The staff were very helpful & cheerful. I don't usually write reviews but I think this hotel deserves positive feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Hotel was understaffed at the front desk.One guy who was doing a great job. The attached Denny's needs signage from the hotel entrance. We came in and sat down and were asked to leave as "others were waiting in line ahead of us".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissatisfied, many problems

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The first impression was great but the sleep was unacceptably bad. The incident mentioned below also never happened to us ever at any other hotel! 1) we had normal heat on and by about 3am we woke up because the room got too congested and unbreathable. We tried opening the window, but it wouldn't open. 2) after calling for help, getting appropriately dressed so that a staff can come into our room at 3am to open a window, which even he could not get opened, so the only way we could have air was to turn on the a/c to get air. A/c in Winnipeg in winter is crazy stupid! 3) we had to manually switch between heat and a/c all night so that we could get enough air but not freeze to death. The only other choice would be to keep the hotel door open all night, but who would want to do that? 3) the blanket was way too rough and heavy, we couldn't use it. The bed and pillow and bathroom towels were not good hotel grade, did not offer good basic comfort. 4) the swimming pool is location in a very inconvenient closed off area where you have to walk a mini-maze in your swimsuit to get to the changing room then to the pool. We heard many people complaining of the maze saying the same thing we were all thinking. 5) we dine in at the chop restaurant. We ordered food and the server was not very good until we began ordering drinks (and the bill started totaling to something significant). The food and drinks were good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel just until power outage

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very nice hotel. Just after long drive wanted to relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

It's okay

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The hotel was clean as well as the room, the facilities are enjoyable, but the the hotel should have a mini refrigerator in every room no matter the what and that was the only down side of staying with Sandman, so sandman get those mini refrigerators in every room, people need to store perishables (fruit, vegetables, & dairy products) for early morning snacks. regards concerned customer