What a waste of money
Posted Jul 16, 2016
We booked a 3 night stay at the Viking and left after the first night. Of course they said the other two nights were non-refundable, but it was worth the loss of money to leave this hotel.
The facility is so run down, we had to hunt down a staff member in the tshirt shop just to check in, then never saw another staff member again until we checked out the next morning.
The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) was so small and cramped, no air, just a plug in fan, stuffy and hot but we could not leave window open because there was not a window screen. Bugs on the floor that got into our shoes, when you lay down on the bed, your head was lower than your body. Not sure if that was the bed itself or the warped floors. The shower head only had the outer spray working because the center spray nozzle was broken off. The door lock was so loose that it took several minutes each time you tried to use your key to get into room.
I think the toilet was the original from 1960 something and only took 3 flushes to get fully flush. It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't'.
The whole place creeped us out and made you feel nauseous. It felt more like a homeless shelter that a hotel.
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. THE MONEY YOU THINK YOU ARE GOING TO SAVE IS NOT WORTH THE COST OF YOUR COMFORT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Marcella -
Thank you for taking time to review The Viking Lodge in Winter Park. It seems that you have many concerns regarding your stay here, so let me try to answer them as succinctly as possible.
“…of course they said the other two nights are non-refundable…” – Since your reservation was booked through Expedia, we do ask that you contact them to confirm your early departure and issue a refund. We did not charge your card so we do not have the ability to issue a refund. Expedia charged your card.
“we had to hunt down a staff member in the t-shirt shop just to check in” – during slower times of the week we will run our front desk out of the t-shirt shop. There is a sign on the front desk that indicates this.
“The room shown on website must be hidden somewhere because the room we had (#18) …” – You must have confused the room you stayed in because room #18 is 250 sq. ft. room with a king bed and remodeled bathroom, new windows and a concrete floor slab (albeit the carpet does need to be replaced after a previous guest spilled hair dye). I attempted to locate your reservation so I could address your concerns specifically to your room. However, I could not locate a reservation with your name.
“It's sad when you find a written notice from the hotel on the nightstand that states 'We know this hotel is old and there are only some things that we will fix and others that we won't” – I believe the card to which you refer actually says “Our building is over 60 years old. This gives us charm, but also offers some challenges. Some things we can fix, some we cannot. Please let us know if you need any assistance.”
Marcella, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Viking Lodge. While we did just purchase this facility it is not an excuse for the lack of service and quality that you received.