Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Problem with Expedia & hotel communication re. the reservation but hotel manager sorted it out. Rooms fine, relatively clean with a little mildew in tub caulk, comfy beds, no closer to speak of, good breakfast -- lobby sun room was leaking (but it was Hurricane Matthew rain). Convenient to Wake Forest shopping, and hospital complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Was really impressed by front desk staff, a young woman whose name I failed to get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

It was a good stay

Posted Apr 9, 2016
We stayed one night at this hotel. It was clean, quit and easy access to Wake Forest University. Just little bit expensive. The bed was full size not queen size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The hotel was in a great location with a lot of stores and restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill, SC

Nice hotel close to downtown Winston Salem.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
We try to use Holiday Inn Express hotels almost exclusively due to the consistent excellence of facilities, service and cleanliness. The Holiday Inn Express Winston Salem Downtown West was no exception. It was close to our convention center destination and to the historic areas of this city. The service staff were quite congenial, helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Convenient and Nice

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was free.
Cons: The breakfast was good, but not everything was working or available. I don't know what can be done about that, but it was disappointing.
This hotel was very convenient for me to get to Wake Forest University. I've stayed here many times and it is always clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
It was run down and smelled like mold. I Paid an extraordinary a,punt of money to stay in this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015
There was mildew in the shower and the room smelled a little funny. They initially tried to put me in a room that had been painted that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
It's a well done place that feels very comfortable. Really close to downtown which is a big plus if your in town for more fun than business. I was there for a conference at Wake Forest and it was pretty close to everywhere i needed to go. The staff is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We stayed here for one night after having a terrible experience at another hotel Friday night. The hotel staff was nice. The hotel is old but has been updated and the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The pool towels are very small but the pool was clean and nice. I'd stay here again.