Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from everett wa

Great weekend get away

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Everything was great. The room has no tv, but I don’t watch anyway. The only negative was a funky door knob that was weird, and I had to get the staff to help me. Once over that, no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Perfection

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Wonderful, magical place. Impeccably maintained. Incredible views from the Mt. Robinson building. Terrific food and drink at the bar. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washingtin state

Views that take your breath away

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We loved coming back to the sun mountain lodge. We had not been here for 40 yrs— yes, that’s right- 40 years!!! We had our honeymoon here in 1977 and returned to this beautiful place. We had gorgeous fall weather and the fall colors around the hotel and Methow Valley were spectacular. Although the lodge has changed quite a bit— the relaxing atmosphere and beautiful surroundings are just the place to unwind and unplug. We had fun in the game room, walking around the lodge and even rode our bikes. We will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquilizing

Posted Oct 15, 2017
It was so quite and peaceful I found myself whispering.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Disappointing return visit

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Location, view, quiet
Cons: Resturant staff needs training on cordiality.
Location: Hiking, touring fall colors
Facilities are clean and gracious if dated. The view is very beautiful. This is my fifth trip to Sun Mountain Lodge and unfortunately my last. This trip one of the hot tubs was out which was disappointing. But the real disappointment was customer service at the restaurant. All of the guests were squeezed into a very small space evidently for ease of service. My wife and I asked for a private table for an intimate dinner. We were taken to a table in the middle of the busy room and offered that table or a cocktail table in the bar area. There was an entire room of unused tables but for some reason, that was not an option. Further, the woman behind the bar told me that I was not allowed in any way with my coffee mug. We left. Gracious treatment of customers was not a priority with that staff. It soured me on the entire experience. Next trip I think I'll stay elsewhere where the staff will extend themselves to make for an enjoyable dining experience and not hassle me about a coffee mug. It should be a welcoming dining reception, not a TSA screening point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, friendly personel.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the location, the building, the friendly staff.
The vieuw is fascinating, rooms are nice but the heatersystem is old and makes a lot of nioise. The restaurant/bar services probably good burgers and pasta ‘s but the salmon and rice were dry and prepared without any fantasy. The vegatables were raw. So this was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from R.I.

Very Nice Hotel, Restaurant Not So much

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Scenery, ambiance, decor.
Cons: Restaurant was most disappointing.
Very nice hotel with scenic views and rustic charm. The restaurant was disappointing, very expensive and so not worth it. Only 3 entrees on the menu and out of 6 items ordered for dinner, they were out of 3 of them. After waiting 45 minutes for appetizers, the waiter brought something I didn't order in the first place. I wasn't willing to wait another 45 minutes so I ate it. The food arrived an hour and 15 minutes after it was ordered. The portions were small but good. Ordering drinks was as inefficient as the rest of the experience, didn't have what I ordered so the waiter took it upon himself the substitute with something else. Waited way too long for the drinks to be brought to the table.The only sign of efficiency was the bus boy who hovered around refiling our water glasses after each sip which while efficient was annoying. Save yourself a a bundle of money, time and aggravation and eat at the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, WA

Beautiful Place with wonderful view

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The wonderful view! We didn't use any of the amenities (horse back riding, pool, hot tub, or riding bikes since it was a quick trip. M
Cons: Maybe keeping the bar open a little later if people want to hang out and have some drinks.
Location: It is about 6 miles outside of town. I was just in awe of the beautiful scenery! The hotel has quite a few things to offer as I mentioned above.
My husband and I decided to go on a drive to Winthrop where neither one of us had been and reserved the room before going. We got a great rate with Expedia points. It is a beautiful place to stay with a nice rooms. The beds are really comfortable. We had dinner in the bar & grill. I had the fish and chips which were pretty good, sometimes you don't know with Fish & Chips. My husband had a pizza which he didn't care for. All of the hotel staff were very friendly. My husband I will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, Wa

Excellent

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Excellent facility, location, staff, and amenities. The restaurant staff are too notch. Chef Willie and his crew prepared and served outstanding meals while we were there, and were very engaging with the guests. We will certainly vidit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Gorgeous

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Staff and impeccable decor.
Cons: Nothing
Location: N/A for our stay.
The view was beautiful and the staff was outstanding. This is worth the stay!