Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Cons: See above.
Had a great time The staff was both helpful and friendly. The only complaint is that it would have been helpful if the stairs from the handicapped parking spots to the entrance of the tower would have had a railing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel old and bar and grill not so good.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The hotel is old which is understandable.. hard beds. Most disappointed in the bar and grill. It had a terrible ambience and staff for the price of the meal. Wish we would have eaten at one of the others on the premises.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Machesney Park, IL

Great place to take the kids!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: It was a very comfortable hotel. We also loved the patio attached to our room.
Cons: The price of the food, we spent $40 for breakfast and $50 for in room service and we didn't order much!
Location: I really liked how this resort was located just north of the Dells and a little ways away from everything, gave it a nice outdoors feeling.
The husband and I took our 2 year old and 4 year old to Chula Vista last week and we enjoyed it very much. The arcade and indoor water park was perfect for all ages. The room was very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Overall nice stay BUT...

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Condos, scenery, most of the staff
Cons: Honor the indoor water park hours and heat the entire water park.
Location: 5 mins from downtown Dells, grand resort with wonderful views.
I have to admit I was hesitant to book Chula Vista after reading all the bad reviews online. But besides a couple bumps we were pleasantly surprised by Chula Vista. We stayed in the condo section which was nice. Full kitchen, golf course views, newer furniture. The bad; it's not walk able to/from the water park. Second the balcony is TINY, like barely fits one person. The facilities were clean and well kept. The resort is big and quite beautiful. There is a river walk behind the resort is something to check out. The bar was busy and the restaurants were pretty full. Quick drive to downtown Dells from the resort. We had a great time BUT... The indoor water park closed 1 hour earlier than posted and majority of the indoor water park is not heated. Our toddler was freezing in the toddler zone and lazy river. After getting our 3 year old son ready to enjoy the water park after sitting patiently in the car for 4 hours, we arrived at 630PM to be told it was closing at 7PM. Reason is to save money on operating cost. We pleaded with the staff but it was a direct order from the resort GM. It was a terrible way to start the trip. The GM saves some money by closing the pool early and not heating certain parts yet the guest still have to pay full price. If your going to save some money than you should share some off the savings with the guest. Breakfast or room discount, something to make it right. We were offered nothing. Because of the water park I cannot give Chula 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but watch for drips when it rains.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Really nice location in the woods off the WI river.
Cons: The toilet continued to run after awhile. Not sure I like the lotion and soap dispenser right next to each other.
Location: Lots to do on location. One of the best steak house (Chop House) around is located here.
Came here for a conference. There was a little issue with the rain, there were drips all over the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Room was dirty and people partied above our family despite our many calls to the front desk and security. The hotel cannot refund me any money because I booked through expedia!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel to Dells attractions

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The room was spacious and there was a nice balcony outside. The kitchen was stocked with dishes and utensils. There was a mixup at check in because someone didn't key in the Expedia reservations dates correctly. They had us checking in on Sunday instead of Friday. When I showed the email confirmation, they gave us a room. The lady at the registration desk was friendly and helpful. The room had a strong smell of maple syrup the whole weekend. We bought some Lysol to try to get rid of the smell, but it didn't help much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Biggest bang for your $$

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We've stayed in the Golf Villa and in the North Tower of Chula Vista. The biggest bang for your $$ is the Golf Villa. I booked our room off of Expedia and the rate ended up being about $120 with tax. I expected the room to be the bare essentials, but we were pleasantly surprised. We had a mini kitchen which included a dishwasher and a fire place. We had a private balcony that faced the golf course. It was walking distance to the main building, conference rooms, golf club, and water park. Our building was quiet, clean, comfortable, and we will always choose Chula Vista when we stay in WI Dells.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Cheap stay. Good room.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
When I booked the hotel, they did not let me know that their indoor Waterpark was closed. I went with my 5 yr old and 2 yr kids. Not having the Waterpark was not at all cool. Altho we were allowed to go to the wilderness resort and use their indoor waterparks, where we usually stay anyways. The only problem is that we had to drive over 2.5 miles just to get to the wilderness. Overall not happy. Not coming back anytime soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, wi

Bring your ear plugs

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: the many options
Cons: extended hours at the pool
Our trip did not go exactly as planned. Unfortunately we did not get to use our Waterpark bracelets because we arrived to late and the next day was fully booked. I appreciated that we were not penalized for arriving at 7pm, however there was little time left for us to enjoy the facilities. Our room was standard but it was beyond noisy. Noise not only from the hallways but as the beds themselves. It sounded like an old wooden creaky bed that Paul Bunyan used when he first arrived to Wisconsin Dells.