Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great location with pool and free parking!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location, reasonable price and good amenities.
Cons: With all the one-way streets plus construction, this could be hard to find. My GPS got me there, but it is way easier to WALK there with map!
Location: Old Salem, good restaurants on 4th
I was attending a meeting a Marriott on Cherry St about half a mile away and missed the group rate. Good thing! Hawthorne was less expensive for a comparable (or better) room, and there was no exorbitant parking fee! Unloading was a breeze - several baggage carts available at entrance right at elevator. Wifi pw supplied at checkin. Breakfast was a hot buffet offering a good range of options. I did n't have time to use the pool, much to my regret, but it is tucked attractively in courtyard surrounded by rest of hotel. Next time! This is within (my) walking distance of downtown and Old Salem. There is a cafe but didn't have opportunity to check it out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Could be considered basic but great location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I booked a block of rooms for my wedding. Great rate for the group. Over the weekend I stayed in a king room and the "jacuzzi suite" which they said was their best room. Comfy beds, safes in all rooms, nice pool, mediocre but filling complimentary breakfast and a helpful staff. Definitely recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Rude service & dangerous check in

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The only nice thing I can say about this place is that the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything from the desk clerk to the cleaning service...too numerous things to name !
Location: It was right down town and we were there for a conference. Several of the other convention people stayed there also and we all had similar experiences
We arrived after p m and the attendant was rude and confrontational. She asked for a credit card and I told her I had prepaid thru Expedia and she informed me " no you have not and even if you have I still need a credit card." When she discovered I had actually prepaid , not so much as an apology. Just barked instructions about me having to drive to the back of the building through the construction work to get to the entrance where we could enter and unload our luggage and enter our room. The back of the building was dimly lit and hard to access. Being a senior with a disabled husband I found this to be very disturbing, scary and quite dangerous. There was only 2 handicapped parking spaces there so I had to help my husband inside and travel to another side of the building to park and walk in partial darkness to the back entrance to join my husband. By this time I was crying and totally unnerved. We proceeded to the room to only find No wash clothes no bathroom paper and the room was like a sauna with an air conditioner that sounded like a lawn mower in the room. It was sheer hell and I promise you I will never go back. I filled out a survey card and just dropped it in the mail today with this same information.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very comfortable, clean and relaxing hotel. Great location and super fast elevators!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms
Cons: Our key card to working 3 times and we had to get new cards
Location: Great location, easy to get to shopping , food and night life
Nice hotel, very clean, friendly staff; This hotel is close to shopping, food, and nightlife.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Old Salem. It is within walking distance.
Cons: No
Location: Easy access off the interstate. It is also convenient to downtown Winston-Salem.
I had a great check in experience. The hotel while somewhat dated on the exterior and interior, was a bargain. It is close to Old Salem and my room was updated and comfortable. I would gladly stay there again. Breakfast was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Close to Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

Posted Aug 8, 2016
If you need to be in town to visit a patient in Baptist, this hotel offers a special price for visitors of hospital patients. Do not book through Expedia. Book directly through the hotel. The hotel is clean and updated and completely smoke free. Best part is the free shuttle to and from the hospital, day or night. Complimentary hot and cold breakfast is included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High Steep View

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Larger Firmed Pillows. Put in two set of towels instead of one. Additional light sockets (in the lamp fixtures) to plug in electronic devices.
Location: Do not get a chance to do anything near the hotel.
Enter in the back of the hotel to bring in suitcases.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Great downtown location.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location,location,location. Plenty parking places. Nice amenities, great price.
Cons: Soap in room. No suds.
Location: Located centrally. Much to do within blocks. Old Salem just a couple of miles away.
Nice hotel. Nice amenities. Fantastic location. Enough said. What more could you want.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Good location, very clean, great bed & pillows. Breakfast included. Great price