Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Perfect combination of classic and modern decor. Great location and had everything I needed. Pool was great! Only downside was that the walls were thin, I could hear my neighbours on the phone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Son's 18th birthday

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location, history, décor, staff
Cons: Just perfect
Location: We were able to walk to the Keg for dinner and enjoy a lovely breakfast right in the hotel.
Very helpful staff and everyone was very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Beautiful, comfortable, and unique.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The hotel is a historic landmark. Each room is unique, immaculate, and comfortable. The beds are the best I've ever slept on. The hotel is unbelievably quiet. We have stayed here a few times now and have never been disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from moorhead, mn

Great historic hotel, well located

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Booked online, check in went smoothly. Room was clean and inviting. Nice pillows and linens. We had a drink and dessert in the bar area one evening. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winninpeg manitoba.canada

Very cold

Posted Nov 26, 2016
No heat in one rm..moved me to anothr..lil heat..no fan to blow it around tbe rm..sleept with cloths on to keep warm..this was oct24/2016..temperture outside was only minus3 celcius..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Saga of the uncomfortable Bed

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Wedding anniversary experience dampened by a fully booked hotel and an extremely uncomfortable bed...sunk into the thing like it was quick sand. Went to front desk and got a smile and shoulder shrug for my complaint. No offer to move to another room made. Didn't find out until the next afternoon that hotel was "fully booked" with no option to move. Still got charged for the room despite being there less than 12 hours. Had no choice but to check out at 3am and head home because the bed was that unsleepable. Overall a nice hotel but the front desk staff could use some communication and personality skills, instead of quoting hotel rules and limitations like a robot. Expedia did what they could but the hotel refused to refund. Won't be going there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ont.

Beautiful old hotel close to the city centre

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Our experience was positive as usual. Absolutely our favourite hotel in Winnipeg. The Fort Garry is elegant and beautiful in the way that hotels of its vintage are elegant and beautiful. So many lovely touches in its exterior and interior design. The foyer and dining rooms are especially striking. The food on offer was very good. Our room was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, bad & ugly

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Good: Location is very good. It is near downtown Winnipeg, a stone's throw from the train station and Human Rights Museum etc. It is a heritage building and a lot of the past architecture including high ceiling, beautiful brass railings, mouldings, wide hallways etc etc is still preserved despite very extensive renovations. Bad: Since it is in the middle of the city, it is in the middle of a concrete forest. There is no scenic view from any hotel room. The room size is average but there is no in-room safe, fridge or coffee machine. There are no drawers or shelves for storage. Very primitive room. Walls are thin and not sound proofed. Ugly: There is no ramp at the front of the hotel for the handicapped. You have to climb 12 concrete steps to get to the lobby. Do they feel sorry for the elderly and the handicapped? There is a ramp at the back of the hotel but for first time travellers, who would think of such an inconsiderate set up? Who is going to help me with my luggage at the back of the hotel? There is no "business centre" for the travellers on business. However, there are two lap tops available for printing boarding passes. These two lap tops are placed on a small, four foot counter around the corner from the check-in counter. That corner is poorly lit and is therefore very dim. For the traveller who is vertically challenged and visually impaired, it is almost impossible to print his boarding passes. That is unacceptable to a hotel that is supposed to provide superb s
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Its proximity to many places around downtown!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Its old time charm and friendly staff.
Cons: Leave a tea or coffee maker in the room. A free bottle of water would be appreciated instead of being accosted with a price!
Location: Near shops and sights - just great to be downtown!
The hotel was perfect for our short stay. The breakfast, though, pricey, was excellent. Service was impeccable. I did not think guests should be forced to pay for parking, esp. for a short stay. The swimming pool was way too far from hotel room; but, nonetheless, great to have in this grand establishment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

One night stay at the Fort Garry

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff at the Hotel are some of the best that I have ever encountered. In all aspects, from the greeting at the parking valet to the morning cafe, we were very impressed with the service.
Cons: Nothing. It is an old hotel, so it has the oddities that you would expect. But, overall it was very clean and highly functional.
Location: In the heart of the Forks district in Winnipeg, there is no shortage of fun things to do and see.