Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Three Sisters' get together

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The ornate lobby, architecture, marbel, glass, etc
Cons: For three people, it was a very small room!
Location: Enjoyed walking to The Forks, Human Rights Museum, Broadway Avenue.
took in the spa and pool at the hotel, and also enjoyed the Piano Bar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel in Winnipeg with a lot of history.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Decant hotel for the age. Lots of extras at hotel if you like that sort of stuff with a cool spa on tenth floor. Really good location for downtown Winnipeg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Loved the Fort garry hotel. Every one was pleasant and the room was tidy. If you open the bottled water that is provided in the room it does cost you $ 6.00
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Room seriously needs some investment

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Great location, super breakfast, beautiful architecture.
Cons: Once past the lobby, the hallways and bedrooms need an investment. The room felt distinctly mediocre.
Location: Very close to downtown, walkable to the Exchange district and the Forks.
This is a beautiful building with a lot of potential. However, once you're past the magnificent lobby, it's a serious let down. Our hallway (2nd floor) was barren and painted flat white, with not a single picture hanging and the room was similar. Despite high ceilings and the potential to be a truly "old world" 5-star experience, the threadbare carpet and barebones mismatched furniture made the room a disappointment. This room looked nothing like the room pictured on the hotel's website. Plain white walls, cheap closet doors, and absolutely no colour made the room feel almost institutional. I remember staying here some years ago and the hotel claimed they were undergoing a major renovation - well it's either still ongoing or they have renovated with the tightest of budgets. It's a pity because I really want to love this hotel given it's history, architecture and location, but the owners need to make a serious investment in the guest rooms to take this hotel to the level it deserves.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Time

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This is a hotel of a certain era. The service is terrific. I have stayed there several times and will continue to do so.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Good location, nice feel
I like an established hotel like this; a bit of grand history.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanliness

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Discusting behind bathroom door ! Never been washed down
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Lake Park, MN

History and Location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Relatives
Cons: Not much
Location: Excellent.. went to the Forks and nearby sites
The Garry is located in the heart of the City. Walkable to many places of interest. Staff and building fantastic. Excellent condition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Enjoy old fashioned luxury.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The turn of the century architectural details and very courtesous staff. I loved the way that the staff were quietly attentive but never pushy.
Cons: The tile in the bathroom is ready for an update or at least regrouting.
Location: Near the Forks and down town Winnipeg with access to Main Street and St Mary's.
I lived near the hotel years ago and always wondered about it. On a recent trip back to Winnipeg I deceided to check it out. It was a marvelous experience. The architectural details of the original building have been largely preserved and its like stepping back into the essence of turn of the century finery. But overlaid on the traditional decor are layers of luxury of the most modern kind: feather pillows and duvets, mattresses and linens, best quality bath products and superb room service. The rooms are quiet and private and so are the other hotel guests. There was something envigorating about walking to the car each day through the elaborate lobby and hearing the music from the lounge on the way back in each evening. The complimentary room service tea/coffee and ice delivery on silver tea service was a wonderful touch each morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Great location and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel.