Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Stunning idyllic location. Good base for exploring Cotswolds. Lots of character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful landscape

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The landscape and the great outdoors
Cons: Carpets can go and the bathroom can be refigured to make a better use of the limited space.
Location: Take a 10 minute walk to Minster Lovell Hall, ruins of a manor house.
This hotel is a page from a storybook. Located in a beautiful quaint small town with a breathtaking landscape and outdoors. The street the hotel is on is lined with beautiful English cottages which begs one to take walk or ride a bike. The restaurant is located in a different building across a narrow country road which adds more charm to this hotel.The hotel staff were super nice and friendly. Beautiful decorations all over the hotel. The room was very clean but a bit stuffy. There was this smell that perhaps can be contributed to the carpeting. The bathroom was small and inconvenient. When getting out of the large bathtub, basically there was not a whole lot of space for one to dry himself. A smaller shower and sink would have given the bathroom a more spacious feel. Overall it is a great hotel and we enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Idyllic location

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, lovely staff, really comfy rooms. A bit disappointed that we had to pay to use the pool, £25 each and there was no negotiation. This should really have been clear on the booking. Otherwise a really nice relaxing break. Restaurant staff were particularly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent,UK

Lovely for short weekend break.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The Location, staff friendliness, overall atmosphere of the place
Cons: Service was slow on a few occasions. Plumbing in the rooms above the pub.
Location: We paid a visit to the wildlife park which proved a hit. Great for kids, dogs and a good day out. Burford and Butron-on-the-Water are must doos.
We stayed in a superior room for two nights. These rooms are above the old pub which makes them very cosy and 'old' room was just about big enough but there was a little lack of room and found ourselves tripping up on things a few times. Had a little issue with plumbing but I'd put that down to the Victorians rather than the hotel. Breakfast was great, good selection of bits to choose from. Facilities were nice, the spa was a little smaller than expected but was quiet which was a bonus. We ate in the restaurant one evening, service was great however slight issue with a steak but this was handled brilliantly by the staff. Gardens are beautiful and the surroundings are just as stunning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by AARON

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Justin

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel in such a beautiful part of the country. Ajoining pub was really nice (food was so so), but all in all a fantastic experience. Highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by Milena

Not good for the money!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was not really good.No internet and mobile perception at all.Room was a bit small and not so warm.The lady at the reception did not give an invoice and also I have asked several times about cancelling my last night ,but no one hadnt get back to me. As a overall not satisfied for the amount of money I've paid!
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels