Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

disappointing experience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: Every single aspect of this hotel needs improvement
The pictures online were very deceiving. Everything about my stay was a nightmare, from the doors to get into the building what were supposed to require the scanning of your room key, but not one single door was locked. (I was staying alone, so I did not feel safe at all) The elevator was filthy all the way down to the cigarette butts on the floor. The hallway floors were filthy and had been sprinkled with carpet deodorizer that was there my entire stay, so the floors were never vacuumed. None of the treadmills in the "fitness center" worked. The furniture around the pool was old, falling apart and dangerous to sit on. There was no way to call the front desk from my room, no instructions on the phone how to call anywhere. There was one working ice machine in the entire building. I could go on...but I won't. Just do yourself a favor and don't EVER stay at this hotel, pay a little extra and stay at the Marriott across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California.

needs some major updates to the facility

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The facility is pretty run down & I need of some major updates. The staff was friendly & the room was clean - but overall kind of depressing. The tv in my room had major display issues the longer it was on. After 1 hour, you couldn't watch anymore. They are under new ownership- so hopefully they can make the needed changes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston,SC

Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
This was an unplanned trip on very short notice. I was able to book for three nights on my arrival date. My room was a little dated but very clean, a must when I travel. The room was down a long hallway, but I need the exercise. Breakfast was very good, bacon, eggs, cereal, etc. The staff was very helpful. I heard rumors of a renovation so I'm looking forward to staying here again. The only real negatives were a slow elevator and no ventilation (fan) in the bathroom. Other, a very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Fitzroy, Hotel Management
Dear Gail Thank you for posting your experience of your recent stay with us, we are delighted that there are several positives and items such as the elevator will be looked at during our renovations. Our guest are very important to us and we always try to make each stay memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy acogedor lugar

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Muy acogedor y esta ubicado en una zona de buen ambiente recreativo y comercial
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty Smelling Room

Posted Aug 22, 2016
My first room smelled so horrible I couldn't even stand in the room - smelled like cat urine and mold. I went to front desk and explained and they didn't seem at all surprised, said that happens when the carpets get cleaned and don't dry. The next room didn't smell as bad and I toughed it out. That being said I don't think the hallway carpets ever get cleaned. The rate was low but not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Fitzroy, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for leaving your experience on your recent stay, we are working very hard to ensure that all of guest has a memorable stay and we will use your experience as a learning tool and build on our overall service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri and iowa

What a surprise

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel staff was cute, nice, and very welcoming. Well groomed and professional as well speedy and helpful. The room was clean and in order thw bathrooms were clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. Wake up call was on time. No bed bugs...no stains....the housekeepers didnt harrass you 1 hour before checkout, they were nice and professional too. The spa downstairs is super cute and well priced they even do eyelashes. They have cookies and coffee alllll day at the front...decor was simple and cute. Parking was sooooo goood I will def stay again and recommend. This is not some posh hotel in downtown charlotte....this is a well priced hotel. Clean and comfortable. It is tooken care of and if they had just a little smalllll renovation it could very well be posh lol. But In all for 2 nights I got a stellar deal. Way to go Winston-Salem hotel and spa. The only thing I did not like....the pop machine dont take credit cards...I was super thirsty but too comfortable to leave to go to the store next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel I have ever been in

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The bed was terrible, and there was a huge hole in the wall. The furniture is extremely old. I was supposed to stay 10 days but after the first night I had to check out, just couldn't stand it anymore.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zebulon NC

very nice hotel and close to the university WFU

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Convenient, clean, and super great staff!
Cons: More flowers outdoor and fountain running water would be nice.
Location: Location was only 1 block away from WFU BB & T Stadium with restaurants close enough to walk.
The hotel clerk was very fast and most resourceful. She recommended and excellent restaurant only one block away. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, everything working properly, all the amenities were in the room, great WiFi connections, and coffee was always available, the continental breakfast was good and the waffle maker actually made a completely whole waffle. The night clerks went out of their way to make our late return to the room most enjoyable. The new management has done an excellent job on renovations and training of all staff to make their guest comfortable and safe and even the outdoor furniture and tables are located in ideal placement on the property! We had a party of six with 2 double rooms that the clerk arranged to be across the hall from each other. No one in our group had an complaints and we recommend it very highly to everyone including families with children! Cudos to new management!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Good value, but needs renovation

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Location: Very close to Wake Forest University, which is why we stayed there
The hotel needs some refreshing, and the breakfast room floor was under renovation. But good value for the price we paid
1 out of 5
by Cameron

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Was not great