Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
A little disappointed than we expected. TV network was not working, breakfast was only coffee and cereal bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We regret not meeting all your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with your TV. Our engineering team will be addressed to take care of it immediately. Your feedback is valuable and will help us make improvements to our facilities and amenities. We value your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
The rrom eas ok but the fridge was so laud and gsp in curtaul leading light in bed eas clean bit the rest of the room could have usrd a good scrub down
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay. We want every guest who stays with us to have a comfortable experience and to depart with a lasting favorable impression. We fell short in making that happen for you, and we are truly sorry. Although your experience is not typical of our service delivery, we obviously have room to improve, and I assure you we will. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another opportunity to serve you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Decent hotel close to shopping and the highway

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: A new bed and a short walk from car to room.
Cons: The room had a moderate smell of cigarettes.
Location: The hotel is right off of route 95 and a block from groceries.
The check in person was very pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was minimal: coffee, tea, granola bars and wrapped muffins. I made the mistake of taking a room next to the entrance and there was some traffic and closing of doors. On the other hand, I parked next to the entrance for a short walk to my room. My room had a new comfortable bed, but had a bit of cigarette smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the odor in the room you mentioned, While we are smoke free some guests do not follow the policy. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future should your travels bring you to the area.
3 out of 5
by Billie Jo

Not so happy this time!

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
There was NO wifi for the 2 days 1 night we stayed as a family, we booked the room for 4 nights, my husband stayed solo the remaining nights for business. Also, the pull out bed was so UNCOMFORTABLE, we wont be back.
5 out of 5
by Renee

Hotel stay

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
I like it. It was better than the one in Burlington
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am more than pleased to reed you had an excellent stay at our hotel without any issues. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
4 out of 5
by Robert

Good value

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for the $$ decent location friendly staff. Wireless service was poor. Otherwise fine
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay, especially our affordable rates for accommodations, but please accept our apologies that the WiFi was an issue during your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by Chanelle

Needs work...

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok....the hotel is emtremely small and tight and the customer service was acceptable in the daytime but the overnight staff was HORRIBLE shes the reason i am rating this hotel poorly because she didnt try at all....she just didnt care, she did the bare minimum and you could tell she was used to doing nothing because me asking for something as simple as condiments and utensils was too much of a task for her to deal with apparently. Horrible staff i wish i took her name down because customer service is clearly not her thing she needs to be fired because she didnt make me feel welcomed, she made me feel judged and ingnored. Will never stay here again. ..all in all you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
by Meaghan

Ok if not spending much time in your room

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was ok. When we asked for a rollaway bed/cot the front desk didn't know what we were talking about. Pullout couch was ok for comfort except for the metal parts. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a weird setup where the sink was outside and the shower and toilet were inside a small closed door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Go somewhere else. Everything here, starting with customer service is so bad so bad I don't even have a word to say what's like. Rude, disrsicpectul, careless, no worth your money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is especially disappointing to read that you did not receive adequate customer service. Our staff will be addressed on the proper commuincation standards that must be maintained at all times. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town
5 out of 5
by extended stay from Woburn

very happy with my stay

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
I am a long term guest who is very impressed with staff, Nina has helped me many times has stayed a few mins past the end of her shift to ensure that I was ok and had all I needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you received excellent customer service from our staff. Nina will be informed on the excellent job she did assisting you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.