Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Fix the wifi. Get some hot water. Properly clean the linens.
Wifi not working in room (was told to come down to the lobby since it had better connection). No hot water. I should have complained but I was there for 1 night and didn't have the time to sit around and wait for hot water to kick in. Towels had pieces of long hair (not mine, I have short hair). Disgusting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Very close to downtown

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive and location
Cons: Updated lobby
Very close to downtown and MTS Centre. Room was clean and had a decent view, hotel wasn't as bad as many people have mentioned. Lobby had a security guard, and had free breakfast. Good for an inexpensive option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They took care of us!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: It was within walking distance of the Burton Cummings Theater. The hotel had excellent pillows! There was a doorman...that's a first for me!
Cons: There was a glitch in the computer system so they lost my reservation.
Location: There is secure parking across the street. It is within walking distance to a convenience store and to the Burton Cummings Theater.
I pulled up a map of Winnipeg and got the location of the theater. Then I searched for a nearby hotel. There it was. And it was close! I made a reservation. On the day I left for Winnipeg I plotted the map and it was a straight shot into town to the hotel. They had lost my reservation. They had an opening, which was great. The hotel was like aged elegance at its finest. We ventured to the pool, our key didn't work. Security took care of that. We ate at the restaurant on the main floor, the food was very good. In our room, the TV wasn't responding to the remote but we finally figured it out. We ordered in late night pizza and watched TV after the Celtic Thunder show at the Burton Cummings theater. We left the next morning all rested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Once a Grand hotel...now a Grand dive

Posted Dec 2, 2016
I heard there was no heat in the rooms...found out it was true. Staff more attentive to each other rather than guests. Old building in MAJOR need of refurbishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wi-Fi was terrible... My phone couldn't connect to any of the Wi-Fi connections they had available. Also, the room was a non-smoking room but it smelled like someone smoked an entire pack before we got to stay the night there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Overall rowdy and scary crowd that stays here. Ice machines did not work on any of the 3 floors. Hot tub was so hot you could not put more than your feet in. Phone in our room didn't work. Holes in the towels. i was traveling on a budget and next time I will pay more for quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap price you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay bad parking good location cheap price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

would not use this hotel again

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: New carpets and a coat of paint and modernised
Location: Human rights museum, police museum, zoo and the mint.
spent four days visiting Winnipeg a very nice city but will use a different hotel on my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely experience, very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very convenient location, extremely friendly staff. We asked for water at the front desk and the receptionist walked out of her desk and brought water for 5 of us. Really appreciated. The breakfast and servers were awesome. We were extremely happy. Strongly Recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great property.

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are very old and well overdue for a refurb. Some plumbing issues. Although I booked a non smoking room, the only room available was a smoking room. Local area seems dodgey, a couple of calls for an ambulance to the hotel the night I was there. I wouldn't stay there again unless I was desperate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property, and I am certainly disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. We strive to ensure all guests needs are taken care of and I know we missed the mark on your visit. We will correct some of the issues you encountered to make sure it doesn't happen again.