Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hotel Renovation Not Complete

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the Wake Forest Stadium.
Cons: Staff needs to be trained to assign rooms for large groups and there should have been a list of rooms that are ready for occupancy.
We arrived with a large group, 24 rooms, late Friday night. The hotel was aware of our large group and had a rooming list prior to our stay and full payment for the rooms. When we arrived it took the staff 45 minutes to assign rooms. There was another large group coming in behind us that did not get checked in till 1:30 am. The staff did not know which rooms were available and which rooms are still in process of renovating. We had to change rooms for 5 of our rooms (some only had one bed in them instead of two, some did not have working toilets, showers incomplete or ac units), one room had to change 4 times before finding a room that was appropriate to stay in. Other rooms had to have maintenance fix showers and toilets as soon as we arrived. The hotel did set up an early breakfast for the group due to an early departure time. Due to the problems with check in our group got less than 5 hours of sleep. I think once the renovations are complete it will be a great place to stay. Another concern is the rating of the lounge area was 82.5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jamesville,nc

Near to my conference

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, peaceful.
Cons: Air in hallways could have been on.
Location: I explored only one day, but what I needed and wanted was nearby. Even Hanes mall 15 minutes if I wanted.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They were able to help me find my conference location from the hotel. Room was clean. It was peaceful. I slept well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Didn't leave us any 🚽 paper or any paper product at all in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NMB, SC

I will not be mean but I will be honest

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel is under construction, so much so, that I feel they should close their doors until the renovations are done. We were in a “renovated” room that had no decor, exposed wires, a whole in the wall near the tub (which may have been where all the bugs were entering our room), a 1 inch gap around the door ( which may have been where all the mosquitos, that kept us up half the night, were coming in) and the bedding was minimal and lack luster. their was a piece of paint tab with a number scribbled on it to mark the room and a loud machine in the hallway (purpose unknown). On the hike to our room we passed doors that were open to rooms that were torn apart and no one was there working and they were unsightly. We booked through Expedia and told her front desk clerk at check in and check out and she still managed to charge our Visa they had to hold for “incidentals” for the room charge and it took a week for them to rectify and return the Payment. I called and spoke to three different people there to share my disappointment with the stay, one was the manager, and they said they would also have Expedia do a refund and Expedia sent me multiple emails with a case number and phone number to call for the refund and when I did call the played, transfer me from department to department until I got a supervisor (Abraham) who reassured me he would take care of this and he did not know what the case number was Expedia had given me but it was not from them even though I had proof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Kendal was welcoming and friendly. She is an asset to the company. She was jovial, and informative.. All of the Staff in the Hotel acknowledge you in the hallways and said hello. Hotel is going through major Renovations which are needed.. We were in a recently remodeled room which was done nicely but still needed some finishing touches. Breakfast was nice choice for included in hotel price. Convenient to downtown. Outdoor pool area nice. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Traveling Worker

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The hotel itself and the staff was really nice, I enjoyed my stay for the most part, my only complaint is the hotel was under construction due to renovation I feel like that's information that should have been given to me up front. The room itself with newly renovated quiet and comfortable till the last day, struction workers drills got a bit loud. There are a few good restaurant nearby within walking distance. Convenient location and everything you need nearby. #tablife
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

Needs Sensible Renovation Process

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The price is good and the breakfast is decent.
Cons: Plan renovations projects so that the guest experience is minimally impacted. Complete projects that improve the visual appearance of the hotel.
This hotel has a lot of character and style but the renovations is being done poorly. The lack of craftsmanship in many of the renovations is very disappointing (i.e. paint job in the elevator poorly done). Guests must walk-thru areas under renovation to get to their room. Some projects are half finished while others are just starting. you can see the progress being made but it appears the projects were not planned so that it would create minimal distractions for guests (i.e. least amount of visual signs of on-going renovations).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seneca, South Carolina

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel doesn't match on online pics. It appears that they are remodeling and that is ok. The staff was great all very nice. The breakfast bar was pretty good. For some reason if you cut the tv off it has to be setup again, but other than than a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a cleaning & renovation

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is undergoing a renovation. It is needed. The exterior entrance is damaged. The building's interior could use a thorough cleaning - this was not due to renovations, just dirty. We were given an updated room, but it was not finished! We had to be moved to another (updated) room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you want to not get much sleep, this is the pla

Posted Jul 16, 2017
From check in to check out I didn't feel safe or comfortable. The staff was minimally helpful. The dump was being renovated and was a mess. Never stay there again.