Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Beautiful, old, Canadian treasure

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Excellent and very helpful staff, allowed us to check into our room earlier than normal. Complimentary hot coffee delivered to my to my room every morning. Shower was perfect, room was clean and so comfortable. I slept amazingly well here - am a light sleeper, so this was a bit of a miracle. Easy access on foot to everything you want to see in downtown Winnipeg. 10 min walk to The Forks with a shortcut through Union Station. 10 min in opposite direction to the Legislature - a must see and must do tour on Wednesday evenings with Hermetic Code expert, Dr. Albo. Wonderful Grande Dame of a hotel - I will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Great hotel close to the folks Excellent room very comfortable bed Very pleasant staff Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern Alberta

Comfort and value

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Staff. Cleanliness. Comfort.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We enjoyed going downtown and to the forks.
We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The room was grand and super comfortable. Staff were very accommodating. Definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Pleasant stay in a good hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
This hotel is very well located for new visitors to Winnipeg. Staff were helpful with directions and suggestions of places to visit. We were also accommodated with an early checkin. We appreciated being placed in a quiet corner room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Historic hotel near downtown.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful including assisting us to get a quicker elevator and translating some French phrases.
Cons: No improvements are needed.
Location: The Ft. Garry is within walking distance of the historic train station, The Forks, and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights plus downtown Winnipeg.
The Ft. Garry hotel was built in the early 1900s for early train traffic and it has undergone many renovations, but yet it still maintains a glorious feel from the past. Our room was top notch and we liked the free morning coffee, biscuit, and newspaper delivered at our requested time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Great location right downtown. Very comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, bed, cab stand
Cons: The food was good, but very high priced
Location: walked to restaurants
Great location, nice comfortable room. The bed was incredible! Stayed two nights and it was awesome! Great staff, very helpful and attentive. The building is old and has a lot of old world charm without being rundown. Everything had been updated. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Grand old hotel beautifully restored with modern conveniences.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Visit to the legislature

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Enjoyed our time in Winnipeg and our stay at the Fort Garry! Our purpose was to visit and view the architecture of the legislature and the Fort Garry along with a visit to The Forks and the Human Rights Museum. All of which were available by foot from the Fort Garry on a beautiful sunny day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Old hotel needs lots of renovation. no tv stand or moving old furniture old washroom. Bad smell into rooms. Staff is okay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, architecture was beautiful.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Like the old feel and architecture, lots of natural light.
Location: Close to forks, Burton Cumming Theater and the Exchange District.
Great room service, clean rooms, friendly staff. Walking distance to several amenities. Comfortable bed with crisp clean sheets, loved the faux fur throw blanket.