Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Had to compromise

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Reserved 2 two-bedroom suites on the same floor, and confirmed 24 hours before our arrival. When arrived, there were no suites available on the same floor as previously confirmed. I had to compromise and got 1 one bed and 1 two bed suites. There were no apologies or efforts remedy the original situation. Administrator I still alive full price for everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that we were unable to provide you with your original request. We always strive to honor our guest requests and at times our availability changes and we are unable to meet each request and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope that you were pleased with the layout of the suites that were provided. All of our rooms are fully equipped suites and I hope that our accommodations met with your satisfaction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I will never stay here again.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
This is the second time I have stayed here and the fire alarm has gone offing themiddle of the night both times. I found out that this a command probable at this location. So if you like your sleep stay some were else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for a second visit and we are disheartened to read of the unfortunate coincidence of our fire alarm sounding during both of your visits. The safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but pet fee to high and not refundable

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The suites are comfortable and functional. The housekeeping and buffet staff do a great job. Healthy choices for breakfast along with the usual fare. Pet fee is too high! $100 regardless of length of stay and not refundable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at our extended stay, pet-friendly hotel. While I am delighted that you were pleased with the choices available at our complimentary breakfast buffet, it is disheartening to hear that you were not pleased with the fee for our guests traveling with their four-legged family members. The cleanliness of our property is of the utmost importance to us and we ensure that any room occupied by a pet will be cleaned thoroughly and prepared for our next guest. We appreciate your five-star rating and hope for the chance to welcome you back to the Residence Inn Woburn again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Consistent Marriott Quality appreciated

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for two nights and appreciated the consistency of service and quality of property. We had good nights sleep and moved on. Rooms are clean, staff were helpful and breakfast was good. The only glitch was that in this area everything closes early and also not much around so if you are showing up late make sure you grab dinner or bring takeout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your two nights here and that you were pleased with our guestrooms, helpful staff and complimentary breakfast buffet. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Residence Inn Woburn and we hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the Boston area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chadwicks NY

A wonderful stay!!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The service, the cleanliness, and the breakfast! ! Location is great too, right off the highway.
Cons: Although we were very pleased with the accommodations they did give us, the overbooking issue shouldn't happen.
Location: Right off the highway - easy access to Boston and the North Shore. Limitless things to do.
The Boston Woburn Residence Inn is a class act all the way!! We were staying the weekend in the area with a party of six so half of us could fish out of Gloucester and the rest could check out witchy stuff in Salem. I had booked a two bedroom suite and was informed upon check in that the hotel was overbooked and we'd been moved into 2 one bedroom suites instead. This turned out to be just fine - a queen bed and queen sleeper sofa in each suite gave us plenty of room. The suites were spotless, the beds comfy. Can't say enough about the staff - housekeeping, breakfast servers, security, and manager (who was actually out and about with guests in the hotel making sure everyone was comfortable! ) were all so accommodating and top notch! Great breakfast buffet in the am too! If you're in need of a place to stay in the Boston /North Shore area, look no further!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall great stay but pet fees too high!

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Mix-up on check in. We arrived to find out we would have to wait an hour for our room to be available because previous occupant checked out late. We were not happy because we only had a short time to clean up and meet friends for dinner. The desk clerk wasn't about to do anything about it and was quite unpleasant. Fortunately the manager stepped in and offered us a smaller room to clean up in and said they would move our luggage to our room once it was done. This worked and was appreciated. Everything else was great. Good location, nice accommodation and with the exception of the one clerk at check in, good service. Only other con was $100 pet fee, which for one night is very high and not refundable. It is $100 per stay, so if you stay a week, probably worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. While I am disheartened to read that your room was not ready upon arrival, I am delighted that our team was able to provide you with arrangements that met with your approval. We love welcoming our guests’ four-legged family members and our pet fee is in place to ensure that the level of cleanliness is never compromised when welcoming furry friends to our hotel. It is a delight to read that your overall stay with us was enjoyable and we hope for the chance to welcome you back to the Residence Inn Woburn again in the future. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Hotel was clean, quite, and comfortable. The staff were friendly, knowledgable, and were helpful with suggestions for events in Salem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our friendly staff was able to provide you with exceptional service and wonderful suggestions for events in our area. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Residence Inn Woburn and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice hotel but in an industrial area; need car to access anything. Probably best for business travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special, just a solid 3 star stay.

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing special. Small bed that is not quite a queen. Loud AC unit in the room. Kitchenette was older.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is disheartening to read that you were not overly impressed with your time at our hotel. Your feedback is not reflective of a typical stay with us and we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back in the future, so we can provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient location. Easy check-in and out. Decent free breakfast. Room size was great. Nice to have an actual dining table in our room to sit and eat a meal. The mattress was way too soft, not comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It’s delightful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were pleased with our location, check in process and complimentary breakfast buffet. All of the guestrooms at our extended stay hotel are suites and I’m happy that having all the comforts of home made your visit that much better. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future at the Residence Inn Woburn. Thank you.