Ratings based on 1,251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right across from skiing

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Great last minute trip to Winter Park. The hotel was conveniently located. They have ski rental and snow mobiling available right at the hotel. Hotel is a little outdated but facilities were nice. Hot tub and pool area were nice to relax in. Great, quick, affordable location. Shuttles run throughout the day some times you wait longer than others but usually runs every 10-25 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

No Taj Majal, but cost effective and serves needs

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfy beds, convenient to Winter Park Resort (across street) and on-site amenities. Excellent base of Operation for an adventurous vacation.
Cons: Better bedding, particularly blankets. Upgrade heaters with more control other than "fry like bacon" or a bit chilly. Upgrade bathroom fixtures.
Location: Winter Park Resort, Arapaho National Forest, and anything you could possibly do within it.
If you're seeking luxury, seek elsewhere. However, the place is clean and the bed was comfy. My wife is pretty picky with respect to lodging but even she recognized the usefulness and cost effectiveness of the facility. If you are looking for a place to rest after a day of skiing and adventure, this place gets it done just fine. The staff is friendly, there is a nice indoor hot tub and pool, in-house dining at a reasonable cost, in house ski/snowboard rental, on-site snowmobile tour Op, in-room microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge, as well as a free shuttle to/from town. Everyone else staying there was super-nice and doing the same thing: having fun and saving money where it makes sense. Head up to Fraser to the Safeway and load up on snacks, cereal, etc and this place will save you a TON. Tip: request some extra blankets, as the ones provided are a bit thin and the heater either fries the room or else it gets chilly, with no real in-between. Also, because of the number of people in and out with ice and snow and damp clothes, the room had a slight musty smell to it upon our arrival. A $2 can of Febreeze solved that for the duration of our stay. Seems a housekeeper could pick up on that, but whatever. All in all, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it. Just know what it is, and what it is not. Hope this helps. KCCO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for winter park Skir Resort.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We loved our stay here. Staff was friendly, good and drinks were good and it was right across the way from the Winter Park Ski Resort, with free shuttle. Breakfast buffet probably could have used more hands for the Omelette station, poor guy there was pretty slammed. Overall a great experience, would definitely go back with more family members.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from golden, co

very conveniently located

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: convenient!
this hotel was reasonably comfortable overall. The beds were less comfortable than I would prefer but ok. The room was basically utilitarian. It was very convenient having the restaurant in the hotel. Dinner was very good and a little expensive but reasonable. Breakfast was overpriced for the quality of food and service. We enjoyed the pool and hot tubs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Great hotel staff - but pricey for what you get...

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The Hotel staff - they were great!!! Thank you.
Cons: The other staff (bar / restaurant) and the room needs updating as does the other infrastructure.
Location: Don't look at the map (!) - this is *not* very conveniently located and you have to either drive or take an (old) shuttle bus to get anywhere.
Visited for a weekend skiing at Winter Park and chose this hotel for the location and convenience. First thing: you *cannot* walk to Winter Park from the hotel, despite the fact that it is just a few hundred yards from the lifts. This is NOT convenient, as you have to take a rather elderly old bus which takes some time, as it goes all around the houses. If you want "ski in, ski out" this is not it. Bus drivers are friendly and helpful though. Secondly the hotel staff were all wonderful - I would say great - and some of the most helpful and friendly staff I have experienced. However the other staff, especially the bar staff, are not. This does seem to be a common trait in Summit County though, so I suggest that you just get used to surly and careless bar and wait staff and suck up the check (sticker shock!) when you get it. I have no idea why this is, but there you go. Finally, the hotel is pretty "basic" and the room is more motel quality than hotel quality. The same is true for the other facilities too... my opinion is that this is *not* luxury and I was surprised that it was three stars on Expedia. Could rally do with a face-lift / renovation. Would I stay there again? Probably not. The wonderful and helpful hotel staff do not make up for the location (yuk) and the general condition of the hotel and the price we paid for this. We had friends that stayed elsewhere for less and got much more for there money. Oh well...........
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They Sell it to you as a Lodge BUT it's a hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
A little disappointed in the experience. They sell you on the "Mountain Lodge" BUT it's a hotel with very little extra's. Bought into my room because of the mini kitchen BUT there is nothing to it other than a microwave, fridge and dishwasher. Thought it would come somewhat supplied with kitchen ware, plates, etc.... considering there is a dishwasher but no, NOTHING..... The staff were nice, the view was nice, the heating/air system was disappointing. Had a hard time regulating temps in the room. It was either burning up or freezing cold. Biggest complaint was room service. My last night there I decided to order some food up to my room. I called down several times with no answer, finally I walked down to order, place my order then went back up to my room. After an hour plus wait the front desk clerk finally showed up with my food ( COLD ) and an apology that the room service guy couldn't find my room and that is why it took so long. Couldn't find my room???? WoW...!... I would recommend this "HOTEL" but know going in that is all it is. A hotel NOT a Mountain Lodge..... LOVED the Mountain. Great terrain and a Great place to ski or snowboard. I took the Amtrak up from Denver and would recommend to anyone that is the way to get up to Winter Park.... Cheaper than a shuttle and what a view on the way up and back down....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Great front desk staff- Hotel room is very average, unfortunately the walls are very thin and it was very loud with noisy neighbors. The hotel could use some upkeep but the staff is amazing which made up for everything! The staff is the best part of the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views

Posted Jan 25, 2016
This hotel has a perfect view of the mountains and the front staff was so nice. They found out it was my birthday and I got a free upgrade and free drink vouchers the ladies are so nice. Id recommend this place to anyone visiting Winter Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Close to the ski area.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Shuttles conviently took us to the ski area and downtown! Very clean. Easy access to hot tubs and restaurant. Our room had a great view of the Coca Cola tubing hill and slopes!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun but crazy time

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Sarah was an excellent employee at the hotel. Besides witnessing a bar fight break out, the hotel was fine and the pool needed to be vacuumed you can't just add chlorine to cover up dirt.