Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park, AB

Great old character hotel in the heart of Winnipeg

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The beds, the ambiance, the service.
Cons: The hotel is a bit dated and worn out, but it didn't affect our stay at all!
Location: I included that above!
Loved staying here, the beds were super comfy, the rooms were roomy and warm (it was winter), the staff was super pleasant and helpful. Loved that you could order a complimentary pot of tea throughout the day. Restaurant staff VERY pleasant and service oriented. The location was excellent, an easy walk to The Forks, The Museum, and most of the downtown businesses. Check out Saint Boniface just over the bridge!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph ON

Historical gem

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location, architecture , ambience,safety, breakfast in hotel- staff is friendly and helpful Speedy elevators
Cons: Lack of dresser in room- we had to ask for a dresser - also delivery of newspaper and coffee were missed some days -
Location: Human Rights Museum Forks Downtown - St Boniface
Great hotel with historical ambience - had breakfast buffet there each day - excellent food and service - toast is made fresh for each order - not clear about lunch and dinner - weddings on weekend - movie shoot one day Not clear also state of upgrades for rooms - finished? in progress?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was delicious. I also appreciated how quiet it was at night.
Cons: Had a difficult time finding somewhere to buy a few items (hairbrush and mousse) I had forgotten - wasn't sure if there was a small store on site.
Location: Close to the museum and the river front (The Forks).
The room was comfortable and elegant. It was easy to relax there and I looked forward to being in the room. I was there to attend a wedding (held at this hotel) - the food was excellent and the staff at the reception were very professional - to the point that you did not realize they were there - not an easy thing to accomplish!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, historic hotel close to downtown

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Beautiful, historic hotel. Very clean and renovated rooms. Big comfortable king bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Love the piano bar! Don't miss out on shrimp dumplings or mushroom quesadilla!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The charm and character of the architecture and décor of hotel. The Oval room is spectacular and provides great jazz entertainment every night.
Cons: The rooms could have a little more amenities, e.g. small fridge, corkscrew, wine glasses.
Location: The Forks, The Zoo, shopping, touring of St-Boniface.
I was there for one night to visit family. I was able to check in early and my room was ready. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable and clean, while maintaining the characteristics of the historic hotel. The bed is ULTRA comfortable with exquisite linens. The walk-in closet is large and equipped with a comfy clean robe (there should have been two robes as I booked for two people) and two suitcase racks (usually only one is available anywhere I have stayed) and there is lots of space in the room to place these racks out of the way. The blackout curtains are very effective and the room temperature control was easy to set and change if needed. The brunch cost is reduced to a very reasonable price when you are a guest at the hotel (at least that was the case with the fare I had booked) .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Cons: Fridges in the rooms.
Really nice hotel, staff were great. A little pricey, rooms don't have many standard features, like a small fridge. Other than that, I'd recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

beautiful building and lobby design

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: location, design, comfort
Cons: parking, food, bathrooms
Location: very little to do. Winnipeg is not a tourist city. especially in autumn and winter.
i had a comfortable stay. weather was cold and did not allow for one to walk outside. but hotel was pleasant enough to entertain one for two days. in total i had a good time in the hotel. i could go out for dinner in an italian place, however, the quality of food with respect to price charged was not good. hotel food was much better, but not exceptional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Three Sisters' get together

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The ornate lobby, architecture, marbel, glass, etc
Cons: For three people, it was a very small room!
Location: Enjoyed walking to The Forks, Human Rights Museum, Broadway Avenue.
took in the spa and pool at the hotel, and also enjoyed the Piano Bar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel in Winnipeg with a lot of history.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Decant hotel for the age. Lots of extras at hotel if you like that sort of stuff with a cool spa on tenth floor. Really good location for downtown Winnipeg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Loved the Fort garry hotel. Every one was pleasant and the room was tidy. If you open the bottled water that is provided in the room it does cost you $ 6.00