Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Downtown very convenient for conferences.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet.
Cons: Update website and explain parking fees.
Great hotel excellent breakfast buffet nice indoor pool and spa. Clean rooms and great handicap access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrboro, NC

Great hotel for family but even better staff.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: The best from the hotel was definitely the staff.
Cons: They can improve the A/C-heat units in the rooms. Too noisy during night time. Maybe they are a little bit old.
Location: Right in the middle of downtown surrounded by good restaurants and close to everything.
The hotel is great and in a perfect location. Rooms were clean, with a lot of room and the hotel offered great breakfast and a reception every night with two complimentary drinks per person. Indoor swimming pool was a plus for the kids. We had a problem the second night because there was a group of young people celebrating something and they had a big party. Noisy night, but the staff did their best to solve it (even though is was really difficult) and they did not charge us for that second night when we check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room and friendly staff

Posted Dec 7, 2015
My only quibble would be that the hotel need a bit of an update. Certainly was very good value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute, IN

I feel like we got scammed - stay away

Posted Oct 30, 2015
We booked a night at this hotel through Expedia on August 8th, 2015-- I was looking for a quick overnight place to stay on the way back from vacation with my wife and a minivan full of kids between the ages of 1 and 10. Upon arriving in Winston-Salem around midnight, we found out there was a huge festival that had shut down access to many of the downtown streets-- we couldn't access the hotel, and when I told a police officer we had reservations that night he just laughed at me and suggested I circle the block and try a different route to get to a place where I could walk to the hotel, which I did, only to find more road closures, detours, etc.. I finally found a place to park several blocks away and tried contacting the hotel via their direct number, as well as the Embassy Suites corporate line, with no success-- the hotel wasn't answering their phones. After 45 minutes we booked a new hotel and headed down the road. I tried calling Embassy Suites until 2am to explain the situation and hopefully have them cancel my room. Of course, no success. They were good at one thing, however: Declaring me a no-show. I disputed the charge, but since it went through Expedia, and Expedia will only confirm with the hotel that I was a no-show, I'm stuck paying for a room at a hotel that was impossible to reach. I feel like this hotel stole my money, and a night of sleep from my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Farmers who got away

In town for Conference

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Orbitz
got upgraded to the premium floor, to a huge suite--nice! great room, great location, walking distance to plenty to eat, see and do. ONLY NEGATIVE: BED WAS HORRIBLE!!! King sized that had housed a large person directly in the middle for many years, so that when two people attempted to lay on their respective sides, they rolled straight to the center, where they thrashed about in an effort to climb out of the crater. WOW... when we got an upgrade to a top-floor suite, I assumed the bed would match the room quality and other amenities, but not hardly. Otherwise, no complaints, really!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from NE North Carolina

Nice hotel in downtown W-S

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay in downtown Winston-Salem. Lots of wonderful restaurants nearby to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Expectations not met.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Location: Great location with many great restaurants within walking distance.
Check in was slower than expected due to Front Desk employee handling a personal call on their mobile phone. I had to return to the front desk 3 times to get room keys that would unlock the door to my room. Other than that everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hillsborough, NC

Excellent location and the hotel itself is beautif

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bedroom door in room 412 won't close
Location: Excellent and proximate to many venues.
Great room, front desk personnel very attentive and helpful, breakfast to die for, location central to so many venues, parking right there with no hassle -- excellent place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by W Spencer from Kingstree, SC

best convention center stay

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice. Would recommend again. Bartender was extremely nice guy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Henry from Statesville, NC

craddock

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
everything I could have imagined