Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Blair, WI

Modest hotel but an abundance warm hospitality

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly service. Made you feel welcome and safe. Would stay here again.
Cons: Dated but the price was in our budget. The friendly service was more of a priority.
Location: Better signage would make location easier to find.
The owner is a genuine and friendly. Immediately felt safe and looking forward to the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Bill and Staff, Hotel Management
Thank You Cathy! We appreciate your feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Currently not close to a 4.5/5

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness, staff friendliness, more accommodating for special needs
When making my reservation, I asked for a ground floor room near an entrance. I mentioned that I had recently had knee replacement surgery and loading/unloading would be easier. I also let management know that I had a pet and a room near an exit would help me with letting her out more frequently. When I arrived, I was given a room that was 1/2 way between to doors, so the farthest possible distance. I mentioned it to the clerk upon check-in and it didn't seem to matter. I had prepaid my room, so I probably wasn't a priority. After unloading my bags, I was tired and got ready to sleep. At this point, I found out that the toilet was either plugged up or just not working correctly. I walked down to the desk, but no one was there. I used the restroom there and went to bed. The next morning, I was leaving early but wanted something for breakfast. The television went blank about a half hour before and I told the clerk. I walked to the breakfast area and asked if they could put out another loaf of bread as there wasn't any. The desk clerk replied "we don't have bread". The final straw was handing my room keys in and finding out they wanted another $10 for my dog. The clerk said "She didn't tell you about the extra charge when you checked in" ? This hotel had MANY rooms, but it seems they are not very accommodating. There were VERY few cars in the parking lot and it looked like entire wings were not occupied. I wasn't rude or nasty, but I'm not sure anything would have phased them
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Bill-General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize, but are you confused with another motel? Our pet rooms are at the end of the hallway next to the medical aide accessible door. We accept payment at the time of check in and do not charge for pets, but ask that a gratuity is left for the housekeeper as they must wash and replace all bedding . We do not have a restroom in our lobby. Breakfast consists of bread, English muffins and pastries which is standard. Please contact us as we feel this may be an incorrect review of our facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice motel. Friendly staff.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Quaint decorations in our room. Loved the quilts on the beds. The manager was very friendly. Breakfast was free.
Cons: Upgrades are coming according to the manager. Nice now, but will be better.
Location: Interesting town. Bridges of Madison county surround the motel. John Wayne's birthplace. Lots to see and do.
Nice motel in an interesting town. We stumbled upon this hotel late one evening while traveling. When we arrived, we noticed the John Wayne collection as well as promotions for the covered bridges surrounding the town. We will return in better weather to see the many things we missed. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Bill the Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review and your input.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Staff was the best! Thank you for a wonderful weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The staff are very friendly and accommodating . We did miss not having a fridge in the room , but we got by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: It's easy to find, reasonably priced and clean. The breakfast included grapes, bananas, yogurt, cereal. They made you feel welcome.
Location: Winterset is a very nice small town. Covered bridges nearby, the birthplace of John Wayne. The Northside cafe is excellent and affordable.
We didn't arrive till nearly 1am but they came right up to the desk when we rang the bell. Very friendly. The room was clean and larger than many Hamptons I've been in. The beds were comfortable, there was a coffee pot, shampoo and blow dryer, desk, side chair, and even a free breakfast which I don't always expect to see in a Super 8. It just felt very comfortable. We were there to go to the State Fair and the drive from Winterset to Des Moines was through pretty countryside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not a clean motel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We had smoking rooms because that's all they had left so of course they smelled terrible. Couldn't see out the windows because they were covered with something white, don't think they were sealed very well. There were no refrigerators or microwaves in our rooms. Carpets had cigarette burns in them. This motel is not located very close to downtown or much else. Breakfast area consisted of two small tables in the lobby. The only positives were that the price was decent and the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
OK for the price. Staff should insure that they take the time to clean around the tub area. There was a little black around tub base on the floor joint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springville, CA

Enjoyable stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Nice and helpful staff! A quiet stay in a comfortable bed! We definately would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
For a small town motel it was fine. The live-in owner was a bit grouchy most of the time but if you didn't like it he would be happy to give your money back. He would appreciate it if you would let "dad" know if you are going to be checking in anytime after 10pm because he has sleep to get to, or at least that is the impression we got. The beds and pillows were mediocre at best.