Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Tin from WV

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: I liked that it was close to craft show where we were vendors, and the carpet was decent compared to everything else.
Cons: New mattresses, fix sink, provide hair dryers like most hotels do now, and better breakfast.
Location: Convenient location to historic Occoquan and Potomac River activities.
The room had a strange smell, the sink was cracked, tub water running out was ear shattering, bed was beyond horrible, some of the continental breakfast was in plastic bags (it would not hurt to have fresh donuts). Plugged in the cell phone and the plugin apparently had no electric to it, so had to charge it in the car the next day. The only saving grace was that I forgot cell phone in room and went back an hour later and it was still there. We were vendors at a local show and basically needed an inexpensive place to sleep one night. The room served the purpose, but if we go to show next year, we will find another place to stay.
2 out of 5
by Chilimon from Cincinnati

Older Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful
Cons: Remodel the entire hotel, install an elevator, better wheelchair access.
Location: Hotel is in an out of the way area. There are good eateries with in 5 to 20 minutes such as Dixie Bones BBQ and the usual fast food joints.
The Inns of Virginia is an older hotel and is showing it's age. Carpets are worn, paint is chipped through out the building, no elevator available for the upper floors and limited wheelchair (which I needed) access to the main floor. Beds were worn but the mattresses were protected against bed bugs. Pillows were small but flat. My room had a small but clean microwave, and small refer. Very handy. In this day and age most hotels I've stayed in have had wifi and enough outlets to charge up my cell phone, iPad and such. Not this one. No wifi, & I had to unplug the clock radio to have an outlet to plug my chargers into. Also there are several families living at the hotel so that the noise levels are higher at all hours. Not just noise from the usual t.v.'s but from loud arguments, conversations, parents trying to wake up their children for school. The maids did a great job in cleaning my room and providing fresh towels and such.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value for the area.

Posted Jul 9, 2013
The hallways smelled smokey, but the room was alright. This is an older hotel, but well maintained. The atmosphere was not as pleasant as newer hotels because of the darker colors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thank goodness it was only a short stay.

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: The smell. Having an operational air conditioner, or any type of airflow system.
This hotel offers weekly rates. Pretty much enough said. The clientele sitting on the front steps made this hotel immediately seem sketchy. No elevator so hauled heavy luggage upstairs. Room smelled, which was made worse by the air conditioner being out of order (there was actually no airflow system working in the room) and not being able to open the window. The room just felt dingy and dirty. I would not recommend this hotel for a family stay.
2 out of 5
by Tom from Delaware

Disappointing Accomodations

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The continental breakfast and the building exterior and grounds.
Location: We were not interested in things to do nearby. We were in town for a wedding.
After a fairly long arduous ride, we arrived at what appeared to be a run-down motel. The exterior of the building was extremely dirty. It was located in an industrial part of Woodridge amidst abandoned, dilapidated former business buildings. My wife and I were intially concerned for our safety in this part of the community. However, we swallowed hard and went inside. We were greeted by several of the friendliest people we have ever encountered. This helped greatly to diminish our fears. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. We were, however, disappointed in certain aspects of the room accomodations (no iron, bathtub stopper not functional and dim room lighting). Nor was the room ready upon our arrival (we arrived at 4:30pm and the room was supposed to ahve been ready for us by 2:00pm). We were also disappointed in the continental breakfast. There were no sticky buns or do-nuts, no milk or cereals. The only food offerings were plain bagels, somewhat stale bread and tiny muffins. The coffee, however, was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Cons: A lot of pubic hair in the bed
This place is a complete dump. I think it's being used as an "hourly" hotel. Absolutely filthy, smelled horrible, sheets had not been changed, bed covered with pubic hair. The worst place I have ever stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by harlas from Texas

Great hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Rooms were more like suites
Cons: nothing
Location: Location was good, Close to stores
This hotel is really nice, location was good. Rooms were good, the breakfast was the usual bread items, but overall a really nice place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Apr 24, 2012
The outside looks a little rundown and unattractive. But, nice staff, decent room, and comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location Is an Issue

Posted Jan 25, 2012
While the hotel was generally clean and maintained, I felt unsafe in the area. There was a questionable-looking young man using the phone and one hanging around in the parking lot when I got there. When I left the hotel at 2 a.m., there were two young men in the parking lot making a transaction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Not Again

Posted Nov 28, 2011
Location: Fairfax or Springfield area.
We just needed to stay the night near the Potomac Mills Outlet Mall. Staff was courteous and the location was great at 5 miles . The room had a bad musky smell, rug looked dirty, beat and faded including the hallway rug. The sink was cracked and electric wall outlet was loose. Free breakfast was inadequate with only coffee, bagles, sliced bread, orange juice a few pre-packed bread fillings. Although the room and bathroom was generally clean, the smell was what made us decide to avoid this hotel in the future.