Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Room

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I thought the food was good and the staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely.
Cons: Room 406! And the lady at reception that I complained to the following morning thought it more important to answer the telephone whilst I was speaking
Location: its ok
The photos of the bedrooms on the Expedia web site did not reflect the room that I stayed in. The quality of the room was utterly disgusting, not only in cleanliness but also the fact that it was totally outdated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping Inconsistent

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: The Green Owl in Buckhurst Hill is a great place for breakfast and also the deli on Chigwell Parade makes good coffee.
The hotel is ok if you need to be in the Woodford Bridge/Chigwell area. Main grip is that the housekeeping staff really need to lift their game. On more than one occasion only one set of of towels were left in our room which required us calling down to the desk. Similarly housekeeping often failed to replace the two bottles of complimentary water in the room, one being sparkling and the other still. If intending to park a car at the hotel during your stay be aware that the hotel hosts a lot of functions and on the weekends at night parking for guests can almost be negligible . Breakfast is pretty ordinary and we mostly went elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

restaurant & housekeeping very poor

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The function room service and facilities
Cons: The restaurant service and housekeeping of the hotel left an awful lot to be desired.
Location: Location was good with shops & good pub nearby. Hotel plenty of parking but they are about to start charging £5 per day.
We ere booked in for 4 nights & had to request 2nd set of towels on 3 occasions. The restaurant food was good but they have a limited choice and had run out of one of the 6 starters and 2 0f the main course choices. Worryingly as the restaurant was about 1/3rd full on a Thursday evening. We ere a party of 8 but they had differing height tables so set our party up SEPARATELY as a table of 6 & a table of 2 !! We also had to wait 1hr 30mins between out starter and main courses. We were there for a wedding reception and in fairness the wedding reception food vice was faultless. I would suggest they concentrate on functions only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Mundia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this medium, following your visit to the Prince regent Hotel Please accept our belated apologies that your visit did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am sorry that your room amenities had not been replaced in a timely manner and obviously, this is something I have already mentioned to our Executive Housekeeper, who will take appropriate action. The meals at the hotel are generally regarded as an enjoyable experience; we apologise that we run out of a few items on the menu and I am sorry it was disappointing to you. Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken in offering your feedback as it is only by guests appraising us of such issues that we are able to review and refine our services and products. Meanwhile, I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kind regards Mundia
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Didn't seem like a 4* hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: Rooms need updating. Furniture old, no drawer space to keep clothes in. Bottles of water in room on arrival would be good.
Location: It is approx. 40 mins tube ride into London but it takes about 25 mins walk to the nearest tube station (Woodford).
I wouldn't recommend this hotel as it doesn't match any 4* hotel we've stayed in!! The only plus side is that it has free parking. Rooms are basic. Upon arrival we had no soap, so asked for it but they had run out!! Also only two small milk cartons had been allocated. At breakfast the natural yoghurt on offer looked like it had been watered down! Fruit consisted of pineapple, water melon, tinned pears!! However, no problem with staff, they were very willing and tried to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Amazing hotel . with a really nice and comfortable room .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Unimpressed

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Before our late arrival reception called ahead to see if we were a no-show in order to re-sell the room; despite it being fully paid. Staff were polite & chatty but this just rubbed the wrong way from the outset. Free parking & wifi provided, but breakfast got a full 1/3 more expensive (increasing to £12) if you ordered it in the restaurant rather than at reception, so we didn't bother. Beds were clean & comfortable, but room, (esp. carpets, taps & shower-head) were stained, dirty & at points heavily caked in grime/limescale. Side table was sticky from the previous occupant's drinks. Distinctly foul odour in corridor at one point on way to room. Overall the dormitory wing felt tired, dirty, somewhat-unloved & in need of a refurb. Didn't see restaurant or public spaces. Room was dark with few lights & in need of refurb eg: scorch mark on surfaces from iron & vacant minibar cupboard with no fridge(?). Noisy & inconsiderate other guests slamming doors, shouting in corridors & partying in rooms disturbed us until 2am & provoked calls to reception, which were addressed. Didn't get a good nights sleep despite beds being clean & comfortable. Overall experience didn't match expectations (of a 4 star hotel) or advertised photos. Felt underwhelming & overpriced - couldn't wait to leave in morning. Worst hotel I have stayed in for a while. Staff were good, but let down by poor room-quality & other clientele. Would not recommend or stay again - not that there would be a reason to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and disappointing.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Iron that shorted the electric in the room and that was extremely dangerous given water coming ouy of the plug cable... Garden area dirty and rubbish covered. Shower that barely worked and room in need of repaint. Staff largely unhelpful or cluless. For the price it needs to be much better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The poor reviews misrepresent!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I don't often get around to leaving reviews, but in this case I feel it's important to counter-act the bad ones I have read. The hotel is an old building and a tad tired and dated in places, but I personally see that as part of its character and charm. My room was clean and decorated to a high, modern standard. It was very hot - (who knew it was going to be a heatwave this week), but a fan was provided by one of the many, many friendly and professional staff I met. The only real downside was that I wasn't able to sample their food, arriving too late each evening I stayed and failing to realise that breakfast was included! I absolutely look forward to returning. Whatever rate I book, I hope they'll let me have breakfast for the two I missed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Disco night in the hotel grounds

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Arrived at the hotel early to relax and get something to eat before going to their disco and stay over for the night. The food was great, BUT the quantity was very bad. I ask for new patato's instead of chips and on my plate I only recieved 4 for £3.50. Normally you will be served about 7 or 8. This was a total rip off, never eat there again. Went to their bar and they don't serve red wine in a glass, but only by the bottle, but you can get white wine by the glass. Won't go there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west london

nice hotel Chigwell

Posted Jun 4, 2016
We had event in near by Romford , this hotel was fine for overnight stay. Shame about the bugs we saw in tub.