Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire UK

VFM hotel handy for Wolverhampton Civic

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: Quality of bed and pillows. Addition of air con but appreciate building is quite old and 'characterful'.
Location: Wolverhampton civic in walking distance. Handy for train station.
Good central location. Bed and pillows uncomfortable. Radiator on full blast as we arrived meaning room too hot for our liking. Temperature fine when returned to room several hours after switching radiator off. So not as easy to adjust as air con.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Close to Station and Civic Hall.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs money spending to update rooms.
Location: It is about 200 yards from Train Station and close to WolverhamptonTown centre. We visited for the Darts. There is also a Wetherspoons opposite.
Hotel is convenient and good if you just want a central place to stay and don't plan to stay long in the room. No hot water in room and Toilet didn't flush properly. But cheap so I would stay again if just for the one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Very convenient for the city & station.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Central location, reasonable prices. I was there for the darts Grand slam & the city was really busy.
Cons: I would have liked a straight-backed chair at the table & mirror area. Only one easy chair for two people. Sky TV? would have been great.
Location: Wetherspoons is virtually opposite the hotel & provides good value meals & breakfasts It is also accessible.
The lady, I rang to check access facilities was pleasant & remembered my call. Checking in was a bit slow, as the hotel was full & everyone seemed to be arriving at once. Slight confusion as she had thought my mini scooter would go in the lift & room. The lift was very small & it wouldn't, also a couple of steps en route to the room. I was able to walk to the room from the lift & my scooter was safe down in reception. Although going out later was reduced to where I could walk to with my stick, as all the fuss getting the ramps out to get the scooter in & out of the front door was a bit time-consuming. Bit noisy outside when window open, but this is city center & reasonably priced room. Someone started the fire alarm at 4.20am.which all residents could have done without. Overall a positive experience. I would stay here again for an event in the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Historic hotel: dreadful customer service

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: not very much. It is a nice building and was obviously once an important hotel but the staff were dreadful
Cons: Give customers some heating which they can control and ensure the rooms are warm on very cold nights. Improve customer service significantly
Location: The hotel is very well located. Right in the centre of the town within 100 metres of the railway and bus stations and next door to the theatre.
I arrived at the hotel quite late. There were two men on reception. One ignored me and caried on playing with the till. The other took my name and gave me a key but didnt smile or show any degree of welcome or pleasantness. I asked about getting a sandwich as I had not eaten. He said he was too busy and asked me to go and wait on a sofa. He ileft me there for about 15 minutes by which time I was fed up so went to the kebab shop across the road to get some food. On returning I had to walk up the stairs with my bag as both elevators were out of order. When in the room, I found there was no heating. It got increasingly cold so I complained to reception. The man told me t hat the heating usually comes on at about 5am. He offered me a quilt but half an hour later it had not arrived. In the morning the radiator was working slightly but the room was still very cold and the water in the shower was only luke warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice ordinary hotel in centre of Wolverhampton

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Because it's in the centre of the town I would recommend it to anyone. The staff are alright.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wolvehampton

No car park in hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
My room window handle is broken and could close the window properly. Very calf room. Anable to control the heating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Needs work!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
This hotel has the potential to be excellent but needs a lot of investment of time and money. Day to day maintenance is sadly deficient and the ambience is of an old lady past her best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Nice hotel heater wasn’t working so they upgraded me, the staff are friendly,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

So bad, had to leave

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel room dirty (hairs on the toilet) spoke to reception who got me their manageress. She was rude, abrupt and didn’t even apologise. Asked for a refund as I wasn’t willing to stay but was declined, even though I had literally just made the payment. The only person to apologise was one of the guys on reception, a foreign gentleman. Others couldn’t give a toss so they must know how bad the rooms are. Vile place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

Dirty

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Bathroom and bedroom not clean. Old chewing gum stuck to wall. Hairs on bathroom floor. Walls dirty. Taps dirty. Dark and dingy room .