Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nORTH Carolina

We have NEVER had to stay in a room quite like thi

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was convenient to the highway thru town.
Cons: I don't know where to start in this regard. I really DON'T THINK YOU SHOULD HAVE THIS PLACE ON YOUR SUGGESTED LIST!
Location: iT IS CONVENIENT TO THE HIGHWAY THRU TOWN AND THERE ARE EATING FACILITIES FAIRLY CLOSE AT HAND.
This was quite an experience and I hope we don't ever get stuck in a room and facility quite like this one. Very small, a not so comfortable bed, no room even for a chair beside the bed in the room, carpet was badly worn and things in general left much to be desired. Bathroom also very tiny and left something to be desired. Water was extremely hot, even the cold water was very hot for the first few minutes after you turned it on. I made no attempt to shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at The Viking. Since we purchased the building in June, we are working on many upgrades.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

What a waste of money

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The part of this hotel I liked was seeing it in my rear view mirror as we left.
Cons: The entire facility needs to be fully renovated. The hotel is barely maintained, absolutely no pride in customer care and false advertising on web.
We booked a 3 night stay at the Viking and left after the first night. Of course they said the other two nights were non-refundable, but it was worth the loss of money to leave this hotel. The facility is so run down, we had to hunt down a staff member in the tshirt shop just to check in, then never saw another staff member again until we checked out the next morning. The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) was so small and cramped, no air, just a plug in fan, stuffy and hot but we could not leave window open because there was not a window screen. Bugs on the floor that got into our shoes, when you lay down on the bed, your head was lower than your body. Not sure if that was the bed itself or the warped floors. The shower head only had the outer spray working because the center spray nozzle was broken off. The door lock was so loose that it took several minutes each time you tried to use your key to get into room. I think the toilet was the original from 1960 something and only took 3 flushes to get fully flush. It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't'. The whole place creeped us out and made you feel nauseous. It felt more like a homeless shelter that a hotel. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. THE MONEY YOU THINK YOU ARE GOING TO SAVE IS NOT WORTH THE COST OF YOUR COMFORT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Marcella - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge in Winter Park. It seems that you have many concerns regarding your stay here, so let me try to answer them as succinctly as possible. “…of course they said the other two nights are non-refundable…” – Since your reservation was booked through Expedia, we do ask that you contact them to confirm your early departure and issue a refund. We did not charge your card so we do not have the ability to issue a refund. Expedia charged your card. “we had to hunt down a staff member in the t-shirt shop just to check in” – during slower times of the week we will run our front desk out of the t-shirt shop. There is a sign on the front desk that indicates this. “The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) …” – You must have confused the room you stayed in because room #18 is 250 sq. ft. room with a king bed and remodeled bathroom, new windows and a concrete floor slab (albeit the carpet does need to be replaced after a previous guest spilled hair dye). I attempted to locate your reservation so I could address your concerns specifically to your room. However, I could not locate a reservation with your name. “It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't” – I believe the card to which you refer actually says “Our building is over 60 years old. This gives us charm, but also offers some challenges. Some things we can fix, some we cannot. Please let us know if you need any assistance.” Marcella, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Viking Lodge. While we did just purchase this facility it is not an excuse for the lack of service and quality that you received.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Good for young skiers only

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Staff very friendly, but after booking 2 nights we left after one and booked a room at the best western. Hotel old, room very small, almost no outlets for charging phones, bloodstains on one of our sheets, no A/C, dirty washcloths left in shower. Not acceptable for a family on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. Yes our hotel is old and the rooms are small. We have taken extra effort to outline these challenges on Expedia. Apologies for the housekeeping issues, these will be addressed.
2 out of 5
by Donald from FIRESTONE, CO

TOO LITTLE FOR TOO MUCH.

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL FOR THE MONEY WE PAID. NO SCREENS ON THE WINDOWS. NOT A GOOD STAY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

This is my hotel

Posted May 10, 2016
Scott and his wife are obviously skiers and know what I need, a warm, clean roof over my head and a hot shower. This is a skiers hotel. Walking distance to plenty of food and a laundry mat is just down the street. Scott treats you like family and the shop takes care of my boards over night. If your in winter park stay here but leave me a room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks Jeff, come see us again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Place For The Outdoor Person

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge was as advertised. The place is dedicated to those who are not wanting to be in the room but rather outside doing things. It is small but workable and is in a great location. If you want to have a hotel room with lots of amenities so you can stay in then find another place. But if you want a nice room in a great location that is designed for the active lifestyle then this is the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hi - Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, come see us again. Summers are GREAT too!
5 out of 5
by Sean

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hi Sean - Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
We could hear everything from the room above us. It sounded like the floor was going to break above us and the people above us we're going to fall through. It got really hot when we were sleeping and no controls to change the temperature. Had to figure out how to open the window to let some air in. No phones to call the front office. Would've liked additional pillows but didn't want to walk to the ski shop to ask. It was a different experience and I tried to give it more credit than it deserved. I did like the walking distance to shops and restaurants but I think I'll stay somewhere else the next trip up there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hi - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Sometimes other guests can be rather noisy on their vacation and since our building is older (think 1950's) noise travels easily especially through the wood floors. I'm surprised that you weren't able to control the temperature satisfactorily in your room. All rooms have individual temperature controls. The heating is very efficient. We do run limited front desk office hours so that we can offer reduced lodging rates however if you need any assistance our phone number is published on your check in packet and well a welcome letter in your room. We would have been happy to provide additional pillows if you requested. Please give us another try on your next trip to Winter Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Wouldn't stay there again. It wasn't the cleanest. Expensive for what we got.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hello - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. We will work on our room cleanliness.
1 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Suspicious droppings on a window ledge across from the loft and I wouldn't wash my dog in the gray water of the hot tub. I don't mind old but they have no pride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hello Matthew - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. We will take a look at the "suspicious" droppings on the window ledge and the cleanliness of the hot tub.