Ratings based on 1,172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Good water pressure and convenient location.
Cons: HVAC unit was loud.
Location: Centrally located, but didn't take advantage of any local attractions.
This was supposed to be an historic hotel, but felt more like an old hotel trying to leverage some type of historic landmark status. However, our room was very spacious and met our needs. Everything was just slightly better than an economy hotel. But, I wouldn't consider this an upscale hotel in any way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly hotel filled with character

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The location, character and the complimentary services such as the wine and cheese reception and late night milk and cookies.
Location: Walking distance to Old Salem.
We arrived late afternoon, just in time to enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese reception in the sitting area. The wine is there on label and very good. They offer beer and other refreshments, if you do not like wine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is full of character from brick walls to beamed ceilings. The lobby holiday decorations were lovely and festive. The morning breakfast had lots of delicious hot and cold offerings and the late evening milk and cookies in the sitting area was a nice touch. The hotel is also in walking distance to Old Salem where we spent most of our time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, historic lodging.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed everything during our stay.
Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Well preserved and nicely appointed cira early 1800's cotton mill in walking distance to Old Salem. Close proximity to several fine restaurants and downtown Winston-Salem. Wine and cheese welcome, milk and cookie night cap added a very nice touch to our stay. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. Check out time not until 12 noon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England UK

Very interesting

Posted Nov 17, 2016
We arrived after a long drive from Richmond VA to be greeted by a very pleasant desk staff. We checked into our room which was just off the corridor and what a surprise, the room was huge. we visited Winston Salem museum on the 2 days we were there. The receptionist gave us complimentary tickets for wine and cheese that evening, which were downstairs in the lobby. A very pleasant evening we had wine different cheeses grapes and crackers. Free parking, coffee making facilities fridge free wifi all what you need. Check out was easy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville NC

Convenient to Old Salem Village

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious, clean room. Convenient to Old Salem, downtown, and only a few minutes drive to Reynolda House Museum. Lovely historic building. Full delicious breakfast. Enjoyed the wine and cheese reception in the evening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Junior suite was nice. Full sitting area, and the half wall around the bed made it seem like two rooms. Also, the beds are very comfy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful concept, Amazing redesign, Disappointed

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I love when people repurpose old buildings! We stayed in the Junior Suite, and I appreciated the layout of the room. A spacious bathroom ALWAYS makes me smile. The separation of the bedroom with the feeling of a balcony was a great touch.
Cons: Creaking floors!!!!! I cannot repeat those two words enough. We were exhausted and wanted to take a short nap after checking in. Between people walking down the hall beside our room and people walking down the hall above us, the noise was excruciating! Maybe it was because people were not occupying the space, but the noise was unbearable. Also, the day of check-in, there was no television service and my Wi-Fi code did not work. The day we checked out, both worked. Seeing that I had planned to work the night of arrival, and the Wi-Fi code did not work, I was further behind.
Location: Very close to Old Salem. A half mile from down-town Winston-Salem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel...close to area universities

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Great hotel within area universities....very nice stay for my family while doing area college tours....when we stayed, which was a Sunday night, they had a wine and cheese tasting from 5-7....and then milk and cookies from 7-8 for younger kids...they made all ages feel welcome... If in area again, this is a definite "must stay at" hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: From desk staff were OK but not very forthcoming.
Great Hotel with generous rooms in the centre of Winston Salem. Excellent wine at the wind and cheese event and on the evening we went, a great jazz trio.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Room was quiet, bed was comfortable.
Cons: Cookies and milk were not very good. With all the bakeries around, they really could do better.
Had a first floor room and it was surprisingly quiet. Almost too quiet as the regular TV channels didn't work the entire stay so got a lot more work done that I expected! Breakfast was the same as most other hotels, guess other reviews had my expectations set higher. Staff was nice, didn't help at all with my TV though. Good restaurants within walking distance and overall a nice change from the chain hotels. Will stay again.