Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
One of the best hotels iv been in, and for the price it's not bad at all. Would recommend to anyone coming to Winston you will really enjoy it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not user friendly

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This hotel is built into a hill. Registration is in the front on the second floor. Luggage load and unload is on the first floor in the back of building. There is NO PLACE TO PARK CLOSE BY WITHOUT A HANDICAP TAG! You will struggle with luggage cart rolling downhill as you try to load it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great night's stay

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Very clean, friendly staff, nice room, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Augusta, SC

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The Hawthorne was a very nice hotel and convenient to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport, NC

Nice older hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel several times. This is the first time we have had a problem with the room being "stocked". Had to go to front desk for towels. No shampoo or conditioner. Only 1 coffee cup.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Average hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Outside of hotel looks old but rooms are nice along with updated. The breakfast buffet was not good. Burnt sausage, not done potatoes, fruit hard however the lunch and dinner were excellent
4 out of 5
by Suzanne

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Just traveling for the holidays
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Miss Debra was amazing

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Staff courteous, uses names, front desk informative
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for downtown and hospital stays.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is apparently run by the local hospital, so it is kept if fairly good condition. The rooms are not much on luxury, but they are roomy and well kept. The décor is dated, but everything still works fine. The only major quirk is that luggage carts cannot come in through the front due to a stairwell that leads to the elevators at the back of the hotel. You need to park around back, then walk through to the front desk to check in, and then back to the elevators. Other than that, my stay was fine, and I would stay here again. There is a Publix supermarket nearby, and a small dorm fridge and microwave is provided in the room.