Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Cool old bed and breakfast in nice area

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very cool for a couple of days but not a long stay. The novelty of old and cool means some luxury is lacking. Had a small room for 1 person. It was very cute but some of the old plumbing and fixtures would become annoying if I was there more than the 2 nights. The location is great. A lot of little shops, bars and restaurants and a farmer's market on the weekend so you can walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A Beautiful Historic Hotel in Central Florida

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, Historic Design, Rooms, Staff, and Breakfast.
Cons: Nothing - we love it!
Location: The location is Historic Winter Garden on the West Orange Trail. There is Running and Biking on the Trail. Shopping and Dining along Plant Street.
We love the Edgewater Hotel. It's a beautiful historic building with very nice rooms. The area is perfect! A walkable dining and shopping district. It is still very close to Lake Apopka, Orlando, Disney, and Universal. The breakfast is excellent, too. We stay at the Edgewater Hotel whenever in the Orlando area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great B & B in a small historic town

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: above
Cons: nothing
Location: above
Old hotel (1927) converted to a B&B. Attractive, comfortable rooms, inviting lobby areas, wonderful homemade breakfast, responsive and caring staff. The same building houses two outstanding restaurants. We tried the Thai one, great meal and atmosphere. Nice historic town with other good restaurants & a fabulous Saturday Farmers Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newton, NC

Nicely renovated historical hotel.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: A comfortable bed and the wonderful staff! So friendly and helpful.
Cons: I would recommend all hotels have grab bars installed along with ADA toilets. This would would really help those of us have bad knees/backs.
Location: There is a lovely area out front with a fountain and big sturdy swings. Lots of places to eat on and shop right on the same street.
This hotel is very unique and reminded me of an episode of Poirot. The only negative is the parking is a little tricky. We got there in the early evening and the lot is small so was filled up...and you are located on Plant Rd which is the main road for this shopping area that has many restaurants, bars and other interesting shops. We did find a handicapped spot nearby, but without the placard, it would have been a bit of a walk. The room as pretty, very clean and had the only comfortable bed that I found on my 10 day trip through Florida. Thanks guys! There is a cute sitting area/eating area set up like a living room as you exit the elevator and they have three lovely birds in cages by the windows. Everyone will tell you the breakfast is fabulous...and it is! You order from their menu and it is prepared and brought to you at the large homestyle table where you can mingle with other guests that are staying at the hotel. We ordered the belgium waffle, bacon, scrambled eggs and toast along with cheese grits. All were very good! The breakfast alone is worth.. We recommend bringing your sound machine due to motorcycles and for some reason a guy using a gas blower at 7 AM on the street. We always take ours for just this occurence. This is a great place for a special romantic getaway, we heard the food next door is devine but we only stayed one night. Would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Our second stay at the Edgewater a 1920's hotel. Rooms are spotless with vintage furniture. Breakfast made to order. Staff is the friendliest we've met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is absolutely charming.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The staff was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Archer, FL

Charming but lacking

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location was amazing. The 1930s elevator was charming, same with most of the decor.
Cons: The personality of the staff was strange. The breakfast was next to inedible.
Location: The restaurants and bars are within seconds of the hotel. We did a bar crawl one evening and sauntered back to the hotel room. It was wonderful.
The walls were incredibly thin, you could hear any and all conversation on the adjoining rooms. The sink was inside the bedroom (maybe all but the deluxe suites it's different). The shower was clean enough but they didn't provide conditioner, just shampoo. Be sure to bring your own toiletries! The breakfast was lacking. The turkey sausage was actually inedible. I had to spit it out. Being downtown, we couldn't sleep in past 7am. Saturday morning there was a road race and they were BLASTING music that woke us up. On Sunday, the city was doing maintenance at 7am and were walking around with loud lawn equipment. Since the windows are original glass panes, they muffle absolutely no noise. We found out that the hotel funds the church that they are a part of. I wish I would have known about that sooner, it made us very uncomforable. I wish that they cared more about the history and preserving the heritage of the building vs the funding of a church. Whether or not that's true, that's the feel that we got. No doubt that wouldn't bother the majority of the patrons. Conversation seemed to always go back to that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie

Must try

Posted Aug 19, 2014
A great job on restoration. Atmosphere definitely fits the time period the hotel was built. We will definitely stay there again. Staff was so accommodating and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2014
Nice early 1900 era hotel feel with a bed and breakfast environment. The ground floor contains the five star Chief Table's restrauant and tasting room plus a early era feel ice cream palor. There is also a Thai restrauant on the ground level of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randy from Maine and Soth Carolina

Funky and fun

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Period charm and personal service
Cons: Room lighting
Location: Surprise! Cattle and citrus country. Rawlings Park a glimpse of the Old Florida. Close to Disney and Space Coast in distance, decades away in time.
We arrived at the Edgewater after an afternoon at Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings State Park. The park centers on the antique 'cracker' house where Rawlings wrote her most famous works, The Yearling and Cross Creek in the years leading up to WW2. The hotel itself, built in the late 20s, seemed an extension of our tour. Staying at the Edgewater is like time travel. The lobby apparently hasn't changed in eighty years. Everything in the hotel is in keeping with the period, although there are modern conveniences: cable and wifi. Guest rooms (on the second and third floors) are smallish but comfortable, with old-fashioned baths en suite. There is a lounge/ breakfast room with coffee and snacks. The breakfast menu offers a good range of choices, all cooked to order and all tasty. We enjoyed walking around downtown Winter Garden, which is very attractive. There are many restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks. Two restaurants and an ice-cream shop, are located on the Edgewater's ground floor. One would have to be pretty picky not to find something appealing close by. One minor criticism: our room had a light on one side of the bed only. There was a floor lamp next to the arm chair, but we are inveterate readers-in-bed. Other than that, we were delighted with every aspect of our stay. We would definitely stay there again. The Edgewater is far a better experience and a better value than the cookie-cutter modern chain hotels on the highway.