Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Perfect for the price. easy parking and lots to do within walking distance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by The Viking Lodge, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feed back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: Rooms don't have a/c and the tv is a tiny tube box... And I mean tiny, like 14 inch tiny. Otherwise, the stay was quite alright.
It was a good stay. And by that, I mean that there was nothing specifically wrong. Otherwise, I'd go again. I'm really just typing all this because I can't finish the review without putting more in the box.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at The Viking. Since we purchased the building in June, we are working on many upgrades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Winter Park Co

Posted Aug 7, 2016
When I got there I didn't realize how old it was. Corrected my attitude they need money to fix the place. One thing they can work on is keeping things clean, otherwise a good place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

What a waste of money

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The part of this hotel I liked was seeing it in my rear view mirror as we left.
Cons: The entire facility needs to be fully renovated. The hotel is barely maintained, absolutely no pride in customer care and false advertising on web.
We booked a 3 night stay at the Viking and left after the first night. Of course they said the other two nights were non-refundable, but it was worth the loss of money to leave this hotel. The facility is so run down, we had to hunt down a staff member in the tshirt shop just to check in, then never saw another staff member again until we checked out the next morning. The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) was so small and cramped, no air, just a plug in fan, stuffy and hot but we could not leave window open because there was not a window screen. Bugs on the floor that got into our shoes, when you lay down on the bed, your head was lower than your body. Not sure if that was the bed itself or the warped floors. The shower head only had the outer spray working because the center spray nozzle was broken off. The door lock was so loose that it took several minutes each time you tried to use your key to get into room. I think the toilet was the original from 1960 something and only took 3 flushes to get fully flush. It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't'. The whole place creeped us out and made you feel nauseous. It felt more like a homeless shelter that a hotel. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. THE MONEY YOU THINK YOU ARE GOING TO SAVE IS NOT WORTH THE COST OF YOUR COMFORT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Marcella - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge in Winter Park. It seems that you have many concerns regarding your stay here, so let me try to answer them as succinctly as possible. “…of course they said the other two nights are non-refundable…” – Since your reservation was booked through Expedia, we do ask that you contact them to confirm your early departure and issue a refund. We did not charge your card so we do not have the ability to issue a refund. Expedia charged your card. “we had to hunt down a staff member in the t-shirt shop just to check in” – during slower times of the week we will run our front desk out of the t-shirt shop. There is a sign on the front desk that indicates this. “The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) …” – You must have confused the room you stayed in because room #18 is 250 sq. ft. room with a king bed and remodeled bathroom, new windows and a concrete floor slab (albeit the carpet does need to be replaced after a previous guest spilled hair dye). I attempted to locate your reservation so I could address your concerns specifically to your room. However, I could not locate a reservation with your name. “It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't” – I believe the card to which you refer actually says “Our building is over 60 years old. This gives us charm, but also offers some challenges. Some things we can fix, some we cannot. Please let us know if you need any assistance.” Marcella, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Viking Lodge. While we did just purchase this facility it is not an excuse for the lack of service and quality that you received.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Good for young skiers only

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Staff very friendly, but after booking 2 nights we left after one and booked a room at the best western. Hotel old, room very small, almost no outlets for charging phones, bloodstains on one of our sheets, no A/C, dirty washcloths left in shower. Not acceptable for a family on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. Yes our hotel is old and the rooms are small. We have taken extra effort to outline these challenges on Expedia. Apologies for the housekeeping issues, these will be addressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

This is my hotel

Posted May 10, 2016
Scott and his wife are obviously skiers and know what I need, a warm, clean roof over my head and a hot shower. This is a skiers hotel. Walking distance to plenty of food and a laundry mat is just down the street. Scott treats you like family and the shop takes care of my boards over night. If your in winter park stay here but leave me a room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks Jeff, come see us again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Wouldn't stay there again. It wasn't the cleanest. Expensive for what we got.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Hello - Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge. We will work on our room cleanliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel center of town

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Nice owners very attentive to needs of guests. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
HI Roxanna - Thanks for the review. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: So quiet
Location: Very close to everything!"
Great place to stay! Very quiet andvery well located. Close to restaurants and bars
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by The Viking Lodge, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us!