Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Nice place that is close to Wake Forest University. Quiet and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Staff was very friendly however the rooms were not so good an awhile staying there the air conditioner leaked all over the floor. The hotel is in need of updating but the rates were low so we got what we paid for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

It probably was a nice hotel, once upon a time.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The only thing about this hotel that compares favorably to others in the area is that weekend breakfast, such as it is, is open until 10:30 vs. 10:00.
Cons: They could start by offering real breakfast like everyone else. And do basic maintenance.
Location: Near Wake Forest and the Coliseum. Not a bad area, just a bad hotel.
Poorly maintained. Half the ice machines don't work and the other half are missing altogether. Door locks and latches sort of work, sometimes. They used to serve a pretty good breakfast buffet, but now all the give you is a choice of a pastry or two and cold cereal. As if to symbolize how much they don't care, much of the hotel bears logos not of its current or even its previous owner, but the one before that. I've stayed at many hotels in Winston-Salem in the same price range, and would literally recommend any of them over this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015
The hotel was conviently located near a shopping strip and public transportation.Several restaurants were nearby as well as a in house restaurant.There is a spa and workout room. The continental breakfast is included and they had free hot apple cider for the guest.No HBO,Cinemax, Showtime or Stars.But the television sufficed. Heat and air conditioning was very good.Staff very accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Title of hotel is a misnomer

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Should be called a motel/spa. This is a cheaply done facelift on a old building. Room was awful and bathroom was outdated. So disappointing...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel close to WF Hospital & Hanes Mall.

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: The fact that it had a microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker. We were able to make our own food.
Cons: I can't think of anything that could be improved!
Location: It was located about 10 minutes from Hanes Mall. It was also about 10 minutes to Wake Forrestt.
I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Wake Forrestt Hospital. It was also very close to Hanes Mall and other stores/restaurants. It included a continental breakfast, which was excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Seems like it was nice long ago. Now is old and battered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to wake forest

Posted Nov 17, 2015
It is a nice place for the price. Good breakfast, quiet and close to wfu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Despite any good reviews, it is low quality.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The one good thing was hot eggs, potatoes and bacon on Sat and Sun. It actually was hot, tasted good and there was lots of it.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: A fabulous BBQ across University on Deacon and a good grill/pub almost beside the motel.
Apparently if your 'do not disturb' sign is not off of your door by 11:00 (11:05 is too late), your room does not get service that day. Air conditioning could only keep the room at the top end of comfortable - a bit cooler would have be preferred. After they cleaned the room on the second day, there was still hair all over the bathroom. We poured water in the coffee maker and it immediately drained out all over the dresser. It did look terribly run down - reminded me more of Super 8 quality. The low rate was supposedly a special because they had recently changed ownership and management and wanted to show they were better than before. If they ever charge more than the $70-75 / nt that I paid, then folks are getting ripped off. While the free breakfast was adequate, calling the room a bistro is a big stretch and the bar no longer servers anything. What really clinched it was as we came down the hall there were housekeeping carts blocking the hallway. The staff looked right at us but didn't bother to shift the carts a bit for us until we asked, and then they seem really put out by the request.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ehh...

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel smells really bad. Make sure your room is by the elevator, because if you're at the end it would take you a 1/2 day to get there. Wifi did not work at all. Overall I was just we got there late and checked out early.