Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful Downtown Wirksworth Location

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Loved staying here. Fantastic staff, clean and spacious room, lots of amenities. Love the fact that we were right in downtown Wirksworth and everything was close at hand. We were on the third floor so you need to be able to do steps or request a lower level. BTW, everything in the Wirksworth is uphill – – where do you hide the downhill?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived only to find they had only one room when I'd booked and paid for two. Offered to put four adults in a single room with a double and a pair of bunk beds. Didn't seem particularly sorry and because we were unable to find anywhere else at a reasonable price had no option but to spoil my son's birthday weekend by returning home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockport

Very welcoming

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly people, comfy bed and pillows.
Cons: Wouldn't want to say anything negative. If pushed the only thing with such an old property cracks in ceiling....but room very modern
Location: Location is on a corner in the town. We were lucky and managed to get a parking place situation through the archway of the main building.
First visit to The Red Lion. We were booked in for an overnight stay meeting friends for a meal in Matlock Bath. Very friendly greeting, shown straight to our room. Very comfy bed, lovely walk in shower. Plenty of tea/coffee milk, biscuits, bottled water. Very nice room, plenty of storage. Hairdryer in draw with earplugs (not needed). The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We would recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by Colleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian from Essex

Fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Superb night, fantastic entertainment and great hosts
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Albans, Herts.

Red Lion Hotel, Wirksworth, Derbys.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Conveniently placed for our event.
Cons: GUESS, see above
We discovered on arrival that there was a pop music/gig this evening, and were told it finished at 10pm. We were not told of this event at the time of booking. On our return at 10.30pm, after our night out, the very loud music continued directly under our family room until 11.35. We were informed that it would finish by 11.15. At 11.30 my wife went down in her nightdress to complain. The disturbance finally stopped at 11.50pm. THERE IS NO WAY A FAMILY COULD SLEEP IN THIS 4 BEDDED ROOM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirksworth Derbyshire

Convenight pub

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Room excellent but noisy from function room below. Access was up two flights of stairs with filthy carpets. Staff welcoming but food very ordinary. Quirky building with heavy decor not to my taste.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Hotel was clean and neat, filled with old world charm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jen

Needs updating

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Be fit if you get top floor no lift very run down needs a lot of updating
3 out of 5
by CAROL from Leeds

Average hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel close to Carsington Water, which is where we needed to be. Wirksworth is a nice town but the hotel was very tired especially inside. The wifi signal was useless - could not get internet even in the bar on my laptop. Had we known this at the time of booking, we would not have taken this hotel. However the room was clean - the breakfast was quite tasty. Adequate parking available.