Ratings based on 1,274 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latrobe PA

Charming and unique

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The grounds/compound were impeccable, and every direction offered a picture-pretty setting.
Cons: There was one pipe high up in our room that looked dirty with some sort of stain underneath.
Location: We visited Wake Forest and the Reynolda House and grounds. There were a few good restaurants within walking distance.
Checked in at 3:00 on the nose and the room was ready. At first it seemed a little weird to have the staff member lead us outside and down some stairs to get to our room, but the charm and uniqueness of this inn quickly impressed us. The staff was so friendly throughout our stay. We had a two-level room that was both cozy and spacious. Parking was included, convenient, and plentiful. We redeemed our complimentary drink voucher at happy hour. We didn't do the cookies and milk this trip, though I always love places that have that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Great location - walking distance to downtown

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: It's quiet and has a lot of character. Not cookie cutter.
Location: We walked to 4th Street & Trade Street and all over the downtown area and shopped and ate. Perfect getaway weekend!
We loved our stay here and can't wait to go back. It exceeded our expectations and now we have a "go to" hotel for our future visits to Winston Salem. Everything was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Old and Beautiful!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I really enjoyed the large room! Breakfast was ok, the bacon was really thin and tasteless and the biscuits were in the warmer to long and became hard. Close to eats and downtown Winston-Salem. Lots of Historic places! Would love to go again (and maybe stay on the 4th floor where its haunted!!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Loved the history of the building! Great hotel! And loved that there was free parking. Most hotels in big cities make you pay to park!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Great historic hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Wonderful old building, beautifully restored. Beds were full size rather than the advertised queen size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jax Fl

Great stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
In Winston Salem to put my daughter in law school at Wake Forest Wonderful rustic wood beam room. Central location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel was very clean and spacious. We were doing college visits, and it was very close to Wake Forest University.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hsrrisonburg. VA

Nice quaint inn

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Very interesting inn. Staff was great especially bartender serving the free wine or beer & cheese the evening we got there. Breakfast was good as well as milk & cookies at night. Have already recommended it to several people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: We like the feel of home and the location.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated. Also, getting rid of the paper thin bacon at breakfast and have regular bacon.
Location: We went to a pizza place about ten blocks away that was very good. It had "mushroom" in the name.
This was our first stop for the night after flying into Raleigh. The place was quaint and comfortable and the staff was very nice. We walked downtown for dinner and enjoyed the old buildings and lightning bugs (we don't have them in CA)! The beds were comfortable and we had a good night. The bathrooms were clean, but a disappointment because they just didn't fit the look of the building. Milk and cookies was a nice treat in the parlor when we arrived and the breakfast in the morning was satisfying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near downtown

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: We loved the old brick building and the ambiance, the location was convenient.
Cons: None
Location: Downtown shopping and restaurants.
The hotel has a lot of style and character. It is beautifully done, happy hour with cheese and wine, good breakfast.