Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under renovation but comfortable and economical

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Like the location. Desk staff are terrific. Our bath was quite small, but... so be it. Should be an excellent place when renovations are finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by F. Grizzle, Hotel Management
Dear Jim Thank you so much for taking time to place your experience while you were at our hotel, we take pride in our hotel and we cant wait also for renovations to be completed. We hope you will rejoin in such time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

under renovation

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: honestly I can't say as I feel it should not have been open for business while under construction
Cons: I think at one time it was very impressive, it appears it's seen it's days, we'll all just have to wait and see when the extensive renovation is done
Location: the area was fine, typical of an off the beaten path hotel
Was shocked when I arrived for check in, the hotel was under renovation, yes it happens sometime, here and there, but the reason we chose this hotel was because of its amenities listed on the web site, the gym, spa, and pool were closed for renovation, was looking forward to use them, we picked this hotel which was away from where our group was staying, and though that was a draw back figured the hotel's amenities would make up for it. other things which I feel should have been reasons for the closing of the hotel was the full scale renovation, the whole first floor rooms area was practically under demolition, the workers had epa protective equipment on such as filtered face masks and hardhats, but we had to walk past those work areas to get to elevators to go to upper floors, which had been already renovated, in our room on the third floor the heating unit was very loud, so loud had to keep setting low just to sleep and asked for extra blankets that we never got till I asked again and got them myself the next day in preparation for that night, and you could smell the paint and fumes from the construction on first floor, at different times of our stay different entry doors were roped off because of the construction going on at that time, had to park and enter a different area everyday, most everyone to include the construction workers were pleasant,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by F.Grizzle, Hotel Management
Dear Michael Let me start by apologizing for not exceeding your expectation on your recent stay. Management along with the constructions teams are working tirelessly to get this project completed so guest like yourself will have a superior product. We hope you will give us a second chance once renovations are completed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wasn't sure what I got myself into.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Our newly renovated room was nice and clean. If the room could stay that way then it wouldn't be a bad place to stay.
Cons: The hotel seemed to have had it's better days behind it and not sure it would ever get that status back.
To be fair, the hotel was under extensive renovation, so that affects my review. We were put in one of the newly renovated rooms which was nice but I hold reservations until I see the entire hotel completed. The hotel seemed very old everywhere you looked and I'm not sure how the renovations would turn this into that nice of a place but only time will tell.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hotel Renovation Not Complete

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the Wake Forest Stadium.
Cons: Staff needs to be trained to assign rooms for large groups and there should have been a list of rooms that are ready for occupancy.
We arrived with a large group, 24 rooms, late Friday night. The hotel was aware of our large group and had a rooming list prior to our stay and full payment for the rooms. When we arrived it took the staff 45 minutes to assign rooms. There was another large group coming in behind us that did not get checked in till 1:30 am. The staff did not know which rooms were available and which rooms are still in process of renovating. We had to change rooms for 5 of our rooms (some only had one bed in them instead of two, some did not have working toilets, showers incomplete or ac units), one room had to change 4 times before finding a room that was appropriate to stay in. Other rooms had to have maintenance fix showers and toilets as soon as we arrived. The hotel did set up an early breakfast for the group due to an early departure time. Due to the problems with check in our group got less than 5 hours of sleep. I think once the renovations are complete it will be a great place to stay. Another concern is the rating of the lounge area was 82.5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jamesville,nc

Near to my conference

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, peaceful.
Cons: Air in hallways could have been on.
Location: I explored only one day, but what I needed and wanted was nearby. Even Hanes mall 15 minutes if I wanted.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They were able to help me find my conference location from the hotel. Room was clean. It was peaceful. I slept well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Didn't leave us any 🚽 paper or any paper product at all in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NMB, SC

I will not be mean but I will be honest

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel is under construction, so much so, that I feel they should close their doors until the renovations are done. We were in a “renovated” room that had no decor, exposed wires, a whole in the wall near the tub (which may have been where all the bugs were entering our room), a 1 inch gap around the door ( which may have been where all the mosquitos, that kept us up half the night, were coming in) and the bedding was minimal and lack luster. their was a piece of paint tab with a number scribbled on it to mark the room and a loud machine in the hallway (purpose unknown). On the hike to our room we passed doors that were open to rooms that were torn apart and no one was there working and they were unsightly. We booked through Expedia and told her front desk clerk at check in and check out and she still managed to charge our Visa they had to hold for “incidentals” for the room charge and it took a week for them to rectify and return the Payment. I called and spoke to three different people there to share my disappointment with the stay, one was the manager, and they said they would also have Expedia do a refund and Expedia sent me multiple emails with a case number and phone number to call for the refund and when I did call the played, transfer me from department to department until I got a supervisor (Abraham) who reassured me he would take care of this and he did not know what the case number was Expedia had given me but it was not from them even though I had proof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Kendal was welcoming and friendly. She is an asset to the company. She was jovial, and informative.. All of the Staff in the Hotel acknowledge you in the hallways and said hello. Hotel is going through major Renovations which are needed.. We were in a recently remodeled room which was done nicely but still needed some finishing touches. Breakfast was nice choice for included in hotel price. Convenient to downtown. Outdoor pool area nice. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Joyce from Vermont

Decent, under renovations

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Good room and service, though parts of the hotel were a bit messy due to construction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Traveling Worker

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The hotel itself and the staff was really nice, I enjoyed my stay for the most part, my only complaint is the hotel was under construction due to renovation I feel like that's information that should have been given to me up front. The room itself with newly renovated quiet and comfortable till the last day, struction workers drills got a bit loud. There are a few good restaurant nearby within walking distance. Convenient location and everything you need nearby. #tablife