Ratings based on 1,333 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Nice Family Getaway

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We stayed 2 nights at Chula Vista. The lodging was nothing too exciting. However we were rarely there, so it meet our needs just fine. The indoor water park was lots of fun for all of us (adults, 10 & 7 year olds) with things to do for all ages. We stayed in March, so I cannot comment on the outdoor water park. The food was good, and priced as we expected, for a resort. Overall, we were pleased, and would come back. Our kids are ready to go back right now!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Great hotel with a lot of possibilities..

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great location. Room was incredible. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Loved cooking our meals - we only ate out twice during the weekend.
Cons: Towels. Rooms cleaned before 5 pm. Decrease the chlorine in the water park.
Location: Excellent location - out of the craziness of town, easily drivable for movies, restaurants, etc.
This was my first stay at the dells and I was truly excited about the possibilities. We arrived in the evening - around 10 - and the lobby was crazy! There were drunk people all over complaining about the resort. Luckily our room was available and we checked in and went directly up after securing a luggage cart. We were told there was a lack of housekeeping services. Our room was clean but bare - we didn't have towels (just four hand towels for our party of six, no wash cloths or bath towels or bath mats in either bathroom) and no things to do the dishes with after using them. The room was wonderful - plenty of space for our two children and four grown ups. The view of the river was incredible. The two fireplaces gave great ambiance. Our hallway showed a little need for clean up but it was also St. Patrick's day weekend. The water park was tons of fun but the level of chlorine was crazy high. Need a bigger coffee pot - two cups is not enough for six people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring break getaway

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This was a perfect room for two adults and 6 kids. We loved the ability to cook in the room! We also appreciated the privacy the room added having two bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good time spent with family at water park

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Very good breakfast at the hotel restaurant
Cons: The mattress was pretty bad. I'm used with real good mattress I guess.
Overall it was a good staying. We like Chula Vista. The mattress was pretty bad. I'm used with real good mattress I guess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staffis is incredibly friendly.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Bathroom needs updating and our card reader was sketchy--often wouldn't work, but the staff was the friendliest I have ever seen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel 8 with cheezy southwestern décor and colors

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: It needs a total renovation and people who care about the facility instead of just taking peoples money because they can due to the tournament.
Location: I only stayed at the hotel because of the location to a volleyball tournament. Everyone else was staying here as well.
When I was checking in there were two separate groups of people in line with long list of complaints. I thought they were exaggerating. No they were not. Room was freezing and turned up the heat but did not do anything but made the fan circulate cold air even faster. bedding was cheap. I was waiting to see the bed bugs. cleaned everything when I got home. Had to take the blanket of the next bed so I had more to cover with. The shower was clogged so had to stand in 4 inches of water while I showered. Room was never cleaned once in the three day stay. The cleaning staff were outside my room one day. They asked if I wanted the room cleaned I said yes. They looked at me like they did not understand English. I asked, aren't you supposed to clean my room. They asked what I wanted and handed me fresh towels and a couple packages of coffee. That was it. When checking out I relay all this information to the person at the checkout desk. They did nothing nor did they really care. I think this is so often they have grown callus and just do a lot of nodding. If I could I would want all my money back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

So so hotel, great water park

Posted Feb 26, 2017
My first impression was the room is nice, but then I saw the bathroom. SMALL, and needed updating. Aside from the bathroom, the room was mostly clean, beds were uncomfortable, the rooms were noisy and drafty. If the bathroom were to be upgraded, I think I could have given a higher rating, but I thought for the amount of money spent, the room would have been a lot nicer. We stayed in a golf villa so we either had to drive or take a shuttle anywhere we wanted to go, including the water park. This wouldn't have been a big deal if the weather was warmer, but since we stayed in February, it was inconvenient. The water park was fantastic fun. I would return just for the water park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Michelle P, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Hour and a half checkin due to Expedia reservation not showing up; one check in person at busiest time; Luke warm water for shower in condo room; had to drive to and from water park
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Michelle P, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly room & uncomfortable beds

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: They had a Starbucks.
Cons: A LOT , new beds, new carpet, new TV, clear concise message about the room location in reference to the waterpark
It was NOT good at all. The check-in took 45 minutes. We stayed in a Golf Villa as soon as we opened the door we had an instant whiff of smelly feet. The beds were very uncomfortable. I would not stay there again for that price & experience. It was not clear that the room was not within a walking distance to the room and building we stayed in. There is only one building that has a connected walking tunnel to the water park. We did not even get to enjoy the water park because by the time we aired out our room got settled in it was dark & late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mason City, Iowa

Nice hotel room on the golf course

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We were pleased with the stay and facilities. Our room had a fireplace, patio, and nice kitchen set up. Also had a lot of fun at the indoor water park and arcade on grounds. The food was a little pricey but not too bad. And the water park was complimentary with our stay.