Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
My son and I stayed in a feature room for 2 nights, room very small and looking tired and bathroom even smaller still!!! Fortunately my son and I are both on the petite side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Radlett

Idealic location.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: River view was very nice, peaceful. Helpful staff. Good breakfast.
Cons: Pool facilities for children. Quality of bathroom, as loo seat was small and plastic/old. Bath needs regrouting. No room service menu or bar fridge.
Nice welcome and able to check in easily. Staff knowledgeable on the local area. Size of mill rooms as a twin bedroom was rather cramped and we had to ask for a chair to be removed to walk around one side of the bed. Storage was very poor and we ended up leaving our clothes in our suitcases as there was very little room for folded clothes or hanging space. Fine for one night, but any longer is not great. Restaurant was good and menu was varied, albeit some of the dishes were disappointing e.g. Steak. We were very disappointed that the pool facilities advertised on the website were only for spa customers and if guests wanted to use the pool/sauna, they have to pay a surcharge of £25 per person per day! As a 5 star hotel, this felt inappropriate. In addition, only 16+ can use the pool etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Comfortable, tranquil, relaxing

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Informal, but efficiently run.
Cons: Thats for the managemnt to decide
Location: Lovely countryside and picturesque villages
Excellent location with scenic walks in the grounds and surrounding countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Stunning idyllic location. Good base for exploring Cotswolds. Lots of character.
5 out of 5
by theresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
This is the second time that we have stayed here. The hotel and the area are lovely but we did feel a bit let down by the service this time. All of the staff were friendly and polite but it seemed to be poorly managed in all areas, with staff needing some training and organisation. We were kept waiting a long time at the bar every time we used it (staff would be doing other things with the bar left unattended, or go to get something and come back 10 minutes later), in the restaurant for our evening meal (service was very slow), at both breakfast services etc. Breakfast particularly was badly run - the first morning we waited forever for our coffees and had to ask again to get them. Our breakfast also took a very long time to arrive. The next day we sat outside and again had to keep asking to get what we had ordered and then basic things like salt/pepper for our eggs, sugar for our tea/coffee were not brought to the table. When we asked for some information at reception re walks etc, there was little local knowledge and the receptionist merely Googled things, as we could have done ourselves. Overall, a lovely hotel with great rooms, grounds, spa etc but let down by what appears to be a lack of good management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful landscape

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The landscape and the great outdoors
Cons: Carpets can go and the bathroom can be refigured to make a better use of the limited space.
Location: Take a 10 minute walk to Minster Lovell Hall, ruins of a manor house.
This hotel is a page from a storybook. Located in a beautiful quaint small town with a breathtaking landscape and outdoors. The street the hotel is on is lined with beautiful English cottages which begs one to take walk or ride a bike. The restaurant is located in a different building across a narrow country road which adds more charm to this hotel.The hotel staff were super nice and friendly. Beautiful decorations all over the hotel. The room was very clean but a bit stuffy. There was this smell that perhaps can be contributed to the carpeting. The bathroom was small and inconvenient. When getting out of the large bathtub, basically there was not a whole lot of space for one to dry himself. A smaller shower and sink would have given the bathroom a more spacious feel. Overall it is a great hotel and we enjoyed our time there.
5 out of 5
by Mike

A blissful retreat set in beautiful countryside

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel, as we were un able to get a vacancy in Woodstock... We booked the Old Swan & Minster Mill as it was the closest available to Woodstock. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the hotel & its setting! Moreover, the room, facilities & customer service were exemplary. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, for a getaway from the hustle & bustle of life - a truly wonderful retreat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sian

Stunning hotel, breakfast service needs improvemen

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
A stunning building, very tastefully decorated a really lovely hotel. Room quite small, enormous comfortable bed, pillows too soft. Breakfast needs better organising and some of the staff look as though they really don't want to be there.