Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Staff were rude, didn't clean rooms every day. Rooms were good size, but not all outlets worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Federal Way WA

Do Hotels Overbook?

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We booked our trip through Expedia. We had a confirmation number. We attended a wedding and at 8:00 p.m. we were ready to go to the Fern Motel for a good night's sleep. When we arrived they had no room for us. Do hotels overbook? I showed the desk attendant my confirmation number and he was unable to explain what happened, nor could he get us a room in that town or any adjoining towns. We ended up driving an hour and a half to Osseo. We were so very tired and frightened by the deer jumping up onto the road. I'm not sure where the blame lies, on the motel or on Expedia, but it is unacceptable! So this survey forces one to rate several things (like room, etc.) that we never experienced, but need to rate in order to complete the survey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaCrosse WI

The hot water had been broke for 4 days and they d

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hot water had been broken for 4 days and you did not tell us upon checking in nor did they offer a credit at checkout until I complained.
4 out of 5
by Maribeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin Rapids

Breakfast, a great day starter, yum.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Close to our weekend event.
Cons: The chairs in our room were very uncomfortable; new cushions would correct the problem. An outside sitting area would make evening more enjoyable.
Location: Central WI has water activities everywhere you go, swimming, boating, fishing, etc.
The Fern was close to all the places we needed to be during our stay in the area. The next time we need to stay over in Wisconsin Rapids, The Fern will be on the top of the list.
2 out of 5
by Raymond

Not the best value for your dollar

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Let's just say I probably wont stay here again. Cudo's to the staff for being friendly and accommodating. The hot breakfast was average with unflavorful eggs but great waffles. The pool and hot tub need some serious updating. Our room was large and the bed was average for comfort but there was a distinct unpleasant odor. The chairs were once padded but are so old that the padding has collapsed making the chairs very uncomfortable. The 110 outlets are so old that anything plugged into them almost falls out. Tub/shower was OK except for the fixture handle was ready to fall off. I tightened it up with a phillips. Sink area was good. WiFi was good. TV needs to be mounted higher so it can be seen while lying in bed. King size bed was not too bad. Housekeeping staff was good. I feel I would rather spend an extra $10 and stay a bit further down the street next time.
4 out of 5
by Vicki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a quick stay

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Place was good for a quick nights stay
4 out of 5
by Sara

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Nice pool, hot run, and staff. Loved the waffle maker for breakfast! We would stay again!
1 out of 5
by Shelley

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Upon checking we got the wrong room, went to the desk and told them, they were hesitant to correct it. The next day, I received a phone call asking if we needed the double room WE BOOKED. I told them yes, we checked in approx 9P.M., our room was NOT ready. We waited in the lobby until 10pm. Apparently their housekeepers walked off the job that morning!!! This hotel should be taken OFF any booing list it is on!