Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe and secure.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
You gotta eat the buffet breakfast and dinner! Safe parking with boom gate no problem here. Rooms are great , beds comfortable. Good value would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Dominique from Issy les Moulineaux

Bon hôtel mais problème à l'enregistrement

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hôtel récent situé dans une zone commerciale et industrielle d'une ville minière. Pas d'attrait touristique mais à proximité de Joburg et très grand centre commercial voisin. L'hôtel, visiblement récemment inscrit au programme Hôtels.com tenait à nous faire payer la nuit une deuxième fois. Il a fallu plusieurs heures de négociation et l'intervention efficace du service client du site pour que le malentendu soit levé.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THUMBS UP

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good room in overall. The shower was very small. Toilet ventilation was limited. Kindly provide toilet refresher.
5 out of 5
by Harry from Bramley jhb

Excellence a home from home

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly exelent staff very clean rooms
5 out of 5
by Suelyn from Galway, Ireland

Good value for money

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by John

Semi-Luxurious hotel with 3 big faults

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Protea Hotel Highveld is a semi-luxurious hotel. The hotel is divided in 2 parts. The main part is where the reception is, however they claim it is the noisier section, but I must admit I heard nothing. The second section is across the parking area which is only rooms and they claim to have less noise. The positives are the room is good; quality of furniture and bedding is very good. Very good desk with plug on desk for businessman. All rooms are air conditioned. They have a large bathrooms but only a shower, toilet and a small basin with almost no shelf space. Only about 50% of the room is being used and the other 50% is just open space. Supper they tend to push you towards carvery, however you can insist on ala carte. The 3 big faults for me is a) there is no lift and many stairways, not suitable for the elderly or disables unless you insist on a ground floor room ahead of time. B) With all the space in the bathroom, more shelf space could be fitted to put your toiletries on. C) my biggest gripe is there is not door between the bathroom and the bedroom. You can lie in bed and watch your partner go to the toilet. If I was not travelling alone, this alone would have been a reason to checkout.
5 out of 5
by Nomboniso from Woodmead, Johannesburg

Pleasant Surprise All Round!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
What an excellent find! I was pleasantly surprised by everything, from the hospitality, the location, the settings and the food. Best place to stay in the city, period!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Formidabile rapporto qualità (molto alta) e prezzo (contenuto)
4 out of 5
by Megan from South Africa

Okay for Emalahleni

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
There is not much to choose from in Emalahleni - so for a short stay on a business trip this hotel was adequate. With a Protea Hotel you know what you are getting as it is part of a chain. I did find the dinner to be overpriced and not great for the cost.
4 out of 5
by Nolan from Sandton, Johannesburg

Family holiday

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed it, not much time spent at the hotel itself due to attending an event, but loved the spacious rooms (family room). Will definitely book a family room again.