Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield

Friendly accommodation on the edge of Wokingham

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: The general friendliness and the breakfast.
Cons: The bathroom could benefit from a bit of updating.
Location: The location just on the edge of town is good. Everything is within easy reach but its away from any noise. Its only a short drive to Windsor Castle.
Julie the landlady is one of the nicest characters you could hope to meet. This is a friendly hotel just on the edge of Wokingham and everything is within a short walking distance. The library is just across the road plenty of cafes and restaurants just up the road. A Wetherspoons pub is about 100 yards away. The accommodation is basic but secure. The breakfast is brilliant and will set you up for the day. Wifi is good in the bar area only. Serious road works seem to be going on all over Wokingham which makes entry to the car park a little difficult. If you see someone in the bar they will facilitate entry or do it carefully yourself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Room was comfortable but needed a sprucing up and repainting. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful experience

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately when I checked in a young lad had been left to run the pub and didn't know what he was doing. I was given the cleaners key which did not have a key to the outside door. He advised that a key wasn't necessary. Not the case though and so at 2 in the morning I couldn't get in to my room and the put was locked up. Luckily friends were staying in an outside room and I had to stay in their room with 2 single beds for 3 of us. Also, when I did get in the room there was no shower, only a bath with stains in it and the mugs needed a proper clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by sarah

WILL RETURN 2018

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
This is the second year we have stayed at the DUKES HEAD. As a family I will return next year. Everybody is so pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and convenient for my work

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Cant fault the friendliness of the guy I presume to be the owner, cracking welcome. The room itself was a little tatty, some odd decor and felt just a little unloved but it was comfy enough. No wifi reception in the rooms opposite the pub is worth noting, password supplied no problem within the pub itself. Very handy for central Wokingham. Food was good, both evening meal and breakfast, being picky the salad was far too cold on the evening mains but boy was I full at the end of it... no dessert required. Couple of real ales on the bar to chose from too, all good.
1 out of 5
by Gary

Not recommended

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room badly needs refurbishment. Lack of wifi was a problem. No hanging as wardrobe full of establishment beds etc. Bathroom light only partly working ..hook hanging off door...bad leak from shower staining wall and bath...as weather was hot room very warm no fan! Breakfast was best part
4 out of 5
by Julie-Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels