Ratings based on 1,359 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel for a long weekend

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown Dells. Waterpark was a good size for my kids and the condo room was spacious.
Cons: Increased frequency in cleaning up the waterpark areas, as well as bathrooms/showers. Mattress also needs to be replaced.
Location: Resort had minimal crafts for kids, and most crafts incur additional charges.
We stayed at the condo on the first floor and my initial thought was the noise would be a problem. We didn't have any problems with noise from the lobby. The condo was spacious and clean and very nice, but the mattress was not comfortable. We left with back problems after one night's rest. The waterpark was a good size from my 4 yo and 7 yo. However, the place should be cleaned more often. The bathroom floors were dirty and the shower was clogged by used towels. The waterpark floor also started to get muddy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Decent room

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The food at the hotel restaurants tasted mediocre at best and was way overpriced. The junior suite was a basic hotel room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The indoor water park ( went in the off season) was great for my 2 and 4 year olds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very understaffed.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Fun water slides and warm water in the park.
Cons: Hire more people.
At almost every turn this place missed the mark because of under staffing. Due to this I would recommend Kalahari over this resort. Even though Kalahari costs more, just go there. Understaffing issue 1: 1. My 8 year old daughter and I walked up to a slide with no line. We got half way up and then noticed a lifeguard at a nearby slide waving at us that the slide was closed. We turned around and went to the slide he managed. I asked why that slide was closed, (it had water running and did not seem broken), he told me, "There is no lifeguard to monitor it." 2. At the top of the water park is a landing where 6 slides launch. There was 1 lifeguard managing the entry and exit of all 6 slides. This may be possible when the park is slow, but when it is busy it creates a huge traffic jam. This 1 lifeguard had to make sure everyone who went down all 6 slides went in safely and came out at the bottom safely. As you can imagine this all takes time. The lines were long and they didn't need to be. 1 more lifeguard to help her would have helped a ton. 3. In the morning I went to the ToGo part of the restaurant to get a "quick" coffee and a donut for my daughter. I had to wait in line for 45mins because there was 1 employee running the register and fulfilling the orders. She was not able to keep up. You cannot expect someone to take orders and make lattes for people without a line forming. The employee were not lazy they were just overwhelmed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Understaffed

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Fun slides and warm waterpark water.
Cons: Have more staff. Too many lines due to too few employees.
The hotel and indoor waterpark were fun but the whole place in general is understaffed. I am not sure if that is a seasonal thing or its like this all year. Because of understaffing I would recommend Kalahari over this resort. Under staffing issues: 1. One of the water slides was closed. I asked the lifeguard why it was closed and he told me they didn't have a lifeguard to monitor it. 2. At the very top of the water park is a landing where 6 or 7 slides merge. 1 lifeguard was monitoring all of the slides. She had to make sure each person who went down came out safe at the bottom before the next person could go. This created quite the traffic jam as she struggled to handle all the slides at once. This should have been a 2 person job. Again, understaffed. 3. In the morning I went to the ToGo cafe to get 2 donuts and 1 coffee. I had to wait in line for 45mins because, again, 1 employee was running the register and handling the orders. She needed help and had none. This caused a traffic jam as the line grew and grew. Some people just gave up and left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The room was clean and a nice size - 2 queen beds and a small sitting area. Parking by our building was limited and there was no way to turn around. The information provided at check in stated that there was a library and an activity area - basically a small table in the hallway with a few books and coloring pictures. Our stay was during spring break so the indoor water park was extremely busy. There did not seem to be many options in the park for younger children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Everything was good. Only thing was in the room the people who clean it forgot to clean on top of the fridge and there was a lot of crumbs and cheese on top . Also, the patio had cigarettes all over it. Other than that it was a nice place to stay and the indoor park was awesome . Food was very expensive at the restaurants .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under staffed

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Our room wasn't ready for 3.5 hours after check in time. When we finally got into our room there was dirty dishes, crumbs in silverware drawer and a used bandaid on the bathroom shelf. The water park was disgusting, dirty towels all over and food left on tables and chairs. Under staffed as the manager had given way to many time off for spring break. Also I attempted several times to get ahold of him and never got a response. It was an awful experience. The kids even left the water park because it was way over crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west bend, wi

Hotel very nice, room not so much

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Enjoyed the hotel and waterpark. Room was not great. Bed sounded like it was going to break everyone you moved. Asked for extra blankets-never received. Short on towels, no coffee or supplies in room.for the inconvenience, they did give us a free breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but could be better.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: The waterpark was fun, and the staff were pleasant to talk to.
Cons: Need more life guards at the water park.
Location: We have a lot more fun at Wild Fun Zone and at Buffalo Phil's where your food is delivered via train!
The first room we were put it smelled musty and it was right at the elevators. So close that we could step on the elevator if we went stepped twice out of our room. The second room was further away from the elevator but still smelled musty. We think it's because they use fabric shower curtains that doesn't hold in the water, there was mold in the corners of the bathtub and tile. Also our room as constantly 75-78 degrees, we had to have the heat off and the windows open in order to cool it enough to sleep because the heat would turn on all the time even at the level of 58 degrees. The staff was nice when approached. The workout facility is a joke. Both my fiance and I are runners and we ran on the treadmills for a couple minutes and tripped the breaker for HALF the ROOM. I can't believe any electrician would think that's a good idea to have not only two treadmills on one circuit but four TV's, bikes, three lights, and a fan on the same circuit. Also the last straw for us was the water park. It was busy yes but half of the slides were running slow if at all because they didn't have enough lifeguards on duty to handle the amount of people they had. We would stay here again if all the above was addressed but next time we will stay at Kalahari.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great family vacation

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We loved everything that the place had to offer! I enjoyed the spa while the rest of the family hit the water park! Close to downtown for shopping and tons of fun on site!!