Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: It was a bit less expensive than some other hotels. and easy to get to off the freeway.
Cons: The overall worn look is off-putting. Old style keys rather than keypads or cards, and towels and sheets that are clean but worn. Paper signs taped
The maintenance of the hotel is lacking. Dirty worn carpets, dingy looking pool area, tiny shower area with barely adequate water pressure. The room was large enough, but odd chairs, and certainly could use some paint and decorating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worn and dated

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Lots of chipped veneer, frayed carpet, etc. this place needs to be brought up to date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portage, WI

Filthy carpeting

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Latge rooms and sink separate from toilet
Cons: Overall cleanliness.
The room was big. The beds were fine. The carpeting was terriblely stained, so you had to keep your shoes on. No breakfast included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portage

DO NOT BE TEMPTED!

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
We booked online. We arrived, checked in, and after walking from the parking lot, through hallways, and finally the room, we were astonished at the marred dirty walls, and the stained room carpeting and worn out decor and drapes etc. etc. etc. we collected our bags back up AND WALKED BACK OUT to leave the room empty that evening to continue on down the road to look for anoth er place to stay. I'll ask for a refund. We've booked many stays through Hotels.com and have been happy with the references but this was an epic fail all around!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

10 years ago might have been nice

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The location. The 60th High School Reunion that I was attending was having a party at the bar and restaurant that is next to the Hotel
Cons: Total up keep of the hotel so that the rooms could be rented to a more affluent clientel
Location: This area of Wisconsin has many events and Historical places and many brochures are available
I was totally surprized by the condition of the room and overal condition of the hotel. The outside presentation looks fine but upon entering the room. I noticed that the door latch had the screws backed out about 3/8 inch and almost scraped the door plate when opened or closed. Entering the room I noticed that a large area of the shagy blue carpet entering the bathroom was worn so bad that the wide beige weave of the underside stood out and was very noticable. The fan in the bathroom was connected to the light and when turned on made a sraping noise from no oil so most of the time I only used the light above the sink outside of the shower and toilet room. The place really didn't seem to be a hotel at all as there were to many people that were more like migrants rather than tourists passing through. I didn't see any other people going to their rooms in the wing where I stayed but the wing next to the office seemed to be rented on a perminant basis. Right in front of the hotel on several occasions I noticed vans with people sleeping inside as if they were living out of their vehicle. I moved my vehicle on several occasions so that it would not be parked on the side of such vans which would block the easy view of my car. If I had not paid the fee to Expedia up front I would not have stayed there. I was also informed by a Sheriff from the county that there was a domestic Homicide recently by some of the perminate occupants that were living there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
We had to change rooms because the bed was terrible old and springs weak. The next room was not much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The pool was very nice. The pool area had cracked tiles, chipped paint, no pool towels and otherwise exhibited the same general lack maintenance.
This hotel is very bedraggled, poorly maintained, and generally appears should be considered for the headache ball. The room which I was given had a pungent smell of necrotic biological material probably including sweat, skin, and other biological debris. The entire structure inside exhibits a lack of daily maintenance, sometimes as simple as paint, a few new tiles or other inexpensive repairs due to normal wear and tear. The use of voltage surge protectors (2 in my room) to provide additional outlets probably violates local fire codes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Pleasant

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Our stay was very satifactory. The rooms were clean the staff was pleasant. No clomplaints. We would stay there again. The food at the restaurant was average. I can't say enough about the service
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Allowed me to book one night close to enough to Dells area! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for the feedback..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee Wisconsin

Don't do it

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I would not stay again the pool was dirty the room had holes and cracks in the wall bed and couch was hurting my back but front desk workers was respectful and fast
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.