Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Horrible smell throughout the entire hotel!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Absolutely hated this hotel!!! It was definitely not worth the $112 per night! There is a damp, musty smell throughout! The smell would not go away! My husband and I could not wait to checkout in the morning! In fact, we got up extra early so we could leave! The bed was not comfortable! The bathroom, surprisingly wasn't too bad! Also, The two workers at the front desk were descent. If this hotel was priced between $60-$70 per night it would be more appropriate and I wouldn't have even wasted my time to write a review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable - barely

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Conveniently located near our entertainment venue.
Cons: Fix the stuff that is busted before the room is rented out to the next visitor.
Location: Excel Energy Center.
We were surprised to find the entrance door to our room warped. We really had to shove to get the door open/closed. The HVAC was supposed to work off of a wall thermostat but was unresponsive when we adjusted it. Neither of us slept too well because the room was too warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We didn't stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff was very gracious. After checking in, we decided to go elsewhere. The hotel did not charge us for the reservation.
Cons: The hallways smelled moldy. The room also had a different unpleasant odor. The room was small. A Kingsize bed room did not have an easy chair.
Location: Right next to 3M. Easy shot into St. Paul. Right off 94 and close to the eastern bypass of 494/694.
We were looking for a hotel in East St. Paul that wasn't too expensive, but had all the amenities. This hotel fell short of what we were looking for. The hotel seemed cramped and the rooms were small. For example, our room with a king size bed didn't have an easy chair. The hotel has an attached restaurant, useful if you are traveling in what can be a very cold winter. I was impressed by the hotel staff who didn't charge us when we left after checking in. We did pay the higher price for the room allowing us to cancel the reservation. They explained they would charge us for a night if we handn't shown up, but would not charge us for deciding not to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by GMWoodbury, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your arrival. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very nice staff, knowledgable, clean rooms, nice tv, bed. Even let us know at checkin that they had organized a free shuttle to Xcel center for guests going to that evenings event! And complimentary cookies were fantastic. Very happy with our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was OK.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast!
Cons: Cleanliness of the hallways.
Location: Seemed like a drive for everything we wanted to do. Would pick a better location next time.
When we arrived the pool was down for maintenance. Would have been good to know before we booked the stay as that's what the kids always want to do when we go to a motel. Especially at the price. It was back up and running as we checked out. The hallway carpets were very dirty and not vacuumed. So that made me worry about the rest of the cleanliness. However the rooms were very clean and nice. And the continental breakfast was amazing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Always reliable - clean, quiet, and comfortable

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This is a wonderfully reliable hotel with convenient access to I-94, a pleasant free breakfast, and rooms that are generally clean and comfortable. If you're looking for lavish decor, plush beds and linens, or exceptional guest relations, look elsewhere. The adjacent Green Mill restaurant is a very useful attraction, as is the abundant albeit convoluted parking. This property is reliably clean and comfortable and rarely disappoints. Good value near St. Paul.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to pool but out of order so couldn't enjoy

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Due to computers and pool out of order they couldn't gives us anything in return for that. No shuttle to anything but for business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

some problems

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The pool was being re-surfaced so that was out - also they had problems with a sump - so it smelled terrible in the halls when we first arrived. But the room was clean and smelled good. Staff was very friendly and want to give a good report for the shuttle driver Ryan - he was VERY nice and was on time to pick us up
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road trip perch

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location - easy access to the highway. Amenities. Good breakfast!
Cons: Exercise room was dismal.
The staff were cheerful and professional. Check in was fast. The hotel is under renovation, so some unsightly areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Socal

Good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Near highway to get around
Was in St. Paul area for a couple of days to see family. Pool, staff and room were all nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by GMWoodbury, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our pool and the room exceeded you expectations. We look forward to your next stay.