Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a cool spot but tight af

Posted Feb 20, 2018
It's small. Like really small but if you're with your girl it's all good. She has no where to go. Get wild. However if you're with your boy on a ski trip.... you both have no where to go it's gonna be tight. Time to bunk up. Act cool. Wake up early and go ride winter park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2018 by Ragnar The Viking, Hotel Management
Yes, our rooms are small, some as small as 100 sq feet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Viking Lodge

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down and renovate it.
Location: On Main St and close to McDonalds which doesn’t say much.
Basically a dump. Should know better than going online. Clutter abounds and thermostats don’t work. Room stayed at 80 degrees and had to go sleep in car. Plumbing leaks. Had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to dumpy room on 3rd floor. Stairways narrow and steps smaller than average foot. Steps also worn out. Typical 1950s lodging in Winter Park. And rip off at $120 /nite. Parking jammed. TVs are 10 inch 50s remnants and loose the picture. Staff not friendly and close mouthed. AVOID.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Ragnar The Viking, Hotel Management
Dear "BW" - Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Viking Lodge. Even more sorry that you did not bring any of these deficiencies to our attention during your stay so that we may have had the opportunity to correct them. We would have liked to know about a plumbing issues, not only is it a waste of water but could possibly be damaging other facilities. Your car? Really? In the mountains in winter? This was a better option than coming to the front desk and talking to us? You did hit the nail on the head "Typical 1950's Lodging in Winter Park." Please read other reviews of The Viking Lodge and our property description on Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Great location, friendly staff, convenient to everything, cozy room and lounge are was nice, amd parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Ragnar The Viking, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
3 out of 5
by Derek

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Ragnar The Viking, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
3 out of 5
by Kiran Kumar

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Ragnar, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great location. Smallest room ever.

Posted Dec 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise from the heating system
Location: Cooper Square shopping. Deno's restaurant for nice dining.
This is a quaint little 1970s lodge. The location, right on main street in Winter Park is great. It's across the street from great restaurants and shops. We just needed a room for 1 night as we decided to ski an extra day. The price was right. The room was clean, the towels were thick and the shower was hot. The room was big enough for two smaller adults but tiny by most standards. It's definitely still 1970s decor - but well kept. The only noise was the heating system creaking & popping. It is right across the street from our favorite restaurant, Deno's. Also right across the street from Cooper Square for shopping and other restaurants. It was nice to just park and walk wherever we wanted to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Ragnar, Hotel Management
Hello - Thanks for the review of The Viking Lodge. Every so often the heating system gets some air bubbles and clanks a bit. We will have plumber check into it.
5 out of 5
by Paulius

Unique place, very satisfied, highly recommend!

Posted Dec 18, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at room# 20 with queen size bed. The room was very clean and came with 40” flatscreen tv, small fridge, full bathroom with vanity being in the room, nice antique furniture, free parking, and free wifi. The lobby was cozy with free keurig coffee. Subway is right across the street for those on the budget, and plenty of great placed to eat within walking distance. I’ve been staying at Best Western right next to it before, but will be staying at Viking Lodge from now on because it’s just as good for at least 25% less. Being a structural engineer, I liked the wooden joist ceiling making it feel like in one of those old cabins at Yellowstone or Yosemite parks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Perfect for winter sports, the a locker, sleep, and a store all in one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing The Viking Lodge
5 out of 5
by Cory

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
New owners remodeling. I stayed during offseason and thought it was great. Inexpensive right next to some restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review
5 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
quick trip to go to RMNP and our stay was a perfect spot. Winter Park is quiet and there were some good bike trails to tide us over. The lodge was a perfect location and had a quaint feel to it. Would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review