Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnstown, PA

Nice boutique hotel, a nice break from chain hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Unique, large rooms, comfortable beds. Love the freebie wine and cheese, and cookies and milk each evening. Good service and clean, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Posted May 11, 2017
Charming older hotel. Quirky, but a great change from the generic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

Great Downtown Location, Beautiful Historic Inn

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The historic building and room, customer care and friendly staff.
Cons: Better pillows, more help with site seeing advice & brochures
Location: Near Old Town & downtown.
This Inn is a Historic Beauty. We upgraded to a suite. The room was Huge! The bathroom had a large tub/shower combo, clean & well taken care of, bed was comfy, even had an almost fireplace (Imitation logs with a light-it was cute). The breakfast is decent, but only runs 7-9am on weekdays so we missed it the first day. The wine/beer reception nightly is good and they have milk & cookies before bed!😋 Their pillows are pretty firm, so if you're picky about your pillow, bring your own. We walked to Old Town and restaurants are very close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel close to Old Salem

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location and charm. Great staff.
Cons: Better signage at the street.
Location: Old Salem is about a 10 minute walk - no need for a car. There are number of restaurants nearby. Easy morning exit from Winston-Salem headed east.
I really enjoyed this hotel, BUT IT MAY NOT BE FOR people with severely limited mobility. The hotel is inside a converted cotton mill and has real character. Many of the rooms have step ups to enter and many of the floors are very uneven under the carpet as would be expected in a very old factory. Talk to the staff before reserving a room and make sure you will be able to move about. The room was huge as was the bathroom. The furnishing were comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful but one persons directions to Old Salem were confusing. They had a free drink or wine for Happy Hour and the bartender seemed to know everyone by name. It was obvious that many people staying there were repeat guests. A nice free breakfast was served but it was in a dining rooms down some stairs and I don't know if there is easier access. The picture for the front of the hotel shows an entrance that is off the street in the parking lot and I had to get out of my car and walk around a bit to find it. My map app got me to the correct place, but coming from the direction I came, it was not immediately obvious the parking lot was for the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice historic hotel with lots of character!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Everything about the hotel was really nice. Rooms were very clean, very roomy, and very comfortable. The only thing that I had a little bit of a hard time with was finding outlets to charge my phone and computer, but other than that it was a great stay! Breakfast, a happy hour, and a milk and cookies reception were all included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Nice location, good size room, and yummy breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Spacious room with two double beds. Carpet could use cleaning. Good breakfast in a nice setting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Both morning & evening front desk staff wasn't very friendly and didn't seem enthusiastic about having guests. Breakfast staff very friendly. My room was fine, but due to the hotel layout and the fact I was near the elevator there was a lot of hallway noise—more than most other places I've stayed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but couldn't sleep

Posted Mar 26, 2017
There was a busload of about fifty teenagers who were staying at the hotel and they were very poorly behaved. They kept us up til 2 am with their incredible noise up and down the hall. Our beds were literally shaking from the racket they were making. When I complained to the receptionist in the morning she was not friendly at all, and merely asked in a rather rude tone why I hadn't asked to be moved to a different room! But I didn't want to have to change rooms in the middle of the night! The big question is why they put us in a room that was in the middle of all that mayhem in the first place! When you have a horde of undisciplined teenagers in your hotel, you should isolate them on one floor. You shouldn't mix your regular guests in with that kind of rowdy crowd, and then act completely unapologetic when your guests complain about the inability to sleep. So it was a very nice hotel, but terribly managed in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Travels made easy

Posted Mar 25, 2017
A beautiful gem that is a oasis in a city. The art, history and restaurants keep you wanting more. A definite return visit is in order. Wished our stay was longer.