Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
My son and I stayed in a feature room for 2 nights, room very small and looking tired and bathroom even smaller still!!! Fortunately my son and I are both on the petite side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Radlett

Idealic location.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: River view was very nice, peaceful. Helpful staff. Good breakfast.
Cons: Pool facilities for children. Quality of bathroom, as loo seat was small and plastic/old. Bath needs regrouting. No room service menu or bar fridge.
Nice welcome and able to check in easily. Staff knowledgeable on the local area. Size of mill rooms as a twin bedroom was rather cramped and we had to ask for a chair to be removed to walk around one side of the bed. Storage was very poor and we ended up leaving our clothes in our suitcases as there was very little room for folded clothes or hanging space. Fine for one night, but any longer is not great. Restaurant was good and menu was varied, albeit some of the dishes were disappointing e.g. Steak. We were very disappointed that the pool facilities advertised on the website were only for spa customers and if guests wanted to use the pool/sauna, they have to pay a surcharge of £25 per person per day! As a 5 star hotel, this felt inappropriate. In addition, only 16+ can use the pool etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Comfortable, tranquil, relaxing

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Informal, but efficiently run.
Cons: Thats for the managemnt to decide
Location: Lovely countryside and picturesque villages
Excellent location with scenic walks in the grounds and surrounding countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Stunning idyllic location. Good base for exploring Cotswolds. Lots of character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful landscape

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The landscape and the great outdoors
Cons: Carpets can go and the bathroom can be refigured to make a better use of the limited space.
Location: Take a 10 minute walk to Minster Lovell Hall, ruins of a manor house.
This hotel is a page from a storybook. Located in a beautiful quaint small town with a breathtaking landscape and outdoors. The street the hotel is on is lined with beautiful English cottages which begs one to take walk or ride a bike. The restaurant is located in a different building across a narrow country road which adds more charm to this hotel.The hotel staff were super nice and friendly. Beautiful decorations all over the hotel. The room was very clean but a bit stuffy. There was this smell that perhaps can be contributed to the carpeting. The bathroom was small and inconvenient. When getting out of the large bathtub, basically there was not a whole lot of space for one to dry himself. A smaller shower and sink would have given the bathroom a more spacious feel. Overall it is a great hotel and we enjoyed our time there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sian

Stunning hotel, breakfast service needs improvemen

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
A stunning building, very tastefully decorated a really lovely hotel. Room quite small, enormous comfortable bed, pillows too soft. Breakfast needs better organising and some of the staff look as though they really don't want to be there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and surroundings. Had 2 good meals. Very relaxing stay
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Idyllic location

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, lovely staff, really comfy rooms. A bit disappointed that we had to pay to use the pool, £25 each and there was no negotiation. This should really have been clear on the booking. Otherwise a really nice relaxing break. Restaurant staff were particularly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent,UK

Lovely for short weekend break.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The Location, staff friendliness, overall atmosphere of the place
Cons: Service was slow on a few occasions. Plumbing in the rooms above the pub.
Location: We paid a visit to the wildlife park which proved a hit. Great for kids, dogs and a good day out. Burford and Butron-on-the-Water are must doos.
We stayed in a superior room for two nights. These rooms are above the old pub which makes them very cosy and 'old' room was just about big enough but there was a little lack of room and found ourselves tripping up on things a few times. Had a little issue with plumbing but I'd put that down to the Victorians rather than the hotel. Breakfast was great, good selection of bits to choose from. Facilities were nice, the spa was a little smaller than expected but was quiet which was a bonus. We ate in the restaurant one evening, service was great however slight issue with a steak but this was handled brilliantly by the staff. Gardens are beautiful and the surroundings are just as stunning.