Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very friendly staff. No issues at all. Loved the room we were in, right close to anything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An occasion hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I stayed at the Fort Garry for 2 nights as I was attending a wedding there. Rooms are sparse, lack sound proofing, bathroom was dated. The mattress was extremely comfortable and I was offered my choice btwn memory foam and feather bed upon check in. Morning tea/coffee service to the room is complimentary and quick. The breakfast restaurant is slow and not large enough to turn out orders quickly. We waited in line for 30 mins at 9:15am for eggs. Staff were friendly, my room was dusty due to the heating system- not the cleaning staff. Spa was closed for 2 day maintenance (over a weekend) during my stay so that was disappointing. It wasn't a bad stay, the ballrooms were lovely, hallways and standard rooms lack charm, connecting doors (while locked) let light and noise in from other rooms and the heater is loud and dried the room out. I'd book again if I was in another wedding there for the convienence but otherwise did not see the value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

I would stay again.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It was quiet and enjoyable. It would be nice to not have to pay for parking. It also would have been nice to have a fridge in the room... for close to $200 a night, I think parking and at least a fridge be included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some downfalls

Posted Dec 31, 2016
It was alright, there was some downfalls about the room, service was nice, comfortable bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Great old hotel updated with modern conveniences We would stay here again. Good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic by frayed.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Ambiance of building. Room service for breakfast was excellent. Business center limited - but staff were accommodating.
Cons: Renovation
Location: Too far from anything on -27 below day to go out.
Everything 5 star, except the room itself. Classic does not have to mean old. Found it very strange in a 4-5 star hotel that there were not bathroom amenities. I was travelling light and assumed I would have soap in the room - all that was available was shower gel - bracketed to the shower wall. Needless to say - there was not much else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenora, Ontario

A Grand Old Lady

Posted Dec 17, 2016
We usually stay at this hotel when we're coming into Winnipeg for appointments. Considering how 'classy' it is, this hotel is often reasonably priced. Besides being such a grand old lady, this hotel is well maintained for her age. We especially appreciate the valet parking because we know our vehicle will be safe (and warm) in this downtown location. We really enjoy eating in the Palm Room with its historic decor, impeccable service and great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swan River, Mb

The best beds!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
We had heard about the FGH being outstanding! It was good for a one night stop over. The room was small and the floor was dusty. I was a little disappointed. The rates are high so I expected more. All extras need to be paid for. We have now had the experience and no need to ever go back there. The beds are fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Food - delicious, exquisite. Room - memory foam bed, space, cleanliness - fabulous! Best staff and gym in any hotel I have ever stayed at ...
Cons: Prices? Any chance they can be reduced?
Location: The forks. In the winter you really need a car, or a cab (always available out front).
You will probably not experience anything better in Winnipeg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Energy

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I love staying at this hotel. The spa is quality, and the decor at Christmas time bring about a beautiful energy. If you don't appreciate an old building you likely won't appreciate this hotel however if you do this is your place! Don't forget to takenin Sunday brunch. An experience worth having even if you aren't staying at this hotel. A true heavenly piece of Winnipeg. The service is great as well. Plenty of extras available to make the experience unique to your needs.